We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a short stay”
Review of Casa on Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa on Gregory
Ranked #1 of 17 Darwin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

i checked in early hours of friday morning (2AM) for a standard double room a key was left in the front safe which was great. the key took a few goes not sure if im lacking door opening skills. the main room light is near the bathroom so i was feeling the walls for a bit. theres no powerpoints on the walls just bathroom and near the microwave. it was small but i was happy with the size im not living there so no need for a large room. there was only a sheet on the bed but being darwin it was quite hot and i didnt need any extra, there is a blanket in the cupboard aswell as extra pillows. tv and foxtel was great no problems there. towels were daily, which was good after having a shower the floor was all wet due to water going through the gap in the glass. Sheets were not changed the whole stay, not a major issue but would have been nice. i woke next morning to loud construction but it was a weeknight so i wasnt angry. my partner joined me and i booked a queen executive room for the next 2 nights when i went to get the next set of keys the lady told me i staying in that room. i was so disapointed due to me booking otherwise. (i still had to pay the same). we didnt try the pool but it looked good. it was quiet and $13 taxi to darwin city we did walk twice just for fun and it takes 50 minutes. airport is about $24 taxi. i dont like darwin as a place so i wont stay again, but if i did id go back here as darwin is far over priced and Casa is more affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataleeandCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

The room was small but nicely furnished and clean. It had everything you needed for a short stay. There is a laundry available and upstairs a gym and communal kitchen area. The pool isn't huge but all you need for a refreshing dip. Parap is a really nice area only 5 minutes drive from the city. There is a bus stop out the front which takes you to town. Across the road are shops, restaurants and a fantastic Saturday morning market. Hotel with several bars and restaurant walking distance round the corner.
We arrived early and as the room was available were able to check in. Lady at reception was friendly and helpful. This hotel has a nice feel to it with the palms and little seating areas outside.

Room Tip: one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very nice place to stay. Very friendly staff, rooms are small but have everything you need, table, chairs and beds, a kettle and free WiFi and Foxtel. The bathroom could be a little larger but is good enough for a shower and the essentials. Suitable for business travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The woman running this motel is very friendly. We stayed two nights and she let us use the room all day on our departure day (until 4.30 pm). Room was small but had everything we needed. It was nicely furbished with a comfy bed, little side table and two chairs. We didn't use the pool since it was mostly in shade and we were keen on some sun... There was a (locked) door to another room which made it a bit noisy but nothing too bad. Compared to the Mirambeena, this place was stylish and well run. Also, only a 15 min walk to Fannie Bay and a lovely sunset.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the far edge of the building if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed there in October for a 7 nights. We really wanted to leave after the first night but we had already paid in full for 7 nights and it was non refundable! The room is very small and the bathroom even worse. The room wasn't cleaned properly, the carpet was dirty and the linen in the bed had a big stain. I couldn't sleep all night and in the morning i asked the cleaning lady to change the sheets but she told me they only do it every 3 days. I got very angry with her and she finally decided to change them. It was the start of the low season so it wasn't busy at all, but the price was still expensive.Television limited free to air stations. And the day we finally checked out the cleaners came to our room and started cleaning and taking of the sheets while we were still there packing, that was very rude of them. We would not go back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

On arrival was given key to a room that was either occupied or not made up. Next room was next to a communal kitchen which was occupied by a herd of wilder beast at 05:00 in the morning. The room itself had quality fittings but somehow it didn't work. Especially the glass doors into the bathroom. The swimming pool didn't look clean either. Parking for about 5 vehicles only. Same as other reviewers our battery had been removed from smoke alarm, also many cobwebs in the room even in the roller blinds ! Location is handy for Fannie Bay and Mindil markets but that's no real reason to stay. Try Palms resort in downtown Darwin its only a little more money and so much better. This could be a good motel but as it is it just doesn't work, well not for a tourist at least.

Room Tip: Don't get room 29B - its next to a communal kitchen and smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davee_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Previous reviewers pretty well have it right. Old motel been refurbished. Certainly not " boutique?" tiny rooms, miniature bathrooms. Smoke alarm open with battery removed, interconnecting door to adjoining room left open - interesting! Business travellers need to be aware no desk or anywhere to sit at laptop. Ok with those limitations. Nota bargain but probably priced right for Darwin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
2.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 35 in Darwin
2,051 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
2 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 35 in Darwin
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
2.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 35 in Darwin
967 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 35 in Darwin
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa on Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa on Gregory

Address: 52 Gregory St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa on Gregory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa on Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing