We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crocodiles are smarter than some humans”

Spectacular Jumping Crocodile Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SPECTACULAR JUMPING CROCODILE CRUISE is the best possible way to be a witness to the natural jumping behaviour of these amazing Australian Saltwater Crocodiles. Our cruises operate four times daily at 9am, 11am, 1pm and 3pm. Each one hour cruise will amaze you with how close in proximity you are to these wild animals and provide you with invaluable information about the intriguing Saltwater Crocodile. At Spectacular Jumping Crocodile Cruises our passion for these animals is clearly evident.
Darwin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“crocodiles are smarter than some humans”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I live in darwin and have been on a few of these trips, they are always awe inspiring and scary. I like this tour over the other one as you get to hold the snakes for photos beforehand and the guy taking the tour seems like genuine aussie 'larrakin'.
one thing that annoyed me though: when dumb tourists rock the boat by running from side to side - stay on your side, you'll get your turn!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Christine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    151
    20
    12
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of crocs”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic cruise down spotting crocs , all female crew that knew their stuff about the crocs , spotted plenty so it's not like you see on or two . If you come to Darwin you need to come on this and see the crocs in their turf ... Great day

Helpful?
Thank drew2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very informative seen lots of crocs and wildlife, the girls knew what they were at and what they were talking about!! They made sure each side of the boat got a good look at the crocs jumping for the meat, would highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Camadnerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go on the small boat!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I had great cruise with the girls and the crocs! Before booking we were advised to check if they were taking out the small boat as you get a fantastic view of the crocs. We were glad that we got to go with a smaller group on the smaller boat. We were also lucky to see 'Hannibal' - apparently one of the oldest male crocs to inhabit this part of the river. The cruise was meant to go for an hour but they kept us out a little longer as we were having a lot of luck with the amount of crocs we were spotting. At the end they also feed meat to the kites(birds) who are quite amazing as they come swooping down to catch the meat. A greta experience and we would definitely recommend this company to others wanting to experience the 'jumping crocodiles'.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emhill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did a cruise on the Adelaide River with a company called " Spectacular Jumping Crocodiles " just past Humpdy Doo and it was just sensational ( I hope this review is for the correct company is all because there are a few who do this!!) It started out with handling a rather friendly Python for a few minutes before boarding the boat for a tour down the river to look for crocs. It turned out that a local croc had actually set up residence under the pier out to the boat - barbeque her name was apparently - and during the course of our cruise up and down the section of the river we were in, we saw 4 female crocs at about 3 metres (Two of which a member of the crew fed with bits of buffalo meat on a long pole ) and had them jumping well out of the water before allowing them to have their "reward". We were then lucky to come accross a 4 metre male croc , who she also enticed with food and the sight of him comming out of the water was sensational!! The crew of the boat were all female and apparently they are the only all female crew involved in this type of exercise!! We were also able to see a large Sea Eagle swoop past the boat and take an offering as well as a number of Kites who snatched at pieces of meat thrown into the air as they flew by. Would definately recommend this experience to anyone travelling up to Darwin for a few days!! Our hookup was a tour company called Litchfield Dreams - thats just to make sure you get the right all girl crew!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spectacular Jumping Crocodile Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Spectacular Jumping Crocodile Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing