We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashby cum Fenby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in hall farm 4 times a year when visiting family. It is the best hotel we have stayed in its very clean, beds so comfortable we asked where they brought mattress from and went and brought one for ourselfs. Food is good quality local supplied never had a bad meal or breakfast. Staff very helpful and can't do enough for you, so welcoming.
Our last stay 29th nov was very unusual, we had a lot of banging doors constantly throughout early evening, which was the room below us. even worst we was woken up at 6.30am by someone making a very loud phone call! Never had any noise problems before, this hotel is in the middle of fields and lovely and quiet location. Trust me if you like comfort luxury then this hotel is five star !!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cookeskirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    16
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
64
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stay away on business 2/3 days a week & was recommended this hotel through the company I work for. It did not disappoint, stunning décor, fabulous food & staff who go the extra mile. I will certainly be searching for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was for an overnight stay for us and a group of friends as the location was convenient to our evening plans. We were the first to arrive after getting lost several times (not easy to find). The man on reception was not sure which room was ours as there was a reservation for 3 rooms. After speaking to another member of staff we were eventually told that we had a choice of two rooms which were the same price, the only difference was one was modern and the other traditional. My first impression of the room was that it was well presented, although the modern 4-poster bed was a little odd looking. The price of the room was £140 and my initial thoughts was this was a little overpriced.
Once our friends had arrived we discovered that our other choice of room was actually £40 cheaper. After making a comparison of the rooms I felt we had been slightly cheated as we were told both rooms were the same price. The other room which was also £140 was considerably nicer and had a proper 4 poster bed in it. My husband brought this to the attention of the man on reception who then advised that this should be mentioned to the owner on check-out.
Our stay in the room was minimal and had one purpose - a night's rest. Unfortunately the bed was very bumpy and made it difficult for me as a pregnant lady to get much sleep.
The following morning we were giving a good selection of breakfast choices which was thankfully included in the price. I did request that my poached eggs were fully cooked but when they arrived they were in fact the complete opposite. Another two of my friends were also given the wrong items that they ordered. We got the feeling that as we were eating near to the end of the allocated breakfast time that they were in a rush for us to leave (we were the only guests in there). The man who served us was the same man on reception and he did appear to be working hard - maybe he is their only member of staff with exception of the chef? Anyway we did not make a big deal of this and despite a few hiccups the break was satisfactory with notably fresh produce.
On our point of checkout we debated whether to mention the miscommunication in price of the room. I felt it was a worthy point to mention so this was brought up by my husband with the owner. After an adequate stay we were most shocked by the arrogant and unaccommodating man who was presented to us on reception - the owner. The only point we had wanted to make was that we felt our room was in comparison to the other two somewhere in the middle price range. The owner did not understand this piece of feedback and would not take on board that we were given incorrect information by a member of his staff. At no point did we hear an apology or any ounce of customer services, let alone a smile. I am bewildered by his attitude and unfriendliness. The only resolution to our feedback was if we didn't pay he would call the police - what an absolutely ludicrous thing to say. Our intentions were never not to pay for our stay but for some recognition and negotiation regarding the price we paid and for the miscommunication from a member of his staff. I feel nothing but sympathy for this hotel as had we been treated differently the outcome of our stay would have been remarkably different.
If you want to stay at this hotel because you have no other choice then please ensure the room you are paying for is worth the money. In our opinion this was certainly not the case. It is a shame that a hotel with potential can not take on constructive criticism. I have read other reviews and it appears that you can get a good deal from a third party website rather than the hotel directly - this would be the route I would take otherwise do not bother.
There are only 8 rooms available so I assume this was the reason why there was an empty reception when we arrived. And that the same man is working between reception and the restaurant. It is unfortunate that this member of staff although very polite could not have taken ownership of our comments on the night we checked in. He could have passed this onto the owner on our behalf so that he was aware of this matter at checkout.
In conclusion this departure put an unnecessary negative end on what had been a fun time spent with friends. I cannot begin to understand why the owner was so intolerable with no care for professionalism and reputation for his hotel. My suggestion to him would be to polish up his customer relation skills or to employ someone else who can handle customers and be the ambassador for your hotel. The attitude we encountered is one I do not wish to deal with in a hurry. Needless to say we will not be staying in this hotel again and neither would we recommend it after our checkout experience.

Room Tip: Ensure you are paying for the room that is being advertised - there is a notably difference in stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewdurrant, Owner at Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We do not discount our rooms when threatened with bad tripadviser reports. I am very sorry that this made this guest and his wife unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

no atmosphere, unpleasant staff, rooms very overpriced, treated us with contempt. If your thinking of stay here don't bother. You can find a better hotel any where. Oh and if your pregnant they will give you runny eggs and refuse to change them even though you asked for well done .... Truley shocking stay. Not to mention the lumpy bed

Room Tip: Go to another/any hotel for better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewdurrant, Owner at Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We do not discount our rooms when threatened with bad tripadviser reports. I am very sorry that this made this guest and his wife unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Second trip to this small but beautiful hotel. different room this time, upstairs with a room with a balcony, very comfortable bed, plush carpeting, great wi fi access, and excellent friendly staff, especially Mandy.
Breakfast was off a high standard again, and i can find no fault at all with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay and as the title suggests it was fabulous. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and we weren't entirely sure what to expect. Our room - the Hatcliffe - with a four poster bed was complete luxury. The evening meal was a real treat as we were able to select anything from the menu for our three courses. The rack of lamb was to die for! The breakfast the following morning was equally impressive and we enjoyed kippers and smoked haddock and poached eggs. The staff were very attentive throughout. All in all we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Birthday treat eight people went main man Alan can't fault him but the other staff spends more time chatting than serving. Thought it was overpriced for what we got
There wasn't a lot of people in there for the poor service we received

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashby cum Fenby
8.0 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
4.7 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
372 reviews
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
265 reviews
24.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hall Farm Cottage Ashby Lane, Ashby cum Fenby DN37 0RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Ashby cum Fenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashby cum Fenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful converted farmyard boasting 8 superb bedrooms all individual in style with a lovely relaxed and informal restaurant, serving fine fresh locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing