We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great hotel and wonderful smiling and happy staff! My friends and family had a ball in this hotel Bar and Food great! Pool Great! Service great!Rooms Great!
I went for the cheapest option staying in this hotel as I payed for 8 of us to visit but was amazed at how UN cheap this hotel felt. We stayed in rooms and they were very clean and very quiet we even had a view of the wilderness. I loved that when we were getting there I drove past all the other hotels and they all look squashed into each other but this one felt like we were all alone.
A hint on the breakfast ... go to the front desk and get a breakfast ticket for $25 you can save $7.00pp this way and believe me it is definitely worth getting the breakfast.
Sunset in this beautiful place is a must and wish we had a longer stay 2 nights was ok but could do it all again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Simmy221

Thanks for the great review of the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. It is fantastic to know you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel and what it has to offer.
My Team will also find your review encouraging. It is always good to get positive feedback on how our guests perceive our service and that our team have made a difference.

Regards
Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,292)
There are newer reviews for Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Customer service was great, how everything looked was also very nice. There's a pool, a bar and a restaurant in the hostel/hotel. The restaurant is quite expensive for what you receive. The location was as good as it gets and it is the cheapest option while you are visiting Uluru, normally you will spend a 1-2 nights in Uluru so it is definitely worth the price! One thing I didnt like was the amount of plugs in the wall and where they were located, it made it hard to charge ur electronic devices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalloBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello GalloBro

Our usual guest stay is normally 2 nights. It takes at least this much time to appreciate and see both Uluru and Kuta Tjuta. It sounds like you had enough time to see and enjoy the area.
Thank you for your suggestion regarding the power outlets. I will look at this with of technical services team and try to work out a solution for this.

Regards
Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Everything at Yulara is expensive so we booked a room with shared bathroom facilities to cut costs and to our delight were given an upgrade with private bathroom. The superior room was beautifully furnished and spacious. Service staff were always helpful. Breakfast expensive ($32) so we made our own arrangements by shopping at the local IGA. The dinner options of a cook-it- yourself BBQ or the pizza kitchen were great value. A free bus regularly runs the circuit so we were able to attend The Camel Cup which was on that weekend. Only drawback was a credit card surcharge on the account.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the night time music around the BBQ area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose-marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Rose-marie S

Thanks for your review on the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. My Team on reception when possible will try to upgrade our guests. This usually depends on occupancy and availability.
I’ll glad to find out the upgrade arranged for you helped enhance the experience of your stay.
We do here at Ayers Rock Resort like all our guest to leave with the best possible experience of the Resort and surrounding area.

Regards
Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in the 20 bed dorm in the lodge, clean and comfortable although limited space. Guest kitchen and communal bathrooms were always clean. Staff all very friendly and efficient. Was planning on self catering to keep costs down (which I did for breakfast) but the Pioneer outback kitchen did tasty light meals for a reasonable (for a resort) price. Being able to walk to the lookout close to my room for sunrise and sunset viewing was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherelee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello Sherelee S

The lookout at the Outback is, I believe the best here at the Resort group. We have a great view of both Uluru and Kuta Tjuta from here. It is great to learn that the Dorm room suited your needs and your budget. Thanks you for sharing your experience.
Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed just one night while on a coach tour of Uluru,s sights and received an upgrade from the lodge to a one bedroom unit which was clean and roomy. Bathroom was clean and bed comfy which is what you want after a long day of touring. Check in staff were efficient.

Room Tip: All rooms are on ground level and higher numbered rooms further away from bar and restaurants
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hell David S

A day site seeing here can be quite long for our guest. There is literally so much to see and so little time. I glad you had a comfortable night and the team looked after you.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked 3 rooms for a 3 night stay, and had a very comfortable stay. Rooms were very clean, bed comfortable, staff friendly. It's away from town square, but an easy walk, or the free bus runs very regularly. Buffet breakfast OK, nothing to rave about, but if included OK, wouldn't pay $34 a head for it though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPMoama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello Michelle P

Thanks for your review. Your experience that you have here is very important to us and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay.
You have mentioned our breakfast, which does have a large variety of product and is comparable to city hotels in pricing. This can be a considered expensive for some traveller, but we do offer a discounted rate at reception if pre purchased the day prior.

Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was close to Uluru. The rooms were lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. This place was a breath of fresh air. It was so quiet. Would return.

Room Tip: Facing away from the pool and bar
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footy22255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauri_vandenbosch, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello footy22255100

Thanks for also reviewing the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge. It's definitely pleasing to know that staff have been so helpful during your stay.
Regards

Mauri Van Den Bosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: £116 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing