We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were a bit concerned about the accommodation in the NT due to reviews downgrading many. However we greatly enjoyed the care, support and service of DGs hotel. Cleanliness and comfort would be two important words. Probably an upgrade would have been good but the cost was not really worth it as most of the time you are only in your room to sleep with the curtains drawn!! One thing that really would help travellers, as the cost of accommodation is high, would be to have available the use of a microwave in the units. Without it you are very much captive to the prices and food costs in the Hotel or town. We greatly enjoyed however the inclusion of brekky and found that relaxing and good staff care. One person who had come over from another hotel to assist was a gentleman named ROBERT. He was very thoughtful and attentive and we hope the management acknowledges his genuine care and interest in people. A great gift Robert!
Would we go back to this Hotel. Yes certainly as our experience was very positive.Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,932 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had low expectations of the hotel because of the poor reviews it's received, & were therefore surprised & delighted at the real thing.
The staff, check-in, cleanliness & comfort of the room, and the breakfast, were all exceptionally good. The exterior of the rooms, balconies, stairs etc. weren't perfect, but by no means dangerous or unacceptable in any other way. The gardens more than made up for that anyway.
The staff we encountered could not have been more helpful, all seemed happy in their work & doing a great job.
The breakfast at White Gums was sensational .. I can't imagine anyone could possibly want for more.
The room we enjoyed was an upstairs room, & we had a view of Uluru from the balcony, which was special. However the other rooms scattered throughout the gardens & by the pool, all appeared to have something special going for them also .. the privacy of a garden courtyard .. or the proximity to the pool & other facilities .. or a quieter location away from the road .. etc.
Our room was well equipped & very comfortable.
If all the rooms are like the one we stayed in, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Desert Gardens to anyone.
To those who expect 5 star city hotel conditions in outback Australia .. take a deep breath, & relax into this different & very special environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i live in sydney and run kookaburra beach house coogee
recently i stayed in yulara at desert gardens hotel
it was very good , staff very pleasant , we got upgraded to a deluxe suite which was a great surprise as the room was extra large with a view over uluru...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing particularly amazing about this hotel, but it is clean, modern and has good wifi (you're supposed to pay after an hour but mine never expired). Finally an Aussie hotel that meets international standards!

There are so many wonderful things to do is to area that the hotel becomes a place to rent for had and no more. Restaurant and say fearful facilities are almost as good as stove of the larger tourist towns!

Highly recommended is the star tour, one of the nighttime dining experiences, a walk at the Olgas (car needed), Ayers Rock sunrise and a helicopter! :-D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We travelled on The Ghan and stayed here for our Ayers Rock evening and morning experience. Staff were most helpful and so friendly. The room was adequate. The dinner was an experience of the positive kind. I tasted kangaroo for the first time and found it very tasty. Again the dining staff were great.....most informative and friendly. We found that the staff helped to make our stay a most positive experience. A very different land and people to where we live, central west NSW. Well done all.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boots1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello boots1951.

It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us here at Desert Gardens.
I am glad that you took advantage of all that our unique region has to offer and it is particularly nice to hear that our wonderful staff looked after you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon !

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had four days in a uluru view room at desert gardens. It was wonderful to view uluru at anytime of day and see the changes in colour and light.
The entire resort is fantastic very well organised and highly professional staff.
Thus us definitely worth the stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for the uluru view room it is worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have travelled extensively around Australia and overseas and I was absolutely amazed at the outstanding service we received at the hotel especially in the areas of restaurant and reception.The hotel itself does need a bit of work but hey, Im only in the hotel room to shower and sleep,not look at the hotel decor all day. Any request we asked for was met with a smile,and all questions were answered. We decided to hire a car to do the sight seeing (Ayers rock sunset and sunrise, and Kata tjuta) we could stay as long as we liked and not be rushed, and it was far cheaper than what the tours were offering without the crowds(highly recommend). I have to mention the food was incredible and the service was absolutely outstanding, better than alot of five star hotels we frequent in Melbourne. Must give a well deserved thank you especially to Denise and Harsh at the buffet restaurant in Sails in the Desert. Not only were they friendly they were efficient and made our experience so enjoyable we came back the very next evening as well.(Harsh was very knowledgable about the wine list too) At the Desert gardens Hotel, Himanshu who served us was probably one of the best host/waiters I have ever experienced and I cant say enough about his warm demeanor, he is an asset to your service. I have highly recommended the whole resort to anyone wanting to experience outback Australia.

Room Tip: with a view of the rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range: £137 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing