We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel as we had an early morning flight so wanted to be close to the airport. As it happened, our flight was delayed due to the Indonesian volcano so we ended up staying for extra nights. The staff extended our room at the same rate indefinitely, which was great given the uncertainty around our travel plans.

The rooms are just what you expect from an airport motel - clean, comfortable, well equipped though somewhat lacking in character. It's not very convenient for the centre of town, but that's only to be expected.

The free shuttle to the airport was also very handy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family and I stayed for 1 night recently, what can I say it was the worst night I have spent in a motel !!!!
The noise from the Tavern next door that continued until 1am in the morning was so loud sleep was impossible . The building seems to resonate every little sound made in the building right through the room.
After killing at least 20 cockroaches in the bathroom and on our pillows I was really starting to see red.
At $350 a night it was a joke.
I expressed my disappointment with reception that morning and requested a call from the manager , now after 4 days I have had no contact .
So this review goes out to warn people about this hotel.
I wouldn't let my dog stay there !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Dean B,
We were expecting this review as you told us that you would be placing online feedback unless we gave you the room free of charge. We do use a professional pest control contractor and our last treatment was only 2 weeks before your stay. On your report of cockroaches in your room we did immediately inspect it and did not find it as you have described. I can only add that we are committed to providing rooms that are spotlessly clean at all times.
Regards,
Kim Page
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The beds were nice and comfortable. There is parking but you share it with a lot of big 4 x 4's and it is squishy to get in and out of the bays as they are under the building and there are a lot of concrete support poles so you really need your whit's about you parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This relatively new hotel is comfortable and has very helpful and friendly staff. Free shuttle service is provided from and to the airport, 24 hours a day. It does not have it's own restaurant but the pub next door is filling that gap for lunch and dinner. The hotel features a nice pool + spa with sufficient deck chairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank reto6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear reto6065, thanks for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to Bali during the Easter break. The free shuttle bus to hotel and back to airport & its location being so close to airport was best thing about this hotel but our room was small with number of small brown cockroaches running all over the place!
The room certainly needed a good spray for roaches!!

We also did not get any free breakfast like the other comment pasted by Maikzone.

Generally we found Darwin a hot and boring place to be so we won't be going back there in hurry :-)

Room Tip: If it was not because this hotel is so close to airport for your connection flights, I would not rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeMoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear LeMoj, we appreciate the feedback. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Handy motel not far from the airport and offers nice clean rooms and free internet, which is good. Room and bed were comfortable and I had a big breakfast delivered to the room in the early morning before my flight out. Has a club-restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P, Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Maikzone, glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Darwin is a pricy place by nature cause of its remoteness ..in that case, this hotel is a great value.. the greatest advantage is that is close to the ariport ...if you are not planning to rent a car, don't stay there...in my case it was great...close to the highway and airport and could drive to the cbd without any problem... there is a nice pub behind the hotel which is handy with good food and nice staff as well.. They don't have restaurant but they serve you brekky in your room if requested which is quite handy and comfy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiagop1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim P, General Manager at Quality Hotel Darwin Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear thiagop1982, we are pleased you enjoyed your experience staying with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
5.5 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Darwin Airport
Novotel Darwin Airport
#21 of 35 in Darwin
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 35 in Darwin
2,055 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
5.1 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 35 in Darwin
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Darwin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Darwin Airport

Address: 225 McMillans Rd | Jingili, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Darwin Airport Gateway Motel)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Darwin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Quality Hotel Darwin Airport offers free WiFi and free on-site parking. There are transfers to and from Darwin International Airport, which is less than 5 minutes' drive away. Guests enjoy an outdoor pool and a 24/hour front desk. Each of the air-conditioned rooms offers a balcony and a work desk. Guests can enjoy easy access to Darwin Golf Course, Marrara Sports Stadium and Darwin's CBD. Casuarina Shopping Centre is just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Darwin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing