We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still a great place to stay !!”
Review of Paravista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paravista Motel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“still a great place to stay !!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was staying at the paravista the weekend of the wedding party from the 27th till the 30th of sept. and I witnessed first hand the disgusting drunken behaviour of the ( wedding party ) guests and I to was one of the people who rang the managers to complain about the noise and as far as I am concerned the managers should have rang the police and had you all arrested and then thrown the lot of you out, but thankfully this is the only time that I have had a bad experience staying at this motel (no fault of the managers ) I have stay here more than ten different occasions and I can never say anything bad about the place, it is still my home away from home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pla p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
55
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

An outdated property in desperate need of a refurbishment and with a manager in need of a new attitude.

We stayed there as a group attending a wedding, many of us visiting from overseas and interstate. We were lucky to have received a group rate however upon seeing the condition of the property and room I was quick to realise they were grossly overcharging. The manager was hostile, swearing on different occasions to some of the guests (including myself) and even stormed into one of the rooms of our friends. Other guests who had a young child was told that the property doesn't usually accommodate children. Is that even legal?! Completely unacceptable.

The only redeeming features is that it is a great location a few minutes walk to Parap Village Markets in a quiet street and a short walk to the Mindil Beach Markets, Waterski Club, and a nice bike ride to the Museum and Art Gallery of NT/ Pee Wee's at the Point/ Darwin Waterfront.
It also has a quiet pool area (that I don't think was cleaned during our 5 nights there).

I stayed in the 3 bedroom house which is at the front of the property, behind the pool. It was a little dirty (needed a good vacuum and mop), but the rooms were ample sized so was the dining/loungeroom. Bathroom and kitchen definitely need an update! Quite basic and 1970's.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom house for groups is accommodating but is located closest to the street and in need of a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrisSCIndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenTT, Manager at Paravista Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you chica cc for your review, what you forgot to mention is that your group of almost 30 members !! were having a very loud party in the pool area until after 1 am and six out of eight of our neighbours rang and complained about the noise. What you also forgot to mention was that the reason we "stormed" into your room was because they had music blearing and were being extremely loud at all hours of the morning. The next day I had to apologise to the other ( non wedding related ) guest for your groups disgusting behaviour from the night before and at no time did you mention the damage you and the group did to our motel rooms, linen,our pool and the endless amount of rubbish left behind. Not to mention the lack of remorse from you or your group the following day. You think that we need a new attitude, We would say the same for you.
Needless to say, you or your group are not welcome back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Located in a quiet suburban street only one street back from the main road in Parap which is close to the city. The motel itself is pre cyclone, so has a nice 1970's retro charm which I love, if ultra slick and ultra modern is your thing this is not your place! The room was very clean with a nice balcony and a good comfortable bed and good wardrobe space. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The Paravista represents fantastic value and i would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Note their are stairs only so only take a higher floor room if you are able to do without a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gabysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Its oldish and had very little or no updating since it was built. Being on four floors and with no lift/elevator is not good although the super receptionist carried our two heavy cases up to room 18 as if they were empty!

Its a good way out from Darwin CBD so you really need a car (I guess not unreasonable since it is called a motel!! However, we didn't have one for the first couple of days we stayed and although there are some shops and eating places in Parap, which is only 10-15 minutes walk away, the streets are very quiet and dark at night and we didn't feel totally comfortable - probably more in our imagination than reality.

There is a communal kitchen but it is really grim with a good number of non-functioning items. The bedroom was fine - comfortable bed and good shower bathroom. The heat pump was a little noisy.

The walls are thin and we heard every word of the marital row occuring in the next room. Not very comfortable.

On balance, the cost and general decorative standard would mean we would look elsewhere next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

In a good local quiet area but within walking distance of several eateries and various shops. Clean, spacious room. Good value. Friendly and helpful staff. A few minutes drive from the airport and city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I, along with another couple stayed here for two nights in August 2013. Excellent value, very clean, friendly, everything you need. Room were spacious, cool, very clean. Located close to the coast. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Keylimelimepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I recently stayed here - firstly for one night on my way to Broome and then a further three nights on my way back. Yes, this motel is rather dated, but could find no fault in the standard of my room. Staff were very friendly - in fact went out of their way to help in many ways. Public transport was very close, a good shopping centre within a short walking distance and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magichappens48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#17 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#33 of 37 in Darwin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
2.1 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paravista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paravista Motel

Property: Paravista Motel
Address: Holiday Units 5 Mackillop St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paravista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paravista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing