We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Hotels.com
US$413
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Agoda.com
US$351
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$413
TravelocityUS$413
Trip.comUS$413
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,573)
Filter reviews
4,573 results
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,672
1,717
794
235
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room ayers rock dinner buffet superior room ilkari restaurant lobby bar sounds of silence dinner tali wiru red centre public areas room was large main restaurant town centre remote location kata tjuta hired a car sunrise tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 4,573 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2019

Stayed at Sails with the family and to be frank it didn't live up to much. The rooms were OK, but the resort itself wasn't much. Terrible breakfast buffet (but most buffets are), the whole place looked like it needed a refurbishment. The pool had absolutely no shade or umbrellas or any respite from the sun unless you walked way across the grass under a tree (which is not practical if you have kids to keep an eye on in the pool). The lunch menu was very basic and not that good. All in all, not sure I'd go back .

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Hi Ian J
We are sorry to read that your stay at Sails in the Desert did not fully meet expectations. While we will begin a refurbishment program next month it remains our priority to maintain the hotel at the highest possible in the meantime and we therefore regret that this was not your experience. While in general we are very pleased with the feedback we receive for our breakfast at Ilkari we certainly do appreciate that a buffet does not appeal to all. We are therefore very pleased to offer alternative breakfast options in our Town Square eateries and we hope that they better suited your requirements. We thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort and further hope that you were able to enjoy exploring the National park.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019

There are several hotels in the one resort complex. We stayed 4 nights in lovely spacious rooms in Sails in the Desert which were pricey but very central. There is a bus service to various other parts and the day tour buses come to the door. The restaurant at Sails is very pricey but the buffet dinners were delicious. For variety you can walk to any of the other hotels and snack bars at the little shopping centre for lunch or dinner plus there is a little supermarket to get snacks if you prefer something casual. Most wonderful is you can walk up a small hill in the middle of the resort complex and get a wonderful long distance sunset/sunrise view of Uluru and the Olgas for free. Aside from going to the Rock itself , its worth visiting the Resort's little museum too (free) and there are other activities eg dot painting classes, story telling and a nearby camel farm if you're looking for interesting activities.
We also took a fight over the area which was stunning.

Room tip: We had 3 rooms and all were spacious and well appointed. Recommend you book your evening dinner as the restaurant fills up fast.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jacomina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Hi Jacomina P
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert. It is wonderful to read of the range of activities you participated in and we are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we further thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

This is the best in a remote location near Uluru. Stayed only one night so I did not get to enjoy the spa or pool area. My room was large and clean. Bathroom also very large. Had a patio with chairs. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Enjoyed nice lunch and breakfast buffets. The gift shop had several nice items.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Hi dziran
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay to enjoy more of what our destination has to offer.
Kind regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

Overall we had a lovely stay at Sails. The hotel was comfortable, the room was spacious and we had a large balcony. The bathroom was tired compared to the rest of it. It is incredibly overpriced for what you’re getting, but so are all the options in Yulara.

Breakfast was included, and the buffet selection was great. If you can get it included relatively cheaply, I’d do it. You can pretty much manage to avoid lunch and might save you in the long run. Our waitress each morning, Taeko, was so genuinely friendly. A great start to our day.

We had dinner and a late lunch at Walpa Bar during our stay and it was good, and not too expensive. Though I think it would be better if the menu changed a bit. Our waiter, Warren, was lovely.

Sails is pretty central to Town Square, we ended up walking everywhere and not utilising the free shuttle. But the shuttle is an easy option for getting around Yulara in the heat. The free transfers to and from the airport were easy, it’s only about 10 mins away and buses are waiting for you as the plane arrives. It’s a well oiled machine.

Also, I was thankful that the laundry was free to use, my clothes were filthy from all the red dust and they dried almost instantly in the heat!

I think just setting your expectations that things are roughly 30% more expensive than the big cities, will help you adjust. And you’re definitely there to see the Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park, rather than the resorts.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank love_weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoyagesSydney, Customer Relations at Sails In The Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hi love_weekenders
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.
Our truly remote desert location does indeed mean a greater investment to visit us than hotels in metro areas given the cost of supply chain transport however it is our goal to provide the best value possible and we hope that in addition to the shuttle services you were also able to experience a number of the free cultural guest activities on offer throughout the resort.
It was certainly our pleasure to have you as guests and we further thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Todd Hunter
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

This was a lovely place to stay, although for the price, which was pricey, the bathroom was definitely tired, but the room was fine, clean and spacious. It was close to everything and the staff were really lovely.
The pool area was great for families and the places to eat were defiantly well located. We had the buffet dinner and were blown away with the amount and quality of the food, it was really nice and definitely recommend to anyone for $75 a head.
Overall this is a nice place to stay. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
4  Thank TJM682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews