We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”
Review of Longitude 131

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longitude 131
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our 3 day get away was exceptional. The staff were brilliant and their attention to detail was amazing. The content of the tours and the guides also fabulous. The "tents" had everything you could want and the bed - well now I want one. To sit up in bed with a cup of tea and watch the sun rise over Uluru was a incredible. Lots of adjectives but it's hard to stop. Holiday and experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    69
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
471
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The resort is beautifully located with minimum impact on the surrounding landscape.
Over our three night stay, warm, courteous staff took care of all food and wine options. Small portions of delicate and healthy meals. Lovely wines.
Beds are to die for...so warm and cozy with a hot water bottle easing the pain of a chilly walk from dining room to bedroom. We had number 15, right at the end, very private and away from the resort's comings and goings. Great shower, spacious room.
All staff were exceptional, however, special mention must be made of Sonya. Her enthusiasm, sense of humour and deep respect for the land and our indigenous people, not to mention her knowledge and honest understanding of a people much maligned, certainly enhanced our stay.
I was deeply touched by the beauty and silence of Kata Tjuta and whilst Uluru is magnificent, I was annoyed by people disregarding the Anangu's request to not climb the rock and not photograph sacred sites.
Sunset viewing with wine and canapes was lovely.
Sounds of silence dinner in the desert was absolutly freezing inspite of heaters. A curious dingo pup helped ease the freeze. A beautiful night sky was explained by one of the guides and 3 indigenous dancers performed for a short while.
We walked around the rock in the early morning, walked the Valley of the Winds and took a 1/2 hour helicopter ride from Uluru to Kata Tjuta. All fantastic. The resort prepared a lovely picnic lunch for our hikes and our departure.
The Cultural centre and town centre were disappointing.
I braved the cold on our last morning and got some magnificent sunrise photos of the rock and sand dunes.
This is an expensive destination...but worth every cent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodtimes1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had 3 nights at Longitude 131, felt like it was longer. Such a good break with everything taken care of, and excellent cuisine. The guided activities were well organised and informative and staff attentive to individual requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is by far the best place to stay on a trip to Uluru. Longitude 131 is 10 minutes from the township of Yulara, where the other hotels are located. This is the only hotel that has views of Ayers Rock (Uluru) and the incredible red sand dunes. One side of the "tent" is all windows with automatic blinds that are operated from the bedside. It is fantastic to wake up to an amazing view of the rock. Views are great also from the dining room. The food was excellent, and being a vegetarian, I was given my own menu choices each meal. The meals were definitely a highlight. We stayed for three nights, so had plenty of time to see all we wanted to, as well as have time to relax and enjoy our surroundings. Our excursions varied in size - sometimes with only two or four others, and also a larger group on the sunset tour. Always the guides were very informative and a lot of fun. Champagne and canapes at sunset in a gorge at the base of the rock was a great experience. Yes, it is expensive, but everything is included, and of the highest quality. The staff were particularly friendly and very helpful. It's a once in a lifetime trip and well worth spending extra to stay in a luxury tent in the sand dunes with that incredible view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Longitude 131 seemed like the only civilized way to experience Uluru; the reviews of the other lodging options in the area were pretty dismal. So I bit the bullet and paid an outrageous amount of money. I loved the tent; while it got a little warm in the heat of the day, that's to be expected, and it was beautifully furnished. And, of course, there's the spectacular view of Uluru that you can't get anywhere else -- so wonderful to wake up to that view. The food was also excellent, and we really appreciated the staff's attention to our dietary preferences; they discussed alternatives with us before each dinner and worked with us to make sure we liked the food.
Now the downsides: we stayed before the change in ownership, so maybe this has changed, but the schedule was kind of rushed. We had no time to relax between arriving at the lodge and going on our first tour. Our first tour was fine, as there were only four other people on the tour, and we felt like this was the kind of exclusivity we paid so much money for. However, the next day, a group of very loud, obnoxious Americans arrived and behaved like they were on spring break at a cheap motel in Ft. Lauderdale, cannonballing in the pool, screaming and yelling to each other, and generally having no regard for other guests. I was shocked that the staff did nothing to quiet them down until we complained. And I was more shocked to find that these obnoxious people were now our companions on all tours and at all meals (where they drank to excess). It turns out that every guest staying at the place is on every tour unless they opt out. So our nice, exclusive, 6-person tour where we got to talk personally with the guides turned into a standard 20-person tour where we had to struggle to hear what the guide was saying. And when I realized that some of guides were simply reading what was on signs around the rock, I felt really cheated -- this was the kind of mass-market tour experience I avoid at all costs, and now I was paying an outlandish amount of money for it.
There were other disappointments; our outdoor dinner was cancelled with no warning and a vague explanation of possible rain, yet the Sounds of Silence dinner went as scheduled. If we had known the dinner would be cancelled, we'd have gone with Sounds of Silence. So we missed that experience. We really looked forward to the stargazing, but the "expert" conducting it didn't seem to know a whole lot, so we mostly spent the time on our own. The guides in general are very hit and miss -- some are very good and knowledgeable about not just the cultural aspects but also the natural ones. Others seem to be reciting out of a guide book.
Overall, I did not think it was worth the money I paid, except perhaps as an alternative to the resort village.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mnkytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaillieLodgesAust, Public Relations Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Indeed there is no more glamorous address from which to immerse in the Uluru-Kata Tjuta wilderness than Longitude 131.

Whilst your stay occurred prior to the management transition from Voyages to Baillie Lodges late last year, it was lovely to read that you enjoyed the unparalleled location, the comfort and décor of your accommodation and the Indigenous-inspired cuisine. All elements we continue to pride ourselves on.

Since commencing our stewardship, Baillie Lodges has refined the signature activity programme in terms of the content, quality and timing of experiences. We have also invested significantly in a fleet of new custom-fitted vehicles, to ensure that passenger numbers on tours remain intimate and safari-style, with no more than 10 guests per trip.

We hope to have opportunity to welcome you back soon for a refreshed new experience of Longitude 131.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
279 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I expected 5 star service and unfortunately we were less than impressed. The lodge is ideally located and the view from our room was quite nice. However, housekeeping didn't bring daily fresh towels or toiletries. The dining room was definitely the lodge's strength. Innovative dishes matched with wonderful wines were delightful. When we booked our stay, our 3 night package included a complimentary helicopter ride to or from the airport. At check-in, the staff was not aware of the promotion and would need to check with the "office". After consulting with the "office", we were informed that our package did not include the promised helicopter ride. Fortunately, another guest had written a Tripadvisor review mentioning the 3 night package with a complimentary helicopter transport to or from airport and with much fuss from me...we finally prevailed. Not exactly how I wanted to spend my holiday. My husband and I were also disappointed with the guided tours. The tours are very structured with very limited activity. So you find yourself "hiking" with guests wearing rhinestone flip-flops and carrying handbags. When we and another couple expressed interest in more challenging hikes which would just require the Lodge dropping us off at the trailhead and picking us up...we were informed there would be a significant additional charge per person. The guides don't take into account the shorter days and the predetermined photo stops often took place when the sun had faded. A number of guests were frustrated and didn't even get out of the van to take photographs. The lodge should be able to accommodate both the active guests as well as the resort guests. Simply offering different levels of tours for guests to choose would meet the needs of all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaillieLodgesAust, Guest Relations Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed the prospect from your pavilion and also the dining element, both of which are unparalleled experiences afforded to Longitude guests. The lodge activity program guarantees inclusion of the must-see natural sights in a minimum 2 night stay and the interpretive, educational based walks cater to the activity levels of most guests. A range of additional options including higher grade hikes are available and as these operate with private guides and require additional resources, an extra fee does apply. The timing of all experiences is influenced by the seasons and we take great care to ensure the ‘postcard’ shots are attainable, especially at sunset and we were not aware of any opinion to the contrary from other guests on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Seeing Uluru (aka Ayers Rock) is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and if you can afford it, this is the place to stay. Normally, I list "pros" and "cons" in a review, but honestly, this place has no "cons."

You'll be staying in one of 15 spacious "tents" with solid walls, tented roof, and one side fully covered in glass windows with a direct view on Uluru. You can watch from your bed as the rock changes colors with the sun and clouds.

Meals were superb, with food that could be served at a top city restaurant - far, far beyond what I would expect to get in the middle of nowhere. For example, the kitchen bakes amazing bread twice daily, and many accompaniments are house-made (dukka, chili chutney, muesli). Even when we ate under the stars one night, and the food was barely visible in the candlelight, everything was artfully and meticulously plated.

Service was exceptional, yet friendly. Bailie Lodges has taken over management (as of fall, 2013), and it's clear that they are focused on top-notch staff.

The included tours were excellent, with knowledgeable guides, who took us to spots that weren't typically packed with other tour groups. That made for a much more memorable experience. The Champagne and canapes that often awaited at the end of a hike didn't hurt, either!

We spent two days, but I'd highly recommend spending three days, if you can manage it. That way, you'll be able to do all the tours and have some time to relax, too.

Uluru is an expensive destination in general. If you're considering going, add up what you'd spend doing it a la carte, staying at the more distant Yulara village. Meals and tours are pricy, as is renting a car. There's no doubt in my mind that it's worth spending a bit extra to stay at this extraordinary resort. Longitude 131 is one of those places you'll remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Every tent is perfectly sited for views of Uluru. If you want more privacy, ask for one of the tents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelWriterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
1.7 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.5 mi away
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
1.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
1.5 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Property: Longitude 131
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longitude 131° offers immersion in the Australian outback, a true sense of stillness and beauty in this desert landscape, rich in cultural heritage and history. Explore the World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta and discover some of the ancient creation stories of the Anangu, the land's traditional custodians. Spend time exploring the diverse flora and fauna of the desert and come face to face with this irresistible land with the lodge's personally guided adventures. In the spirit of the original pioneers, stay in canopied pavilions that seem to float over the rust-red dunes. Luxuriously contemporised, today's explorers are cosseted from the elements in surrounds that favour refined comfort over ostentation. Classic furnishings meld with indigenous textures to evoke a sanctuary of earthy elegance. A private glass wall yields unparalleled views of Uluru (Ayers Rock). Exceptional cuisine celebrates a fusion of modern and local flavours. Enjoy an outback sundowner at the convivial open bar in the Dune House and dine under a glittering canopy of stars at Table 131°. Quieten to the night sounds of the desert and be mesmerised by the movement and songs of an ancient culture by firelight. Timeless and enriching, Longitude 131° promises a transcendent connection with this spirited land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort
Longitude 131 Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing