We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starting to look tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Yulara B&B and Inns
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Starting to look tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Uluru and this resort played its part, but the apartments were not as high standard as others we visited. The 2 bedroom apartment we had was a long walk from reception dragging cases. When we got there we were constrained by only 1 bathroom between 4 and the facilities all needed a bit of a freshen up.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    374
    195
    60
    32
See reviews for
376
295
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights here and we really liked the experience. The apartment is really roomy and very comfortable - yes it is a little bit dated, but really not that bad at all! We are on our honeymoon and we were really pleasantly surprised when a man knocked on our door to bring us a bottle of bubbly and a card - how nice!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SIrene1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Conveniently located (most tours set off from Garden View, 1 minute walk to the town center). Clean, though a bit old (while all the hotels there are of the same age). Friendly staff. Spacious living and dining areas. Very good for family trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for a night with friends. Foyer very good, high standard. The beds were comfortable and the apartment was a good size with a nice TV and well laid out. Parking was good too.

It cost $495 per night, but actually cost $505. List of things wrong. Tired, worn out, chipped paint. Sleeps 6 I believe (there were 4 of us) but toilet is in the bathroom and there are no mirrors anywhere except in the bathroom. I forgot my shower cap, but the shower cap box was empty, insufficient face washers for 4 people (only two in the room), insufficient complimentary toiletries - if you are going to supply them then supply for the number of people staying. Inadequate equipment in the kitchen, not even an egg flip. Frying pan totally worn out. Over the one mirror that we all wanted to share to get ready for dinner, after waiting for all showers to be done and toilet used, light bulb was blown!!!

I think given that Uluru is a unique world destination this is so disappointing. The fact that one company has a monopoly of the accommodation and dining shows in the lacklustre way this is presented. I feel embarrassed that international visitors may only see this and judge Australia on this experience when it should be done so so much better. A little bit of competition would do wonders for this area.

Checking out I was virtually reprimanded by the staff member. I have stayed in apartments around the world, and mostly get told to leave the keys in the apartment when you leave as people often leave at odd times of the day or night. So we did this, but given that there was a reception I went and told her we were leaving and that the keys were in the room. The receptionist picked up a set of keys jangled them in the air and said "no we need the keys", I said I wasn't told on checkin to return the keys to the desk, so there was a tense silence for a few seconds, what could I do? The room was now locked with the keys inside. Then said, "Oh don't worry, I will send someone to get them" and then added "even though we are quite busy". So I left with a feeling of discomfort. She should have said, "That's no problem, thank you for letting me know" and then complained about inconsiderate visitors later and out of hearing of those visitors like most people do.

In summary, it was fine, but for the quality should not cost as much, it was way too expensive for what we got, needs some competition. Bad for Australia.

On the plus side we had a beautiful meal in the restaurant with fantastic service. That was a lovely experience.

I would advise you to stay elsewhere, but actually you can't because there is nowhere else if you want to stay in this area as they are all owned by the same company I believe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Susan B

Thank you for your feedback.

Great to hear you enjoyed your unit and dining experience at Arnguli Grill.
Apologies for missing some linen and kitchen items , I am sure we would have been able to promptly assist you to ensure you had everything you needed.

I am sure you will understand that the reason we run a successful resort here in central Australia is because we are owned and operated by one company , Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia.
This creates a unique opportunity for us to not only build a resort experience but also to support Indigenous training and employment across Australia.

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Emu Walk Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

These apartments, though not the most modern, have everything you would want for a comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable holiday in the Red Centre. Your one bedroom apartment has a well equipped kitchen with stove, fridge and microwave. There is plenty of cupboard space, crockery etc. It has a lounge and dining room and a large bedroom with ensuite. The Resort has restaurants and a bar. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere make this a great place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Bed linen, blankets were FILTHY. We exchanged them immediately for clean blankets. The room is serviced and cleaned before new guests arrive, but the staff did not bother to remove the dirty blankets.

The restaurant was a 20 minute walk from our apartment. Our accommodation was confirmed 6 months earlier, but we were still allocated a room as far away as possible.

This resort is in need of a lot of renovation. Rooms are tired and tacky.

Room Tip: You get what the hotel gives you. There is no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Jimmy P

Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that your blanket was not up to standard and glad that we were able to quickly replace this for you.

We have many dining options here at Ayers Rock Resort and all are conveniently located near our free shuttle bus drop off points.
We are always happy to grant all room requests which we are advised of.

Our Emu Walk Apartment refurbishment program will begin in October when we are looking forward to updating all rooms.

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Emu Walk Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great apartments for family stay. Spacious and had everything we need. We were located at the end near the town centre and shops - very convenient. Totally enjoyed our stay here, would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleS_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.1 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing