We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and used this as the base to travel to Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon for sight seeing.

The hotel provides complementary airport transfer to meet every flight and it is an easy 10-15 minutes ride. Staff are the hotel are all very friendly and helpful - they will do anything reasonable to deliver a great customer experience.

I have had breakfast once at the hotel which is included in my room rate - not a lot of choices for a buffet style and quality is reasonable. Coffee is not included which I find it strange.

The room has two double size beds, spacious bedroom and an old analogue TV with limited cable TV channels. Bathroom is spacious with a walkin shower but no bath. There is no safe inside the room so be mindful of that.

This hotel is located close to the town center which is only 5 mins walk away but the town center is merely just a few shops - IGA, café and restaurants, post office, hair dresser, souvenir shop, ANZ bank and a local travel shop.

Overall this is a nice hotel with exceptional staff delivering amazing service. Location is great as it is central to many touristy place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    1,143
    717
    252
    92
See reviews for
531
1,534
167
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

There are numerous lodging options to chose from at Ayers Rock Resort and our choice was Desert Gardens which was rated at 4 1/2 stars. We decided on Desert Gardens because we could have a deluxe king bed room with a view of Ayers Rock and were not disappointed. Our guess was room 324 was recently remodeled and was nicely done. Be sure to ask for a room on the second floor to enhance your view of "the rock."

We were especially impressed with the excellent customer service that was offered by Kristy at the reception desk. Our room was not ready when we arrived and she made sure our stay would be enjoyable. Be aware that the entrance fee to Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park of $25 per person for three consecutive days is not included in your room rate.

Also, we chose to rent a car in Adelaide and drive the Stewart Highway round trip so we could visit Cooper Pedy, Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon in Watarrka National Park. Having the nice deluxe view room was a good decision because we had a comfortable place to rest during the day with a view the Uluru. Take advantage of the two or three day packages that are offered at the properties at Ayers Rock Resort. Visiting the "Red Rock" region is probably a once in a lifetime experience, so be sure to do it right!

Room Tip: If you go this far get a room with a view of Uluru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The excellent choice for a stay while taking in Ayers Rock. The resort has a grocery store and you can cook in the rooms. There are several choices within the resort for eating out. They range from fine dining to bar food. The hotel can arrange any activities that you would like to do. Food and drink in Australia is high by US standards, but very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Desert Gardens Hotel in November, 2013. The facility was quite nice and within easy walking distance of the local shopping area. The room was more than adequate and it was clean. One thing that surprised us, however, was that the grounds were littered with leaf debris and they didn't attempt to clean it up daily, although they did spend some time with a leaf blower on the third day we were there. Might have been a seasonal thing as the trees were shedding leaves pretty freely.

The room was clean and pretty nice, if a little dated. There needed to be some basic maintenance done, like fixing the screen door. All together, though, the facility was very nice.

The staff was very helpful, knowledgable, and courteous. We enjoyed our stay very much and would do it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I really liked the room I got at this hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom was also spacious and luxuriously appointed. This was my first time in a while staying at a Novotel, and I appreciated that I got the room quality I expected from this hotel chain. The air conditioning was well functioning, which was welcomed with the hot afternoons of our visit.

I also appreciated the room upgrade I got with a (slightly obstructed, sideways) view of Uluru. I was able to enjoy the sunrise from the balcony of my room. I recommend trying to get the 325-348 block of rooms (I think those are the room blocks) that would have a more direct view of Uluru.

The front desk staff was friendly and attentive. I found the staff at the Bunyan (s[?) Bar to be lacking. We waited a long time for our drink and lunch order the one day we were there. We even got the bill for our meal before we even got our food and drink. Our waitress did her best to address the issue and get us our food and drink, but I really didn't appreciate that hiccup for what I'm paying for during my stay here.

Know visiting the Ayers Rock Resort that it will be expensive and you will pay for your stay. Temper your expectations accordingly and pay what you can to have the most comfortable stay during your visit to Uluru/Ayers Rock.

Room Tip: Try the 325-ish block to get a direct view of Uluru/Ayers Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enigmajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear enigmajic,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to see that the room met your expectations and our reception staff were friendly and attentive. It is always wonderful to see the hard work the staff put in is acknowledged and I will be sure to pass you kind comments on.

It is disappointing to read your concerns with service in Bunya Bar. Please be assured I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate manager. Thanks again for your review and all the best with your future travels.

Kind regards

Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the free shuttle service, to the well organised reception desk, this resort caters well for the fly in and out visitor. Our room contained 2 double beds and was very comfortable. The bathroom h[only had a shower which gave us more room, and had plenty of bench space to put our things. Toiletries were from an indiginous company which was a nice touch.
We had some trouble with the airconditioning temperature, but this was quickly resolved when reported.
The whole resort was easy to access on foot, or had a free shuttle regularly for those who were less mobile.
The IGA though small had everything we needed for snacks and forgotten items.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing