We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Youth Shack Backpackers
Ranked #31 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in level 2 in a girls room which is tiny and grubby but the boys rooms seemed so much nicer and spacious. The bar downstairs is a good atmosphere made lots of friends, free bbq mostly everynight. The JobShack on the other hand is a waste of money dont bother signing up for it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere of our hostel, the bar is certainly a great place to meet new friends and fellow back-packers. The poolside barbeques are proving popular on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays and sometimes on weekends , probably because you need only need to buy a soft drink or alcoholic beverage to be entitled to the barbeque, and we are glad you enjoyed these also.

As for the rooms sizes, all but three of our dorm rooms are four-bed dorms consisting of two double-bunks, and there is no difference in area (sq metres) between our female or male dorms.

Our job shack girls do their best to place members in work, and you can see testimonials from many of their happy members who have found gainful employment on their Facebook page. We are sorry that this service did not meet your expectations, perhaps if you pop in and talk to the Job Shack staff about any issues you have they may be able to assist you further in your search for employment.

All the best for your future travels, we hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    60
    38
    59
See reviews for
5
52
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed there a few nights and that was already too much. Room was not very clean and we had cockroaches in our room all nights. We asked for help at reception, they come to put some spray (then good luck for sleeping!) - everything normal and no apologies of course.
Kitchen is just AWFUL, you can't imagine!
Atmosphere is so strange, not good at all evenif there is a bar and a nice pool downstairs. Only good point: bathrooms were quite clean. Definitely not recommended - there are many other places around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAZAM404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review, all feedback is appreciated, good or bad.

Our cleaning staff work extremely hard throughout the hostel, and we are surprised you were of the opinion our kitchen is awful. It is a very popular common area that is enjoyed and used by many of our guests and it is cleaned three times daily by our cleaning staff. We supply tea-towels etc for washing up and the sink areas are all stainless steel, allowing them to be cleaned effortlessly by both our guests and staff after use. Bins are placed throughout the kitchen and dining areas and these are well utilized.

We have complex pest management procedures in place which go a long way to dealing with the pest issue you describe, however in the tropics in such a large building we cannot guarantee these procedures will not miss one or two of these little critters.

We are glad you enjoyed the facilities such as the pool and bar and hope to see you again in the future if you happen to return to Darwin. All the best for the rest of your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a party-hostel, beware of it if you're looking for backpacker-like calm and peaceful stay! It it loud, very busy and crowded with drunk jerks. The personell seems to be overstrained and is sometimes rude. You feel like a number. Everything is regimented... You even need to lodge a deposit for getting a pot, plate, knife, fork for use in the kitchen... what a silly rule! Furthermore the signs that tell you everywhere what to do and not a absolutly crazy! It seems that they/the stupid rules are neccesary at this place :-( especially that one that tells you not to jump in the pool - from the balcony! Rooms are too small and furnished with too much beds, you feel cooped! Independent from this: perfect location in city centre. So build up your own opinion of this hostel...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback whether good or bad.

The Youthshack, like you advised, is in the perfect location right in the city centre. Therefore, right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Mitchell Street, which is currently starting to get busier due to our impending Dry Season. The Youthshack is our bigger hostel and also houses our in-house bar, The Batji Bar, which is open to guests 7 days a week. Unfortunately we can not control the guests we have who like to have a drink but we will intervene where necessary if they get out of hand, this would just need to be reported to a staff member.

Furthermore we do have a sister hostel, Chilli's, which is a 2 minute stroll away that we would of happily of checked you into if you preferred a calmer and chilled out vibe.

With regards to our signage throughout the hostel, this has in fact been scaled down over the last week and most of our posters are due to Government Legislation so therefore unavoidable and the latter are to keep our guests informed of whats going on and information on checking in etc.

Also you mentioned that you must lodge a deposit for cutlery - This is a $10 completely refundable deposit for a full set of cutlery which you are to keep for the term of your stay or return whenever you wish. We have this rule in place due to people not returning cutlery and find it is a strategic way of ensuring items are returned clean and undamaged.

Finally, our rooms hold 2 bunk beds sleeping 4 people. If you had issues at the time of your stay, you have the right to report these to our friendly Reception staff who would of been happy to help you.

Thanks again for your time and we wish you safe travels.

Youthshack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in YS in my way to Kakadu. Although the experience was acceptable for the price I paid, it could have been better.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the sundeck, pool and bar were really nice, however the place wasn't clean, specially toilets and if you're bigger than a kid, you gonna have problems with bunk beds.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you were impressed with the majority of your stay. We do take any feedback on board and do look to improve where necessary.

We wish you all the best on the rest of your travels!

Thanks again,
Youthshack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Can't get a better location, right in the middle of Mitchell Street Darwin surrounded by bars and clubs. Very friendly staff and clean rooms, nice facilities and a social bar downstairs. The staff at the Travel Desk and Job Shack are also super friendly, a great spot to start your Darwin adventure and I will definitely be staying here again when I'm back in NT! Thanks guys! - Sarah

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thanks for your review Sarah.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Safe travels!

Thanks
Youthshack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Dirty, unhelpful staff, full of awful people who steal stuff and have sex in the dorms when others are trying to sleep. Laundry is very expensive and won't make it through a full cycle as people take it out.

Rooms are tiny, dirty and dark with uncomfortable beds and lockers that are broken.

After travelling all over Oz this is by far the worst hostel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your recent review.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us and appreciate any feedback whether good or bad.

We do pride ourselves in excellent customer service and feel that some of your complaints could of been avoided if reported to our staff members.

You do mention about other guests and their behaviour, unfortunately we can not always ensure our other guests behave appropriately but do have strict policies in place when situations do arise and we are notified of them.

Our rooms are currently under maintenance with old mattresses being replaced. The lockers in the rooms are checked daily by staff and if reported to be broken, we look to replace or repair that day.

Thanks again for your review.

Youthshack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you are in Darwin, you have to check in into the Youth Shack. It's clean, the stuff is very friendly, the facilities are great, drinks at the Hostel Bar are cheap and the pool area plus sundeck are inviting. By far the best Hostel I have been in Australia. You will get what you expect for your price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for you recent review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Youth Shack and our staff were helpful and accommodating towards you. We do like to pride ourselves in outstanding customer service.

We do hope that should you return to Darwin you will not hesitate to stay with us again.

Thanks again
Youth Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#33 of 47 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
0.5 mi away
Down Under Hostels
Down Under Hostels
#23 of 47 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Shack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Property: Youth Shack Backpackers
Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing