We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, clean & close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2 bedroom apartment. Resort provides complimentary buses to & from the airport. Apartment was good for 5 adults, room was clean, bed comfortable (sofa bed for 5th person) bathroom was ok but a bit hard to navigate for 5 adults (a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment would have been better). Apartment included basic kitchen facilities - cups, plates, microwave but no oven. Extra blankets provided, it gets cold, the heating was excellent. Although clean (and serviced daily) apartment was outdated, needed a paint and to be modernised, it was bit dark. 5 minute walk to the resort square where you will find supermarket, restaurants, bank, tour desk. 3-4 nights is more than enough to see Uluru / kings canyon, the olgas. The resort is huge & there are multiple hotels on one site, a shuttle bus can take you around the entire resort, each with restaurants and minimal facilities - however there are 4 pools dotted around the resort. Worth exploring around the resort on foot, lots of picture perfect spots of the rock. Buffet breakfast was good, eggs made to order - but busy so go early. If you have an early morning tour & you have breakky included in your deal, you'll miss breakky, order a breakfast box from reception, it's good. Staff were friendly. Things are not cheap here, for what you pay, hotel could use a little bit of an overhaul & a little too internationally focussed, for the average Aussie it is expensive but well worth seeing our own backyard.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank maxiebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in a huge two bedroom apartment. The rooms where very clean and tidy, bathroom was huge, very well furnished and you couldn't get any closer to the centre of town. There where 6 of us staying and there was heaps of room for all of us. The kitchen had quite adequate facilities, a stove top, plenty of utensils and cooking equipment and while it didn't have an oven there was a microwave and we didn't really miss it. The entire resort has such a great set up and the free activities where amazing, the kids especially loved the spear throwing and boomerang demonstrations, also the didgeridoo playing in the town square. The indigenous guides where great explaining what everything was and how it was used, and where very patient with the kids and adults alike. Ayers Rock is such a beautiful breathtaking destination and although the accommodation is a bit on the pricey side, having a big comfortable apartment to come home to after taking in the sights, especially with small children is so worth it and you can save extra money by making your own meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I went with a group, but paid separately for my room on the third floor. We had our own transport from Alice Springs which was invaluable as we stayed 5 days.The rooms are in need of an upgrade. Some of the saucepans spin in your hand when you try to use them. The staff are fantastic. The porters & cleaners are happy in their work. This is very uplifting for guests who come from places like Canberra. In the rooms a big disappointment is the stove..very old & no oven. Otherwise the bed was fantastic & all very clean especially the bathroom:) One of the porters happily carried my large suitcase upstairs ( 2 flights ) as I couldn't do it myself. I thought there were lifts! This is not good for them to be doing. Most places would not allow this due to back injuries. You have to buy park entry tickets to Uluru etc. the park people always want to view ID + the ticket. This may not be the case in organised groups. Staying at Emu Walks is great if you want to cook.

Room Tip: Don't bring heavy luggage as there are no lifts & you or the porters will have to take it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of a number of different types of accommodation available at Yulara (Voyages). We decided on it for price and because we wanted a bit more space with a kitchen and lounge, even if we didn't cook ourselves.

Note that you check in at the Desert Gardens hotel reception - there's no signs for Emu Walk. Also note that if you arrive by air, you'll be waiting up to 30 mins to check in as everybody arrives at the same time. That can be a bit tiresome. To get to your room, go up the steps (or ramp) to the right of the reception and go along the path behind the visitor centre. As has been said in other reviews, it can be hard to find your room - we went completely the wrong way because of some bad directions (not from reception) - there's more signage needed near the top of the ramp.

Our 1 bedroom room was spacious and very clean. The room was maybe a little tired - the old cupboard doors, and curtains could certainly do with replacing. However, there was large screen TV, and the bed was great, very comfortable.

The apartments are 5 mins walk from the town square and you can easily access the restaurants and bar behind the Desert Gardens hotel. You are also only 15 mins from some of the lookouts which are great to walk to for sunrise or sunset photos.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had read all the reviews on accomodation available at Yulara before I booked at Emu walk apartments . In the end my decision to stay at Emu walk was based on price and location,
As the other reviews have said the place is getting old and in need of a spruce up,but we only had 3 days and I didn't intend to stay in the room during the day .The room was serviced daily if you don't want this just hang the do not disturb sign on your door.
We ate at the local restaurants in Ayers Rock Resort and bought take away one night from Ayers Wok they make the best spring rolls .
.Ayers Rock Resort is the main center with an IGA supermarket, shops,cafe,restaurants,ANZ atm,hair salon and tour bookings ect it was a 2 min stroll from our room
there is a free shuttle that goes between hotels we went to the Outback pioneer for a drink and light lunch,
Buffet breakfast was included in our package well worth it ,Plenty of choices.
We had a great time the weather was perfect in May, the staff are all friendly,
If I was to return to Yulara I would stay at Emu Walk again. ,

If you are arriving by plane( as we did ) I suggest hiring a car from Ayers Rock airport.
Its a minimum 2 day hire from $85 per day.**** I Wish someone had given me this advise ****
We had booked the sunset tour before leaving home and It was good but we wanted to see more of the area and travel around at our own pace. We planed to walk around the rock the only way to get to the rock or the cultural centre if you don't have a car is by ularu express at a cost of $60 return each cost $120 for the 2 of us to travel to the rock and back , because we had to be back at the pick up point at our booked time we were always checking our watches, I wanted to see more of the area a but without a car Its very expensive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demi292292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed two nights in a two bedroom apartment. Our apartment was 200 metres from the car park, which we did not realise until we had moved all our luggage, so I suggest you check with reception about a luggage cart if you have a few pieces. The resort is compact so we were not far from the TownCentre area with shops and cafes (one open in the day and the other at night). The supermarket is well stocked but understandably expensive. The kitchen was reasonably equipped but no oven, or BBQ area. Very good for a night or two but not set up for longer if self catering. Strangely, the apartment was partly serviced on the second day with bathroom supplies replenished but our tea-towels disappeared so we had to leave wet dishes on the rack after breakfast. The rooms are looking a little bit tired and I often stepped on little bits of something beside the bed. All accommodation is expensive here and this was the only real option for two couples to share. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

All the hotels in Yulara (Ayers Rock Resort) are owned by the same parent company, Accor, a massive French hotelier. I'm not a fan of Accor, but I'd stay at Emu Walk again, only because it is priced lower than most of the other hotels in the resort. Check-in at the Emu Walk Apartments is not smooth because the signs pointing to reception are not correct - they send you the wrong way! You check in at the Desert Gardens Hotel's reception for the Emu Walk Apartments. I stayed here twice in May 2014, both times with my Personal Assistant. He took the fold out sofa/bed in the living room/TV area while I had the bedroom with the double bed. One time the sofa bed was faulty (uncomfortable stray springs under the seat) according to my PA. I was not informed of the $100 security deposit billed to my credit card and it took days for refunds to be credited back to my card. There's free WiFi in reception and you get one hour per day, per device - enough time to check emails, etc. WiFi in the rooms is not free - I was quoted $7 per hour or $15 per day (as at May 2014). Rooms were tidy, but a little tired. These are more like serviced apartments than hotel rooms. You have a decently sized kitchen that includes a microwave, a stove, plates, cups, utensils, a hot water jug and free tea/coffee. You also get free parking. There's a well-stocked supermarket in the town square, which also has services like a bank, post office, souvenirs, photo supplies/services and a few eateries, including the cutely-named 'Ayers Wok'. In terms of nightlife, apart from a few bars in the various Yulara hotels, If you want to drink and party in Yulara (the Ayers Rock Resort), the main venue seems to be the open-air bar and bottle shop in the Outback Pioneer Hotel, which has live music, dancing and hot food, too. If you want to buy a six-pack of beer, there's a limit of one per person and you need to show your room key to prove your a guest staying in the resort. Expect to pay 'tourist prices' - $7 or $8 for a local (non imported) beer. Outback Pioneer is the ONLY bottle shop in the resort, so if you want take-away alcohol in your room you need to get to the the other side of the resort because Emu Walk and Outback Pioneer are on opposite sides of the site. (There's a free regular shuttle bus or you can walk across the 'sand dune' path that sits in the centre of the resort.) Mobile phone reception is okay around the Yulara resort, but not so good in the National Park, although a work colleague in Sydney phoned me successfully when I was doing the 10.6km base walk around Ayers Rock/Uluru. If you intend heading into very remote areas of the Northern Territory you'll need a satellite phone, not a usual cell phone. A few final travel tips: there are LOTS of flies in this area of the Outback. Buy a fly-net to cover your face and keep pests at bay. Insect-repellent doesn't work well on flies - maybe it's better at keeping mosquitoes away. Also be careful what time of you year you come here. At December (the height of the Australian summer and of summer in the southern hemisphere) it can literally get to 45 degrees Celcius. Most walks and climbs in the National Park are automatically shut when the temperature reaches 36 degrees. Start early in the day on long walks before it gets hot and before the walks get closed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Robert W

Thank you for your review.
I am glad to hear that you found Emu Walk Apartments suited your needs.
Ayers Rock Resort is owned by Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia.
All profits go toward building the resort experience and supporting Indigenous training and employment across Australia.
We do have a franchise agreement with Accor Hotels , meaning all Accor members can take advantage of the many benefits that this membership offers Australia wide.
Emu Walk is a member of the Grand Mercure Apartments Brand and are indeed apartments , not hotel rooms.

I am sorry to hear of the problem you had with the sofa bed and trust that we were able to quickly fix this for you.
Our new Emu Walk signage to be installed next month will help all guests to find our check in area at Desert Gardens, apologies for the time it took for you to find this without the correct signage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again.

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Emu Walk Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: 178 Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range: £166 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing