We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Outback Pioneer Lodge(Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (3,173)
Filter reviews
3,173 results
Traveller rating
666
1,327
798
273
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
1,327
798
273
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayers rockbunya bardeluxe roomtown squaredesert gardenarnguli grillsounds of silence dinnerlarge bathroompost officestayed nightsshuttle busgrocery storeremote locationaat kingsnational parkbuffet breakfastred centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,827 - 1,832 of 3,173 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I would highly recommend the Desert gardens. It strikes a great balance between value for money and comfort. Rooms are clean and well maintained with greatly appreciated air-conditioning. Beds are supportive and the bathroom is well laid out. The swimming pool could do with a bit of work due to missing lights and tiles missing. We did not eat in the restaurant due to cost but we went across to the Outback pioneer which has got a great BBQ experience. Reception were very helpful storing our luggage until our room was ready the tacking the bags to the room.

Room Tip: All rooms look simalar
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After a 6 hour coach ride from Alice Springs, I was not expecting much in the way of comforts when staying in the area of Uluru. What a surprise it was to find this oasis in the middle of nowhere. The Desert Gardens hotel is a perfect place to experience this fabulous land.
The rooms are located in small blocks of 4 with some deluxe rooms having a view of the rock.
The facilities in the resort are amazing considering were you are.
The rooms are very well equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay.
The staff are first class and very polite. The hotel restaurant was really good and the daily breakfasts were as good as any top hotel.
The Ayres Rock resort encompasses 3 hotels, apartments, and a camping ground. It has its own shopping centre with restaurants a supermarket and shops. totally amazing considering where it is.

Room Tip: You will need to upgrade if you want a Rock view room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and used this as the base to travel to Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon for sight seeing.

The hotel provides complementary airport transfer to meet every flight and it is an easy 10-15 minutes ride. Staff are the hotel are all very friendly and helpful - they will do anything reasonable to deliver a great customer experience.

I have had breakfast once at the hotel which is included in my room rate - not a lot of choices for a buffet style and quality is reasonable. Coffee is not included which I find it strange.

The room has two double size beds, spacious bedroom and an old analogue TV with limited cable TV channels. Bathroom is spacious with a walkin shower but no bath. There is no safe inside the room so be mindful of that.

This hotel is located close to the town center which is only 5 mins walk away but the town center is merely just a few shops - IGA, café and restaurants, post office, hair dresser, souvenir shop, ANZ bank and a local travel shop.

Overall this is a nice hotel with exceptional staff delivering amazing service. Location is great as it is central to many touristy place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

There are numerous lodging options to chose from at Ayers Rock Resort and our choice was Desert Gardens which was rated at 4 1/2 stars. We decided on Desert Gardens because we could have a deluxe king bed room with a view of Ayers Rock and were not disappointed. Our guess was room 324 was recently remodeled and was nicely done. Be sure to ask for a room on the second floor to enhance your view of "the rock."

We were especially impressed with the excellent customer service that was offered by Kristy at the reception desk. Our room was not ready when we arrived and she made sure our stay would be enjoyable. Be aware that the entrance fee to Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park of $25 per person for three consecutive days is not included in your room rate.

Also, we chose to rent a car in Adelaide and drive the Stewart Highway round trip so we could visit Cooper Pedy, Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon in Watarrka National Park. Having the nice deluxe view room was a good decision because we had a comfortable place to rest during the day with a view the Uluru. Take advantage of the two or three day packages that are offered at the properties at Ayers Rock Resort. Visiting the "Red Rock" region is probably a once in a lifetime experience, so be sure to do it right!

Room Tip: If you go this far get a room with a view of Uluru.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The excellent choice for a stay while taking in Ayers Rock. The resort has a grocery store and you can cook in the rooms. There are several choices within the resort for eating out. They range from fine dining to bar food. The hotel can arrange any activities that you would like to do. Food and drink in Australia is high by US standards, but very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews