We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,324)
Filter reviews
3,324 results
Traveller rating
710
1,395
825
282
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
1,395
825
282
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayers rockdeluxe roomtown squaredesert gardenarnguli grillsounds of silence dinnerpost officelarge bathroomshuttle busstayed nightsgrocery storeaat kingsremote locationbuffet breakfastnational parksunrise touralice springs
Filter
Updating list...
1,887 - 1,892 of 3,324 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel was adequate; but nothing special! Our air conditioning was not good enough to cool the room. We overlooked nothing!! We viewed the laundry room for the resort. It looked like nothing on our little patio had been cleaned in years. Of course, you were in the "bush" and I guess you should not expect very much. It was definitely "roughing it". Don't expect much.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want something halfway decent.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Marie H,
Thankyou for your review.
It is regrettable to read that you found nothing special with Desert Gardens Hotel and I apologize the air-conditioning did not meet your needs. I hope this was reported to our team and investigated immediately for you.
When booking a room at our hotel there a 3 different room types for our guests to choose from, standard, deluxe and deluxe with rock view. I apologize that the room did not meet your expectations and the cleaning on the patio was not up to standard. Please be assured your comment has been addressed with the housekeeping team.
Kind regards
Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Pleasant enough hotel, reasonable room although there was only one mirror and that was in the bathroom. Stayed only one night and had an early check out (4.15 am). We returned to the hotel to collect baggage, arriving 20 minutes before the breakfast restaurant closed, but were happily accommodated by the chef and staff. TIP: buy a breakfast voucher at Reception for $26, or pay $36 for the same thing in the restaurant! After breakfast we were given the key to a courtesy room for showering and changing, which was well appointed, thoroughly cleaned and with an ample supply of towels andt toiletries.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kandj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear kandj93

We appreciate the review of your holiday adventure at Ayers Rock Resort.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the services on offer here at Desert Gardens , including our courtesy room.

Yes , we encourage all guests to take advantage of our great breakfast offer of $26 bought the day before at reception !
I am also glad that you found our staff accommodating when you arrived for your early breakfast.

All the best for your future travels.

Kind Regards ,

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Uluru jumps out of the ground at you 50km before you arrive there. Desert Gardens is the only hotel in the complex with Rock views and they are spectacular. Staff are incredible, room is great.Worth it

Room Tip: You pay more the rock view, but it is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dustyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel was comfortable but after coming in from the Hot Desert environment more powerful A/C is needed. It was by no means warm but I just wish I could have made it COLD. It should be noted that you leave the lobby and walk maybe 100 yards outside to your room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillzoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear BillzoB,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you took some time to cool down after experiencing summer in the desert.
I hope this did not detract from your stay at Ayers Rock Resort.

Kind Regards,
Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Desert Gardens Hotel, for one night on Monday 18th November as part of an AATKings 4 day tour. We upgraded our “tour” to "Superior accommodation" thinking that it might be of a good standard. I understood the hotel to be 4½* but in no way was it that.

We had to wait to check-in as there was a long queue of people who had got off the coach from the airport. Asked a couple of questions at reception but staff weren’t very helpful.

We stayed in Room 167 with a view of the swimming pool. The room was very tired; not what you would expect of a 4½* hotel room.

The hotel’s public areas were quite nice.

As we were going to the AATKings bbq that night didn’t need to have dinner at the hotel, which on looking at the menu was very expensive but had anticipated this as they have a captive market. Knowing that we were getting up very early the next morning went to the supermarket in the complex and bought some things for breakfast the next day.

The thing I did find most annoying was that because we were going on the AATKings sunrise viewing of Uluru and being picked up for this at 4.30 am we had to check out of our room before we left for this as I believe the normal check-out time was 10 am and we wouldn’t be back in time to check-out by that time. When we did get back to the hotel we had to hang around for a couple of hours. I do feel that as AATKings are a large organisation using this hotel every day that provision should have been made for us (and everyone else) to have use of our rooms until we were due to be picked up at 12.30.

One of the AATKings drivers did say when I mentioned that I wasn’t impressed with the Desert Gardens that the Outback Pioneer Hotel (“standard accommodation”) was just as good as the Desert Gardens.

It’s up to you TripAdvisors to make up your mind when booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Bishop’s Stortford,
Thankyou for your review.
It is regrettable to read that you found our staff unhelpful and the room tired. Our staff are regularly praised for their friendly and helpful service and I apologize this was not mirrored in your experience.
Unfortunately we are not always able to offer a late checkout due to our need to have rooms available for arrivals. However we are always happy to store any luggage and allow guests to use all facilities until their departure.
Kind regards
Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews