We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great staff and facility”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Decided to stay here rather than one of the cheaper options and glad we did. Darwin hotels do seem to be a bit pricier than some other cities in Australia we were in except Uluru. The room was a nice size as was the bathroom. Had enough room to set one suitcase up on a stand, and park the others along the wall without getting crowded. Only one easy chair which is typical of a lot of hotels so I sat on the bed to read again.Bed was very comfortable and we found it very quiet in the hotel. Nice view of the water and the park along the water. Staff were a great help in getting hold of our tour company to confirm our booking and to direct us where to meet for our tours. If you go out the back door of the hotel to the next street and turn right there is a good grocery store in an indoor mall where you can get takeaway for breakfast and dinner. Also lots of restaurants as an option to eating in the hotel. We stayed here for two nights away for one night and then back for another two nights. Service as good with the second stay as with the first.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi travellover795943

Thanks for the great review and feedback - delighted to hear the team were able to ensure your tour arrangements were on track.

Good luck with the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    656
    254
    77
    37
See reviews for
250
631
102
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

commercial breakfast, almost $40 for the buffet and is terrible. worse than a sizzler breakfast. and near $30 for continental... no thanks!
can walk down to the cafe's for half the price. highly recommend the "ducks nuts" cafe for breakfast instead!
the rooms are cleaned very good, the cleaning staff and very thorough and polite, however, rooms are basic and certainly overpriced for the cheap and dating furniture.
pool is terrible. completely shaded out, no sun area at all. tiles are falling off the pool walls. have to walk underground to get there too!
check in always a hassle. room never ready by check in time.
give it a miss and go hilton or novotel next door.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Austraveller_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Austraveller_2222
Well it's day three on the job here for me at the Hotel and I see we certainly didn't deliver on all aspects of your recent stay experience with us so my sincere apologies to you for that.
If I can just clarify a couple of points the full breakfast buffet is $28 but you can actually upgrade your stay at checkin to include breakfast for an additional $21 a day. The hotel was actually refurbished around 12 months ago with the designers opting for soft furnishing and fabric coverings vs sleek and modern treatments. I too have noticed there is a couple of patches around the pool where the tiling has taken a dip so that's gone on my list. With regards to pool access so far I've discovered three ways to get there - via the elevator to the carpark as you mentioned but also through the bar and out and across the front of the hotel. We do provide areas of shading around and across the pool but also areas for sun - probably a little time of day dependant.
Thanks also for great comments regarding housekeeping always appreciated!
Kind Regards
Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Free upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment upon check in was a bonus. Spacious modern rooms and very clean. Slept like a log on all 4 nights :D Pool was nice, although in need of an upgrade ( tiles are falling off ). Very close to shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again, I think we have finally found our favourite accommodation in Darwin :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks for posting JCJ2008 and delighted to hear you've found a new favourite for Darwin!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Good location, an easy walk to CBD. Staff were friendly and commenced communications before our arrival which was lovely. Water views were nice. Stayed just a night, and disappointed we didn't get a chance to try the pool which looked enticing. Comfy beds, good size rooms and bathroom. (Perhaps a small table with chairs could be good to sit and eat at if eating breakfast in room).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AltonaDoubleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear AltonaDoublA,
Many thanks for your positive feedback which is most appreciated. It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back when you next visit the Top End!
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We chose the Mantra at either end of our Kakadu trip. First night we arrived late from Cairns and were up early for pickup the next morning. We slept lightly because of this, but also the pillows in the standard room were not great (not sure if there was a choice of pillows?) and the standard bed size is only a double. The size of the room was great - the bedroom was separate from the living/kitchen. Upon out return from Kakadu we were upgraded to the next room up (it was out honeymoon) which was much more comfortable. Bigger rooms, bigger bed, comfortable pillows. One of the best features of the room is a washing machine to wash all that desert dirt off!! This room has a view over the esplanade which was good.
Staff kept our bags in the luggage room while we were in Kakadu. The pool was lovely. We ate in the restaurant and had the seafood tower to share, which was amazing.
Overall, we had a great stay but would go for the upgraded room next time!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel - the rear backs onto Mitchell St which is noisy until late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear mattag,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Mantra on the Esplanade and we appreciate you taking time out to review your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed your room upgrade and our seafood tower in the restaurant! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
800 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just spent 6 nights at the Mantra on the Esplanade in a one bedroom 'Ocean view' apartment and loved every minute of our stay. The apartment was spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The kitchen was well equipped, the adequate bathroom included a washing machine and dryer and the very cosy living room opened onto a fabulous balcony overlooking the water.
The location, right on the esplanade, but only a couple of minutes walk to the heart of town is perfect. The staff by the way are friendly and helpful. The pool is also very good - although in need of an upgrade.
Just one or two little annoyances...
1.The min-bar items were ridiculously expensive - and I mean ridiculous! $7 for an 80 gram packet of nuts which I saw in a store (after the event) for $1.
2. The buffet breakfast, which was pretty ordinary by 4 star hotel standards was exactly the same every single morning. Gets a bit tiring by the 6th day.
These things aside, we loved our stay and will happily return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear panther029,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra on the Esplanade and thank you for such positive feedback. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the views, facilities and our friendly helpful service and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here over a weekend whilst working in Darwin. Unfortunately, my visit was timed with the start of the wet season and the first cyclone was forecast that weekend. We decided to prepare by following the locals example, so we went to the pub and had a few drinks!

Seriously the hotel is as expected from Mantra, and the rooms are always spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the restaurant was sufficient. We ate out most nights, and the waterfront is 10 minutes walking, with Mitchell street only a block away.

Having 2 false fire alarms in one day, the second being at 11pm in the evening, during a cyclone warning, was another experience I can tick off!! but I suppose better to be safer than sorry!

Highlight of the visit was bumping into Nathan Sharpe in the main street. He was difficult to miss being 6 foot 6!! Good bloke and told my wife that he used to play a bit of sport.... what a dude!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Richard S,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities along with our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back should you be visiting the top end again.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing