We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold but beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yulara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayers Rock Campground
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cold but beautiful”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Camping in the desert in June is very cold! We had an unpowered site and fire wood but not allowed to have a fire without a fire bin, none provided, we will certainly have one for the next trip. Amenities were very good, try to book site along back of campground for more privacy, we had a back corner site and it was excellent although "street" lighting in campground was very bright. Easy walk to shops and resort, shuttle bus provided as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnieOTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    279
    189
    71
    46
See reviews for
196
292
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I found this park to be really good. The camp kitchen was great with many fridges and areas to cook. It also had kettles and toasters!I camped on a lawned area with trees all around. I have not once in the 5 nights I have been here heard the generator that others have complained about. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a great and inexpensive place to stay while you are visiting the area. The local IGA has good quality food and it is not that much more expensive than in the bigger cities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erwin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you want to visit the Uluru during the daytime and also see the sunrise or sunset, this is the only option you have if you are not travelling with a camper or similar (then you can camp next to the road but I don't recommend that) or you don't want to drive at night. The campground is the cheapest option of the Ayers Rock Resort and is close to the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. The showers are ok and the market has reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillemLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In the school holidays June/July this year we stay at Ayers Rock camp ground for three nights what a fabulous place. We where traveling with family and friends 3 caravans in all with 6 adults and 2 kids. My only complaint was for the time we where there were bus loads of school kids from different states where on their break as well. We were camped at the back of the camp ground where the kids where and only one shower block most of the time we had warm to cold showers because the kids took over the shower block night and morning. Now I know they need to shower as well but some of them where boasting that they had been in there for about half and hour just to let the hot water run on them because they where cold. Why can't the teachers supervise them in groups and give them a time limit. I'm sure that the other campers would have had the same problem. Maybe a separate shower block could be put in the bus area just for the school groups. My daughter even went into the men's shower to shut a group of boys up because of the noise and all the water they where using. My son-in-law also complained to one of the teachers but that didn't seen to do any good. I'm am just glad that one of our group had a shower in there van to use some nights. Other than that we had a great time while there visiting the rock and the Olga's I would certainly recommend the camp ground it was fabulous and the shopping centre was great. Just don't go in school holidays.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed in a 2bedroom cabin. Was clean & had good facilities such as nice size TV cooking utensils microwave aircon. shared shower and toilet facilities were clean and hot water was good. Not enough competition here that's why prices so high

Room Tip: Bring an electric blanket in winter as I was very cold at 0 degrees last night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Smashing location in the heart of Australia. Certainly one of the better low end budget options we stayed at during our time traveling through the outback from Adelaide to Darwin. Due to the isolated location I would advise on bringing your own supplies before you head out on an outback road trip.

Room Tip: Have a look around!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had an unpowered site for 4 nights (stayed only 3 as camped in a bush on a way to Kings Canyon).
All the comms (emails & phonecalls) with the reception prior to our arrival were very amicable and professional. Very helpful in giving basic information regarding Uluru, food shopping, times, prices, tour info etc. etc.
This is the only campground near Uluru/ KT.

The amenities include several large basic bathrooms/ toilets, playground, swimming pool, souvenir/drinks shop with some pamphlets and info, plenty of gas BBQ, laundry room, shuttle bus to the town centre and an outside kitchen.
The kitchen was large, clean, had several fridges, a microwave, a kettle and no cutlery.
As we stayed on an un-powered site it was fairly quiet, way away from the busy caravans and trailers. The only annoying noise was coming from a large generator (or something like that) just outside the campground. But we learned to tune it out after a while.
As we had our own transport, we never used the shuttle bus but saw it several times. It is about 5 min drive from the town market area. Good 20 min drive to Uluru.
You can walk from the camp to 2 lookouts for the sunrise/ sunset.
All in all - it's acceptable as all what you really do there is wash up, sleep and then leave at 6am anyway till late eve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mali_svetobeznici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.5 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.6 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
0.1 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.4 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayers Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayers Rock Campground

Property: Ayers Rock Campground
Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayers Rock Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayers Rock Campground is located within Ayers Rock Resort on the edge of the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, a short 20min drive to Uluru. The campground features powered and non-powered sites for tents, caravans, campervans, motor homes and camper trailers and 2-bedroom air-conditioned cabins. There are kitchen facilities, BBQs, laundry, wireless internet, playground, swimming pool, volleyball court, giant chess and a store with basic supplies available at the Campground. At Ayers Rock Resort Town Square there's a supermarket, post office, bank, selection of stores, Tour and Information Centre and a variety restaurants and bars. The Resort also has a Petrol Station, Auto repairs and a free shuttle bus circulates the Resort. As a guest at the campground you can take part in the Free Indigenous Activities including cultural dance performance, guided garden walk, spear & boomerang throwing and Indigenous story telling experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayers Rock Campground Hotel Yulara
Ayers Rock Campground Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing