We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$600
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Outback Pioneer Lodge(Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,170)
Filter reviews
3,170 results
Traveller rating
664
1,327
797
273
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
1,327
797
273
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayers rockbunya bardeluxe roomtown squaredesert gardenarnguli grillsounds of silence dinnerlarge bathroompost officestayed nightsshuttle busgrocery storeremote locationaat kingsnational parkbuffet breakfastred centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,847 - 1,852 of 3,170 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Large room with outdoor patio and comfortable beds. Unfortunately there is no competition in Uluru and they know it. Very slow service at check-in; they must know when the airport shuttle is arriving and could get some extra staff on the reception desk instead of making 20 people stand in-line. Most tours leave early morning and/or get back in the evening but there is only formal dining available or a walk to the town centre (where the options are poor). Should offer a coffee & muffin to go in the morning and light evening meals in a bistro or bar in the evening. Quality of the food in the resort overall was poor. Has free guest laundry which is a nice touch but overall found it expensive for what you got. Would look at staying in the Outback Pioneer if we ever went to Uluru again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear al500,

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to read of your delays on arrival. The majority of our flights do arrive at the same time and this can cause congestion on arrival at the airport and hotel. We do roster extra staff. Rest assured our team endeavour to register and assist guests to their rooms in the most efficient way possible.
There is a vast array of dining option available at Ayers Rock Resort. In addition to town square there are three dining options in Sails in the Desert and another 3 options for the budget conscious traveller at Outback Pioneer Hotel. These are all with in similar walking distances from Desert Gardens Hotel. We also have a complimentary resort shuttle stopping at each hotel. Thank you for your suggestion regarding breakfast to go. We will review however many tour operators prefer guests not to eat on board their coaches.
Thank you again for your feedback

Kindest Regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My mum and I visited Yulara Resort after a gap of 25 years since our last visit. We spent four nights at the Desert Gardens Hotel and our stay was magnificent. We had a busy schedule during the days: we left early each morning for hikes at Kings Canyon, Kata Tjuta and Uluru, so returning to the hotel in the late afternoons and evenings was a delight. The Desert Gardens Hotel provides a real sanctuary after lots of hiking and sightseeing.

The added bonus for us was that the view of Uluru (that ka-pow view!) was never far away. In fact it was fully visible from our hotel balcony (or from the comfy bed inside if an afternoon siesta was called for).

The grounds of the hotel are also worth spending time strolling around, providing great curated examples of native plants like the Sturt Desert Pea, the native fig and beautiful flowering grevilleas.

There are lots of great eating options at the Desert Gardens Hotel and around the resort. For the coffee addicts amongst us (me included) take note that the coffee is good at the hotel's in-house cafe/bar, which also has an outdoors seating area set in lush native garden surrounds.

The highlights of our stay at Desert Gardens were: the ease and comfort of the hotel; the gasp-worthy and ever-present views of Uluru from our balcony and the kind and accessible staff. I'd recommend the hotel to any travellers making the enviable trip to Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park.

Room Tip: You can request balcony rooms with a view to Uluru - exceptional!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very basic room but clean and comfortable. Good view of Ayers Rock from the room. Staff were pleasant and the restaurant was reasonable value for money. As you would expect in an out of the way place, everything was adequate but not something that you would tell others that they must put it on their 'to do' list.

Room Tip: A Rock view room makes it that little bit special.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked our accomodation in a rock view room and woke upTo a view of the the rock each morning .it seems these are the only rooms that view the rock from the voyagers complex .. The room was spacious and better than we expected . I had read other reviews regarding accomodation at Uluru so we were pleasantly surprised . The staff were so welcoming and friendly and made our stay a very pleasant one
The only downside is the pricing of the tours to see uluru and the Olga's .Most of the tours are AT&T with one one small independent operator still organizing tours which we went with and we found much more acceptable price wise
We utterly recommend the sound of silence dinner which was exceptional
I would recommend a visit to the Uluru as a essential .It will stay in our memory banks forever

Room Tip: Rock view rooms desert gardens hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent 5 days here with my husband who is disabled. Every staff member did as much as they could to be helpful and friendly. Really made the holiday to be surrounded by such positive people. Rooms were spacious lovely balcony overlooking the rock.

Room Tip: "Rock View" is a must
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza1956706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews