We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location to airport or if heading south”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed one night after arriving at Darwin airport, before driving south to Katherine. The room
was very modern, clean and had all the necessities to make an enjoyable stay. Very quiet, double glazing despite looking at the Stuart Highway. Comfy bed and we slept well. Staff so so,
most kept to themselves, Breakfast (room delivery) was good, but huge. Dinner was next door at the Airport Tavern, which was excellent. Overall recommended, but expensive to stay at this hotel! We paid $270 for the night, Vegas is cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqtravelGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay if you have either an early or late flight.
It's a very quick drive to the airport on the complimentary shuttle van. The room was impeccably clean and spacious and very well equipped. The pool is lovely. The staff extremely courteous and helpful.
The only downside to this hotel is the price. Too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, or at least not overlooking the pub next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

stay at this place overnight for my early flight out the following day, i was immediately surprise when the lady handed my invoice with the cost for this motel.
when i got to my room, yes everything was neat clean and well equipped.
The only negative about this place is the Bfast and the person serving it.
when i ask for Breakfast at the reception it cost $$$20 again its very expensive but i ordered it anyways because i had early flight and didnt want to move around to much before my flight,
when the man knock on my door with my bfast every thing was ok But after he place my bfast down he instructed me 3 time saying remember to place the tray outside the door for him (like seriously when did i turn in to a room service for him), it got worst and went down a freaken mountain from there, so when i unravel all the accessories from the tray to get to the plate, i saw scramble egg, which seem like it has been scramble then boiled cause there was water every where on the plate and what made me even more pissed was that the @#$@ master chef left the scramble egg on top of my toast and it turn toast to a wet sock and then theirs the bacon hahhaha what a joke it is,this is what i think of the bacon, its been fried then left out in the sun from the previous day design more for building material then humans... i didnt even touch the bfast and didnt leave it at the door for him to show how angry i was.

Room Tip: Dont Order any food from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chung n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear chung n,

Thank you for taking the time for review your stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Concerning our nightly room rates, we are consistency the most competitively priced Darwin airport hotel. We encourage all travelers to compare our room rates to those of other accommodation providers and are confident that you will find the best value at our property. Furthermore, our pricing is regularly lower than that of similar quality properties in Darwin city.

In regard to your breakfast, it disappoints us to hear that you did not enjoy this. We serve around 10,000 cooked breakfasts each year to which we receive overwhelming positive feedback. However we will take your comments on board as we are always striving to enhance the experience of our guests.

Regards,

Management
BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We selected this hotel for a three night stay in Darwin as it was central to the venues that we were intending to visit, and more reasonably priced than mid-town establishments. We prepayed, butI was shocked to find that when our AMEX Statement arrived, 3% had been added to what we thought we were being billed. We appreciate that some businesses add this charge, but there was no mention of this added impost at time of booking, or on the emailed reservation showing what we thought was the cost. We took this up on arrival and were told they would pass our concern onto management, but we heard nothing more.

That said, we found the room a bit smaller than expected, and the lack of storage space meant we had to live out of our suitcases for the three nights - there was reasonable hanging space, but no drawers or cupboards for other clothes to be unpacked, and we had problems finding a place on the floor for our second suitcase. The room was very clean and well maintained. Surprisingly for a reasonably new establishment, there were few power points, so had to unplug other appliances, like lamps and clock, to plug in computer and recharge the phone. Wi-Fi was not available in the room, although cables were available in reception to plug in to the wall socket. Wi-Fi was available in reception.

Shuttle service available at all hours to and from the airport, but to get anywhere else in town you need a vehicle.

We did enjoy the pool and spa at the end of a long hot Darwin day, and refreshing drinks were available at the pool-side bar, or from nearby reception if it was closed. The pub next door appeared to serve reasonable meals, although we didn't eat there due to other commitments.

Would be OK to stay here overnight, especially if you need to be close to the airport for early/late flights, but not for any extended stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burdekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My stay was only overnight but the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.

The room was good quality and comfortable. However I did have one problem which was the flat screen TV. For reason better known to the people who set them up they seem to be quite happy only watch the middle of the picture. It is very annoying to have the text on both sides of the screen only half visible.

The breakfast was room delivery but adequate. When overnighting in Darwin because of the flight arrival times I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights when on business and was working down at the airport. you need to think about whether this hotel would suit your purpose or not cause it is not in town - in fact it is not really near anything. And not within walking distance of the airport - it is about 1.3Km away up on the main road. So you need a car to do anything. The hotel has a free shuttle van and will drive at any time up and back from the airport.
it is very new so everything is in good condition and works. It is a fairly basic hotel - no porters, no cafe/shop, no room service etc but the rooms have what is necessary. I was in an executive room which i believe has a slightly larger main room and has a little kitchenette with sink, microwave and counter top area. Also has the usual bar fridge, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee makings, limited crockery and cutlery and utensils for basic food prep.
Queen sized bed with Sheraton "Darwin Doona" (a doona cover with no filling!) and nice imported teak matching bed head, bed side tables, desk and chair, and lounge chair. Surprisingly the lounge chair still has the plastic wrap on the upholstery - which makes it icky to sit on - so i wonder why that has not been removed. The wardrobe includes extra blanket, pillows ironing board and iron.
Towels are very new and good quality (although a bit small) and the toiletries are soap, shampoo and conditioner - note: there is no lotion nor a shower cap.
Each room has a ceiling fan and its own little air conditioner.
There is a wall mounted flat screen TV. But it only has about 7 channels available - Foxtel movies, TLC and the basic free to air. Funnily not the other free to air channels (like ABC2, SBS2 all those additional ones).
Internet is free and pretty good. Although it is cable only - no wifi - so bring a cable or get one from the reception. (i brought my own long one so i could sit on the bed rather than the hard wooden desk seat.)
I found the rooms very quiet - didn't hear other rooms and due to the heat, i kept the balcony door shut and was not bothered by traffic.
My view was very uninspiring looking at the side of the Thirsty Camel bottle shop! If view is important ask for a pool view and that side of the building looks out over grassy parkland.
the only nearby food is the bistro at the Thirsty Camel. Basic pub/club food - steaks, chips, green salad, and very average quality. i don't really recommend it unless you need something easy. otherwise get into Darwin city. basic room service breakfast can be provided - cereals, toast, muffins, juice, and a few hot dishes - bacon and eggs kind of thing. Always arrived spot on time!
the staff here are GREAT! all of them! always polite, friendly, courteous, everything worked perfectly, drove me when i needed - no bother. housekeeping was good - everything is kept spotlessly clean.
This is not the place to go for a fabulous holiday experience. it is an airport sleepover hotel or like me a business trip place. They are very happy to drive to the airport 24 hrs to even meet those 1am flights so think like that and you will be comfortable.
(there is a pool but i didn't use it. i didn't look to see if there is a gym)

Room Tip: exec suite has a kitchenette, poolside of building has nicest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Nice clean room with everything you would need. Close to the Airport 5 mins away. Pub and bottle shop next door. Great if you are flying out early in the morning. Lots of parking and lifts if you did not want to walk the stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
5.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#21 of 36 in Darwin
368 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
342 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Darwin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Darwin Airport

Address: 225 McMillans Rd | Jingili, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Darwin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Quality Hotel Darwin Airport offers free WiFi and free on-site parking. There are transfers to and from Darwin International Airport, which is less than 5 minutes' drive away. Guests enjoy an outdoor pool and a 24/hour front desk. Each of the air-conditioned rooms offers a balcony and a work desk. Guests can enjoy easy access to Darwin Golf Course, Marrara Sports Stadium and Darwin's CBD. Casuarina Shopping Centre is just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Darwin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing