We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value. honest.”
Review of Paravista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paravista Motel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good value. honest.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we stayed there as a group of 5 in three rooms. The location is not Darwin central, but that's not really a problem. Especially if you have a car. They have a pool, and free BBQ. Markets and shops are nearby. No eating facilities on the premises, unless you have BBQ by the pool (not a bad idea). Free and easy parking. Clean rooms - basic, but do the job. In some ways its "old and tired", but I have stayed in much worse (and some better).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenTT, General Manager at Paravista Motel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
thank you for your review, we are happy that you all enjoyed your stay and we deeply appreciate a honest, realistic and down to earth review, we wish all the very best and we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    45
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
55
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Yes the Paravista is an old motel however the rooms were clean, recently painted and the beds very comofortable and we found the manager to be helpful. We stayed for a couple of nights then went touring in litchfield for a couple of nights and came back for the night before flying back to Brisbane. We have no problem recommending the Paravista and would stay here again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The guy at the reception was a bit obnoxious, but once you've dealt with him, the room was ok.
Not perfect; the door to the ensuite had no tongue in it, and the AC was very noisy. The pool had leaves and other debris floating in it. The kitchen upstairs was equal to the worse camp kitchen I've seen in any caravan park.
The bed was queen size and good quality and that was the most important to us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenTT, Front Office Manager at Paravista Motel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
thank you for the review, but we treat our guest the same way the treat us,if you are rude to us we are rude back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Quiet location, slightly outside CBD but if you've got a hire car it's less than 5mins into town. Rooms are a little dated, and the aircon is loud, but a great spot overall. Comfy beds, a nice balcony, swimming pool and nearby pub/shops/ATM are very handy. We checked in very late, and the management were really helpful - responded to our message quickly and left the keys out for us. All in all, a great stay. Cheers!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I am not sure how this motel got four and five stars from some travellers : I stayed in room 18 on the third floor and my impressions were far from good. The shower hot water did not work, the sink is small and no shelves to place your toiletries. One of the bedsides lamps was also not working. In general the room and ensuite reminded me strongly of a remote mine site workers singles room. The hotel is old and with cheap fittings and it strongly shows it . I arrived from the airport at 19:20 and the reception closes at 19:00 so everything is closed with the key being left outside in a mailbox. Obviously there is nobody to talk to if anything is wrong. The room key displays an ad for some restaurant with program Monday to Friday which also closes at 19:00!!! . I paid for this AU$ 99/ night !!! I had a second night booked to the same hotel on my return trip, however I cancelled the booking (even if I'll probably loose my monies - I could not return to that sink hole again).

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ULDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This motel is great this is my second visit as i fly to a community from Darwin. The Parap markets are on Sat and the shopping centre in Parap is really convenient. Its close to the airport the suburb is quiet and the area is nice. I am a solo traveller so its perfect for my needs. The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfortable.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 1 the view is the carpark, but if you have problems with stairs than this is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey_fafard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I recently stayed at The Paravista Motel for a week and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Absolutely loved the location - just around the corner from Parap Village and the Saturday markets. The bus stop is close by and I enjoyed being a few minutes from the city. The room was fantastic, clean and roomy and a nice little balcony. Nelson and Tenielle - you were both awesome - helpful and friendly. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SueVinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 37 in Darwin
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#33 of 37 in Darwin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
1.8 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
77 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paravista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paravista Motel

Property: Paravista Motel
Address: Holiday Units 5 Mackillop St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paravista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paravista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing