We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old and tired caravan park” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park

Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park
Ranked #31 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very old and tired caravan park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Can't believe this park rates 4 star for Top Tourist parks. It is very old, run down, no dump point, no slabs. In a thunderstorm all the water rushed down the hill, under our van and out through the fence, taking our waste water pipe with it. Our ground sheet was soaked and covered in garden debris and dirt. We had to have that because the site is just dirt and stones. Not a patch on other parks we have stayed in. Showers are very cramped and you can either use the drop down shelf in the recess or the hooks, not both! Toilet paper provided is held behind the loo, making it difficult to get and it is the one ply stuff that melts on impact with any moisture. A lot more needs to be done to this park.

Room Tip: Pick the other top tourist park closer to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Got to be one of the worse places I've stayed - staff are uncouth and unfriendly - customer service is not one of their strongest selling point.

Arrived there after a late night flight to be told, without even checking the register, that I didn't have a booking. After I said that the booking was for 2 weeks - they went back and checked - yes I was booked in. I was given the key and then was curtley reminded me of what hour of the morning it was - Darwin is reknown for its red-eye flights so I could understand the managers angst. They couldn't even bother telling where my cabin was - so I spent 20mins driving around the caravan park trying to find it - and it doesn't stop there - but I'm going stop here because I could easily go on half the night writing about what an EXTREMELY disappointing experience this was.

Room Tip: Very pokey cabins - inadequate for more than 3 people with 2 bags - and its suppose to fit 5 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeighL407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything you need if you're camping near Darwin. Good facilities, good people, nice and cheap, and location is not bad either.

We had a minor issue with an unclean toilet, but the staff were mortified and quickly fixed it.

I miss Northern Australia!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

great place, the staff are absolutely brilliant. definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwin
12.6 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rydges Palmerston-Darwin
Rydges Palmerston-Darwin
#1 of 1 in Palmerston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.5 mi away
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Howard Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Darwin
5.7 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
13.7 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park

Property: Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park
Address: Boomerang Motel Caravan Park 30 Virginia Rd | Virginia, Darwin, Northern Territory 0834, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Darwin Boomerang Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing