We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blown away !!! Tropical,cosy abode !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilly Pad B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darwin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lilly Pad B&B
Ranked #6 of 20 Darwin B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Blown away !!! Tropical,cosy abode !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My review is a long time coming. We actually one of the very first visitors to stay at Joan & Simon's lovely Lily Pad. We intially booked at the next door B&B , & they were fully booked, so the lady gave me Joans number, bcos at the time they didnt even have the webpage up. When we arrived at darwin airport, Joan was waiting for us, whisked us away, not even 10 mins and we arrived at 2am. She is the most unassuming sweetest lady you will ever meet. And a great artist too ! Both Joan & hubby Simon (lovely man with Russian heratige), were there ....but not there , if that makes sense. You felt like you had the whole place to yourself. The apartment under their house is so cute & cosy...and CLEAN. beautiful linen & comfy bed. Every little thought has gone into the set up. maps, sewing kit, the kitchen had EVERYTHING to whip up your own meals if you liked. Bikes to ride. The pool....gorgeous. The garden, tropical wonderland. Out doorsy bali type bathroom. Fresh honey, museli, delicious bacon, homegrown tomaotes to cook your own breakie. I could go on forever. in all.....dont waste time ....book here, you will NOT be dissapointed . Thanks Joan ;-) Maryanne & Tony Vic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marquin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Close to the airport and about a 20 minute bus ride out of Darwin city centre, this is a lovely, restful base from which to explore Darwin and the surrounding area.

The beautifully clean, accommodation is on the ground floor and is extensive, comprising a well-equipped kitchen/diner, a large sitting area, a bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space, a covered, outdoor eating/ laundry area and a shower room also located in the latter area. From here a small gate leads into the rear garden with fruit trees, shrubs, raised vegetable beds, bee hives (the honey was wonderful) and a rotary clothes hoist for laundry. Outside from the apartment entrance and across the drive is a swimming pool with surrounding deck, loungers and a BBQ.

It is a charming, quiet and peaceful environment in which to relax and drink in the heavy scent of frangipani. The owners, Joan and Simon were so welcoming and provided tons of maps, bus timetables and useful tour information in the room. We used wifi in the room and there was a TV entertainment system but we never turned it on because there were so many more interesting things to occupy our time.

One evening, before we were heading off on an early morning, long-distance trip, we did not want to go into Darwin for dinner. Joan and Simon offered to prepare a meal for us. It was fantastic. They did some wonderfully tasty fish on the BBQ, accompanied by great fresh salads and good bread. To finish off the meal, Joan left us with an entire dish of her most delicious bread and butter pudding. Unfortunately we were unable to finish it off! As others have mentioned, the supplies left in the room for breakfast were first rate, so we always left well set up for the day.

The owners live upstairs and so are never far away if guests need anything. At the same time, you would hardly notice that they were there. In summary, a definite, strong recommendation for the Lily Pad.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of an extensive and comprehensive trip around Australia. We stayed in some 'bucket list' accommodation but balanced those with B and B's run by families. Joan and Simon have created a superb haven for travellers.

The apartment is spacious and has every facility that travellers could wish for. There were all the creature comforts of home. These included: laundry facilities, swimming pool, home-entertainment systems and a fund of advice on tourism all set out in a comprehensive brochure,a well-organised kitchen and a superb range of fresh ingredients each evening to make your own breakfast. Simon and Joan even grow bananas and mangoes in their garden! There was parking space for our hire car but we chose buses to get around Darwin. There is a bus stop just 5 minutes away.

The proprietors live on site and are helpful, informative, unfailingly kind but also unobtrusive. Nothing was too much trouble. We decided not to eat out one night and chose to take up their offer of an evening meal cooked by them which was served around the pool (a welcome touch amid the Darwin humidity).We invited Simon to join us for a drink. As we so often find in these establishments- the owners have fascinating life stories to tell. Joan is also an accomplished artist and has a fine gallery of her work.

It is these kind of intimate accommodations that make travelling the world such a joy.

I can highly recommend the Lilly pad to anyone who appreciates a homely alternative to huge corporate hotels that so often disappoint !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Ideally situated 10 mins from airport in peaceful suburb about 10 mins from Darwin centre. Perfect B & B in every way. Spacious; well-equipped with added facility of pool use. The home produce for breakfast was outstanding and Joan and Simon's hospitality cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BAH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Excellent place to stay. A lovely place situated just 10 minutes drive from Darwin. We were a bit hesitant at first as there were not many reviews on Lily Pad however we could not have asked for a nicer place, very spacious with the room decked out with all you need, fresh fruit, herbs and eggs galore with friendly advice never far away! Not to mention you have 3 types of pillows to choose from! A great place for some r&r and if you’re looking for something with a homely feel. My mum and I couldn't recommend it higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller_Brea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

You cannot want for anything in this delightful accommodation. The proprietors have thought of everything. The garden surroundings give it a very restful atmosphere and provide fresh produce for meals. It is close to the airport and we were delighted to accept the offers of pickup on arrival and return when leaving. Although it is a little way from the city, buses are available within a very short walk. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Joan and Simon were the very best of hosts.

Sylvia and Roy

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Armstrongs242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a great place to stay if you have a car, and want an oasis and tranquility. I stayed here with my daughter and sister-in-law for a primary school athletics event. The hosts were wonderful, and a source of great local knowledge. The accommodation was comfortable, and everything was provided that we could possibly need: the breakfast provisions were ample, and fresh, some of which came from the garden and their chickens. The pool was most welcome in the heat, and the air-conditioned room provided us with relief from the humidity which we weren't used to. We were loaned folding chairs, and an esky to use for a picnic, and our time at the athletics track which certainly made things much more comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend Lily Pad B&B to a couple or small family who will enjoy the hospitality of NT locals. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gertrude_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
5.6 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
4.7 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#7 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
5.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly Pad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly Pad B&B

Property: Lilly Pad B&B
Address: 4 Waters St | Rapid Creek, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing