We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Hotels.com
US$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Agoda.com
US$351
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$413
TravelocityUS$413
Orbitz.comUS$413
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,573)
Filter reviews
4,573 results
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room ayers rock dinner buffet superior room ilkari restaurant lobby bar sounds of silence dinner tali wiru red centre public areas room was large main restaurant town centre remote location kata tjuta hired a car sunrise tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 4,573 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We spent two nights at Sails in the Desert during our trip to Uluru. The rooms are good, clean, and quiet. The staff is warm and friendly. Since you are out in the middle of nowhere, they have you captive, and they know it--everything is significantly more expensive than it should be.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Hi Max G
Thank your for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We do appreciate that it is an investment to visit our destination however it may be of interest to know that the operational costs of supply chain transport to a remote resort like ours is significantly higher than that of hotels based near major cities. As an example, twice a week, three fully loaded road trains make the 1,663-kilometre trip along the Stuart and Lasseter Highways from Adelaide to Yulara in order to supply the Resort with all food and materials.
Additionally, Ayers Rock Resort is owned by the Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation and one of our key responsibilities is to promote and sustain eco-tourism, protecting pristine sites for many years to come. Ayers Rock Resort works collaboratively with the local community to assist them to exercise sustainable environmental tourism practices, respecting and supporting the local culture and offering employment and training opportunities to the local and broader Australian and Torres-Strait Islander Indigenous communities. We wish to reassure you that profits from all business activities are directly and indirectly re-invested in the Indigenous and resort experiences and through the various training and development programs in place around Australia.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we thank you for choosing to visit this beautiful part of Australia.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

First the negative-The walk to the room. We stayed in a room almost opposite of the lobby back by the back entrance for resort staff access road. It was a legitimate five minute walk from the lobby to room, and that was once we knew where we were going. A place that is this sprawling, there should be a staff member to show you to your room. The signage was not very good either.
Also think we paid around $450 USD a night for what was really an upper 3 star or lower 4 star hotel, but given the location, it is a bit more understandable.

Now for the positives
Our room was pretty nice-Very large, some of the decor is dated, but everything was very clean and ran well. Beds were comfortable, pillows weren't very good would be the only complaint.
Staff was friendly and we had no issues there. Restaurant staff was excellent while desk staff was pretty good.
Grounds were pretty well kept and nice. We didn't get to use the pool because when we went it just was not warm enough outside.
Location is a bit unorthodox to judge since it is one of only a handful of hotels in the area. But it is where you need to be if you want to see Uluru and Kata Tjuta.
Overall I'm glad we stayed at Sails vs. the other more budget options (not counting the $1k a night place).

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoKnights14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

In short nothing good, they know they are the only game in town, and visitors only come once. The hotel is disorganized with rude people at the reception and trainees running the restaurants. The room had gaps between the ceiling and walls, antiquated furniture and carpets, the terrace in our room was surrounded by dead plants leaving no privacy. The only efficient item was check out. Once paid the locks were changed and we could no longer enter our room to pick up stuff.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank PCOuwerkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Hi PCOuwerkerk
We are sorry to read that your stay at Sails in the Desert did not meet expectation. We wish to reassure you that it is indeed our goal to provide the best possible base from which to explore and it is therefore extremely disappointing that this was not your experience. While we are excited about our upcoming refurbishment program I do sincerely apologise if your room was not maintained at the highest possible level as is our aim.
Room keys room full functional up until our check out time. Given our currently high occupancy we are unfortunately unable to provide a late check out however we do regret any inconvenience this may have caused to you.
We hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

Sails in the desert was wonderful, especially considering it is in the middle of the desert, clean , friendly, great pool , grea5 staff, great restaurant, reasonably priced , I would highly recommend this place , can’t wait to go back

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank Leos0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hi Leos0123
We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Sails in the Desert and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Very well managed hotel, with best buffet breakfast in Australia. Nice clean rooms and facilities. close to town centre and tourist attractions.
Housekeeping was very good. Although I was in the heart of Aboriginal territory I was amazed not to see a single indigenous worker there. Told later that they employ over 900 staff with less than 2% indigenous.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muchtravelled982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews