We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hospitality and well thought out spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmerston Sunset Retreat
Ranked #5 of 17 Darwin B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, hospitality and well thought out spaces”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A very comfortable, even elegant, place to stay in a quiet and handy location, with very pleasant and friendly hosts. We stayed upstairs for a few nights before moving down to the larger family unit (book early!). Both 'units' were well set up, functional, clean and nicely furnished. I for one am very happy with the idea of an outside kitchen, as I really dislike the lingering odour of cooked onions or burnt toast in my bedroom or living room. This one had everything we needed and more. The pool and barbeque area were well set up and used frequently during our stay! Very little noise carried over from the other units. I can definitely imagine coming back here with family members, and using the park at the end of the driveway for the kids to burn off some excess energy. Brian and Jan were knowledgeable and friendly hosts, very obliging with help on some odd requests, and keeping the whole place clean (including linen). My only request? would be for a note posted in the shower (not next to the fridge) regarding the 'arthritis friendly taps'- turn on gently and slowly, wait for the water to run freely. Well priced and good facilities; we'll be going back for sure. Cheers Teresa

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
9
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went to Palmerston to visit my sister and was looking for a well-priced two bedroom apartment with facilities to prepare meals for the family. This property was everything we needed. They even supplied a highchair and port-a-cot for our 18 month old daughter at no extra cost. Jan and Brian were very welcoming, even giving our two children icecreams on arrival. Air-conditioning was excellent, particularly as it was the hot lead up to the wet season. The kids loved the swimming pool. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very warm hospitality with down to earth hosts Jan and Brian. Swimming Pool was very relaxing. Most important thing for me was the high level of cleanliness. I had the Kadek Suite which was spacous and nicely furnished in a tropical Bali style. Location was close to facilities for dining out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

After a delay in Darwin picking up hire car, I was late arriving. Brian was very helpful and showed me how the room worked etc. Couple of things went wrong: A/C was intermittently working and shower head ?too heavy for the wall kept falling down but both were sorted out quickly by Brian on return from work. Room was clean and well decorated and comfortable bed. Nowhere to "work" on a computer except on verandah which is lovely for relaxing on; paper tissues would be good? Able to do a couple of loads of washing which was so useful when travelling, for $2. Brekky adequate - I missed the mango season. The B&B isn't close to any places to eat/shop and no views as at the end of cul de sac. Overall it was very good but I had a few reservations - see review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerstonSunset, Owner at Palmerston Sunset Retreat, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We thankyou for taking the time to review our property.
We are pleased you found the suites clean and comfortable.

We will take on board your suggestions to enhance the room amentities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I am totally unsure what to write here as we had mixed opinions, we will be writing a full report for the media so for now will keep it short.

Pros
Room was clean and well presented
Brian went out of his way to make us welcome
Lovely heated pool

Cons
The website makes it sound to be on acreage, it is just a house at the end of a cul de sac where the owners live upstairs and rent off downstairs and half of upstairs.

We had an 8hr drive so were not sure on our arrival time, we sent Jan a message saying we would be there in 3 hours as we had just reached Katherine, when we arrived she told us the room wasn't ready and wouldn't be for another 40 minutes as she had to mop the floor. My youngest son was bursting for the toilet and I asked if he could just use the loo, to which she refused and said no the floor is wet, eventually after he had already had an accident she let him in.

Although it says breakfast is included you only receive one jug of milk and cereal, maybe if we had asked for another jug of milk they would have kindly provided one but as I can't eat anyway it wasn't a problem.

We asked 3 times for a business receipt and are still waiting.

Even though our account was a savings account we still got charged the 3% surcharge.

We were unsure of what areas we could or couldn't use


To be honest I think it was the toilet incident that left us with a sour taste because as I said the accommodation itself was ok, although I don't think we would return. We moved out to a property in the city which is lovely.
Maybe Brian would be the best person to deal with customers he is lovely even if he is originally from Yorkshire ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerstonSunset, Owner at Palmerston Sunset Retreat, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We listen constructively to guest feedback as it enables us to improve our guests experiences.
We are concerned that your perception of service has been rated so low.

Jan was our duty Australian owner and manager at the time of your booking and arrival.
We note the following:
The previous day to your arrival a confirmed after hours 8pm ++ arrival time was advised. Access details notes on suite orientation were provided by email. Jan also included tips on the Katherine area for your reference and enjoyment enroute to Darwin.
Breakfast was not included as part of your quote through a 3rd party website.
Given your expected very late evening arrival Jan decided to provide complimentary fruit cereals and accompliments for you to enjoy first up that morning as explained on your arrival.

Your afternoon arrival was unexpected we did not receive a phone call, text or email that conveyed an early time change.

The suite was not ready for your arrival so we offerred for you to relax by the pool and offered complimentary refreshments for your family.

Yes a request was made for your young lad to use the toilet.
As explained the access where you were sitting to the rear of the unit was potentially slippery as Jan had just mopped it.
Jan personally asked your son if he could wait a couple of minutes. He answered yes.

On checking the front access was dry to the bathroom she personally accompanied your son to the bathroom. We must uphold a duty of care which includes wet flooring.

Under no circumstances would we deny a guest a bathroom access. They may use our own personal one if required. Jan was not aware of any emergency in this regard.

Account receipts documententaion was provided immediately on transaction to your husband.

We are sorry your stay of a full day at our property did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A fantastic & cozy place to stay! Great hosts, Great room, great verandah...
A perfect spot to relax. Pool and Other facilities available, very clean. I can highly recommend this bed & Breakfast, and would come back again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuBe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hosts Brian & Jan are wonderful. They were so friendly and helpful. The location is quiet with a wonderful outdoor setting on the verandah. There is your own fridge, microwave, sink and utensils. The pool and BBQ were great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
9.1 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Palmerston-Darwin
Rydges Palmerston-Darwin
#1 of 1 in Palmerston
118 reviews
10.0 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,836 reviews
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
9.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmerston Sunset Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmerston Sunset Retreat

Property: Palmerston Sunset Retreat
Address: 8 Renwick Ct, Darwin, Northern Territory 0830, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Tropical Bed & Breakfast in Darwin with Private 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites seperate to owners Accom. Tropical Gardens and adjoining parklands in central location. Enroute to Darwin's major attractions Kakadu National Park, Wildlife Park & Crocodile Farm. The property has a large Saltwater Swimming Pool (Solar heated), wide spacious verandahs with all suites tastefully furnished with quality linen and amenities. Poolside Kitchen & BBQ facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmerston Sunset Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing