We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fabulous family time”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nine of us stayed at the hotel , four adults and five children under 10. I was very nervous after reading the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were wonderful, the rooms were clean and I loved the location as you are surrounded by desert and we were lucky enough to to have a view of the rock. Breakfast was brilliant, as kids eat free which makes it amazing value. I also love that you can use the facilities from all the hotels including the pool at Sails. Truly a trip of a lifetime and the hotel was a big part of that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    1,143
    717
    252
    91
See reviews for
530
1,534
167
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment we stepped in the door the service here was excellent. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable.Our flight was late and we had just missed the pick up time for an afternoon tour, however the staff immediately let us know that the tour driver was going to call back for us and they obliged be taking our luggage to our rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greathawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a wonderful five days in a rock view room at Desert Gardens Hotel. The room was large and very comfortable for three adults, with a very big bathroom and a wonderful view of Uluru. Our room was very clean and we were kept lovely and warm inside when the temperature dropped to zero outside. We dined at the hotel restaurant on our first night where we enjoyed the food and were served by very attentive staff then went to Geckos Cafe for dinner on the other four nights and were very happy with both the food and service. We drove ourselves to explore Uluru and Kata Tjuta and were surprised with Kata Tjuta finding it just as wonderful or even more interestisng than beautiful Uluru. There are many interesting tours to choose from but as we had our own transport decided on two tours. The Astro Tour - very informative and fun looking at the stars and planets through the astronomer's telescope. The Evening Camel Ride - a surprisingly comfortable ride over the sand dunes with wonderful views of the sunset over Uluru and Kata Tjuta. The cameleers were great fun and very informative about the camels and plants around us. We had no trouble finding interesting ways to fill our five days.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Two night stay as part of a long Oz trip. Friendly welcome at reception and helpful hints. Lots of bags that needed repacking before the next stage and we were helped to take everything to the room most willingly.

Room large and comfortable and well equipped.

Ate in the restaurant during the evening and both service and the food were excellent; not cheap but worth paying for.

Breakfast buffet was extensive and offered every kind of egg you could think of!! Set us up well for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dumbdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were caught up in the Sydney airport fiasco which resulted in our flight being cancelled on the Friday so we went home and travelled the next day. The hotel was brilliant in moving our room and tour bookings, nothing was too much trouble. We had a deluxe rock view room booked and as a result of the delay, it was only available for the first two of our three day stay. They out of their way to ensure we could stay in the same room and not have to move mid holiday.
We experienced the same level of friendly, competent and welcoming service everywhere we went in the resort apart from the Red Ochre spa (see later). The Ilkara restaurant is superb, although more fresh fruit would be appreciated. I'm not a dessert fan, but they were incredible and when i inquired about one particular dish, the pastry chef came out and explained the ingredients and how it was made. The White Gum restaurant for breakfast was again friendly, efficient and with great choice. The only improvement I would recommend is to supply some heaters near the tables at the entrance since it was really chilly sitting there (night temperatures 1-2 c!
The Red Ochre is expensive which is understandable in the location, however, you then expect great service and advice. The treatment and therapist was great, however, the service at reception was of the friendly service experienced in the rest of the resort - oh and book early before you go. This was a small blip in an otherwise excellent holiday. Pleasing two teenage children on a holiday is not easy and they loved it, particularly the family astro evening and sunset camel tour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMK1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi KJMK1404

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am glad that our staff were able to sort out the bookings for you to avoid the need to move rooms.
Thanks also for your feedback regarding the breakfast heating - we have had this adjusted to ensure Whitegums is as now as warm as the buffet breakfast !
I have also passed on your feedback regarding your dining and spa experience at Sails In The Desert to Leon Pink , our General Manager there.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Red Centre again.

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A perfect place for a family to spend time together. Great rooms, service and staff. Two days was not long enough so we will be back. We really enjoyed our stay here . We dined at the restaurants for breakfast and dinner and found it to be most enjoyable and relaxing. Fantastic staff all round. Lots of activities around the hotel to get involved in if you are not out and about sightseeing. The only thing i think could be improved upon is, the pool could be heated for the greedy southerners who still want a bit of extra swimming time in the sun.( like us) A most enjoyable holiday for everyone.

Room Tip: Great interconnecting rooms with seriously great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yulara hotels
0.4 mi away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
0.3 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.2 mi away
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge
1.5 mi away
Longitude 131
Longitude 131
#1 of 4 in Yulara
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Property: Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing