We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great and Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Excellent hotel in the red centre even if a little pricey, fly direct to Ayers Rock airport and stay here rather than Alice - It's worth it to miss the full day transfer!
Great room with views of 'The Rock' as given upgrade by mentioning we were on honeymoon!
Did a couple of trips booked with the hotel, Uluru Sunrise and Katja Tjuta Sunset/BBQ - Both pricey but worth it while you're there!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    1,012
    664
    240
    82
See reviews for
459
1,371
148
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fermanagh folk abroad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Room was clean and spacious. Meals and drink a bit on the pricey side. Staff friendly and helpful. Sounds of Silence - WRAP UP WELL it was freezing with a bitter wind blowing. The food was ok but the view of Ayers Rock was poor as we drove further away from it when we left the hotel. Heaters were on site but were not used.
Overall just about worth the money paid.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hasa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchster, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

When I book a 4 star hotel in Australia I expect it to be a decent standard. This hotel however is on a par with holiday inn or premier inn but is far more expensive. I was really quite disappointed.

I know you don't travel to Ayres Rock for the hotel but you expect far more for a 4 star than this hotel delivers. Rubbish bins overflowing, room service trays sitting outside for days on end. Not good at all.

The rock howver is amazing but if I ever return I will stay at the outback pioneer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helzibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yulara hotels

UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
282 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at Desert Gardens hotel for three nights at the end of June 2008.

1. We had problems the first night with the heating not working. Night time temperatures go down to around zero here in June. The room was virtually unlivable in. It took two nights before it was fixed in spite of numerous requests to reception. Eventually the manager got us into a new room with operating heating for the third night, but no reduction on their "over the top" prices was made for the two nights that we suffered without heating.

2. As many posters have remarked, Ayers Rock Village is a monopoly operated by Voyages Inc. Hence no competition and high prices in all outlets, from the hotels to the restaurants and bars. Basically all the hotels are overpriced.

3. Desert Gardens in particular is a "groups" hotel. So as an individual traveler you end up in a queue on most occasions when you need to speak to reception.

4. The swimming pool at Desert Gardens is not heated. If you actually want to swim, you need to walk the 10 plus minutes to Sails in the Desert which has a heated pool. This is another of their hotels, but is the more expensive, which is why I assume they heat it.

5. We booked "Ayers Rock View" room. It had a distant view of Ayers Rock, but the main road ran between our room and the rock. Difficult to say whether it was worth the extra for the view.

6. By normal standards I would say this was not a 4 star hotel, but more a 3 star hotel. Not enough staff on reception, impossible to get porterage to ones distant room, bar and restaurant not 4 star, etc.

Having said all that, I would say that most of the staff were perfectly charming, and the manager in particular did a good job in convincing me not to walk out after two days of heating problems. That far in the middle of the Australian desert you are a prisoner of Voyages Hotels Inc, and if you want to see Ayers Rock, then you don't have much choice other than to buy their services!

  • Liked — It was close to Ayers Rock
  • Disliked — Overpriced and the heating did not work in the cold nights
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

I stayed at the Desert Gardens hotel as part of a Monograms tour by Globus. The rooms were adequate. There was only a walk in shower in the bath. They need to update the television. It was clean. You must put your room key in a slip by the door in order to have lights and air. I thought the area was a little dark and it was hard to see at night.
The resort has you captive. Make sure you have plans at night or you will be looking at four walls.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Uluru
  • Disliked — No lights without the key in the slip.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhcoogdebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

Unfortunately if sightseeing at Ayers Rock or Uluru, you don't have much of a choice of where to stay.

It IS in the middle of the desert with NOTHING around, so you don't have a choice of a cheap hotel or setting up your tent just anywhere.

It appears that anything that is the "town" is actually the Ayers Rock Resort which includes a choice of campgrounds, and 3 levels of hotel experience, the grocery store, a couple of shops and the post office.

It is all well done when you think that it IS in the middle of the desert and that there is nothing for miles around.

The prices are outrageous for what you get, of course, since you have no choice unless you fly in and out for the day.

Accomodation in the Desert Gardens was mediocre, again with 2 double beds instead of queens and not much else to recommend it. The gardens and pool are ordinary.

Since hoards of tourists arrive and depart constantly, the lobby is constantly hectic with piles of luggage and people everywhere. Buses arrive and depart constantly too. The staff on the check- in and out desks appear harried and unfriendly.

Since we had to vacate our rooms hours before the buses came to take us away, we were promised a hospitality room to shower and change after a day in the 40C heat, but when we wished to do so, apparently there was only 1 room to use for dozens of departing tourists. After quite a while and some complaints, they did offer us use of another room, but not willingly.

The staff in the information area elsewhere on the resort were pleasant and helpful.

For the prices they charge and the monopoly they have, we did expect better service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price, unfriendly staff, felt we were ripped off and had no choice
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

We arrived at the Desert Gardens around mid day,the bus picks everybody up from the airport,so if you are travelling as a couple,one should head for reception after disembarking the coach and the other should wait and deal with the cases,that way you can avoid a huge queue to get checked in.
Once checked in and making you way to your room,you may get a slightly negative feeling about the standard of your accommodation.The hotel exterior is not that pretty,and our walk up two flights of bird stained stairs,already had us a bit unsure.
On arrival into the room,a quick look under the bed,revealed 3 empty water bottles and a dirty pair of socks left by previous occupants,so you do worry a bit as to trhe standard of housekeeping.
The room however was of a good size,2 queen sized beds,with colourful top cover,there was good lighting in the room,table and chairs,tea and coffee making facilities,mini fridge,iron and ironing board,and complimentary dressing gowns hung in the wardrobe for use.The bathroom had a large walk in shower,and a hairdryer was supplied,however there was no safety deposit box in the room,this was based at reception and was free of charge.
As like most people we were only here for 2 nights,so we decided to make the best of it,rather than possibly pay extra for a room that was not much better.
The complex is in the desert,overall it is unatractive and overpriced,however with a captive audience voyages can get away with charging premium prices for not too high a standard.
Breakfast at the white gums restauraunt would set you back 30 dollars per head,however to be fair their lunch menu after 11 30 was much more reasonably priced. You can use the facilities of all the hotels in the complex however Gecko's cafe appeared to be one of the most popular eating places,with main meals costing around 30 dollars on average.
There is a well stocked supermarket on site and we found this to be the the best option,for both breakfast and lunch time,we just purchased what we needed and had it in our room.
Desert gardens has a small pool,a few sunbeds,and loads of complimentary towels by the pool, NOW a big eye opener is hidden in both the ladies and gents toilets around the pool,they have Molton Brown hand soap and hand cream!!! we would never have expected this product to be in the toiletry dispensers of such a remote hotel,top city hotels yes,here never..
We had pre booked the sound of silence dinner back home in the uk,and on the night we went,there must have been nearly 200 people,apart from seeing uluru,this was the highlight of our trip,and at a cost of around 150 dollars each,this was value and memorible,the whole evening lasted around 5 hours and by the time we were picked up around 10.30 pm the desert air was really cold,<if you intend to go take warm clothing with you>
Overall the desert gardens is basic accommodation,trading in a fairly difficult enviroment,serving a means to an end,if you want o visit ayres rock then use this hotel,or alternativley use the sails in the desert hotel<more expensive> however several people we spoke to said this accommodation was not that much better.
One last thing,check out time is 10 am,give yourself plenty of time,or again be prepared to wait in a fairly lenghty queue.
As always if I can be of any help,please feel free to e mail me at alfiebear1950@hotmail.com.
Happy holidaying..

Alistair Allan

  • Liked — It was peaceful
  • Disliked — too much to write......
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yulara
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails In The Desert Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 5 in Yulara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing