We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had the perfect stay here, we had a three bedroom which had heaps of room, very clean and quiet, with a spectacular view. All the staff were outstanding with appearance and so very friendly. After a day of fishing the kitchen staff were more than happy to cook up our catch. Would definitely stay there again, loved it.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Meganpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Meganpops Fantastic review thanks for posting - great to read you had a successful fishing trip and we are always delighted to assist in storage and indeed cooking your catch!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here with our 9 year old daughter in a one bedroom apartment, with a rollaway in the lounge for her. We had a great view from our balcony, and the apartment had everything we needed. The Mantra is in easy walking distance from all restaurants in town. Just a couple of negatives, lack of any free wi fi, and the public computers were so poor we struggled just to send an email. Also we felt housekeeping left a little to be desired, on one occasion they had put just 2 mugs and 3 glasses through the dishwasher, and left them, and on another our apartment door had been left open. Tumble drier worse than useless.
However when you look at the other options in Darwin we feel this is one of the better places to stay. Would we stay again? Yes .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi MrMrsW50

Thanks for writing - always appreciated and delighted to hear most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction - I have however had a chat with Housekeeping regarding the use of the dishwasher for such a few items and only doing half the job!

Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Decided to stay here rather than one of the cheaper options and glad we did. Darwin hotels do seem to be a bit pricier than some other cities in Australia we were in except Uluru. The room was a nice size as was the bathroom. Had enough room to set one suitcase up on a stand, and park the others along the wall without getting crowded. Only one easy chair which is typical of a lot of hotels so I sat on the bed to read again.Bed was very comfortable and we found it very quiet in the hotel. Nice view of the water and the park along the water. Staff were a great help in getting hold of our tour company to confirm our booking and to direct us where to meet for our tours. If you go out the back door of the hotel to the next street and turn right there is a good grocery store in an indoor mall where you can get takeaway for breakfast and dinner. Also lots of restaurants as an option to eating in the hotel. We stayed here for two nights away for one night and then back for another two nights. Service as good with the second stay as with the first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi travellover795943

Thanks for the great review and feedback - delighted to hear the team were able to ensure your tour arrangements were on track.

Good luck with the rest of your travels!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

commercial breakfast, almost $40 for the buffet and is terrible. worse than a sizzler breakfast. and near $30 for continental... no thanks!
can walk down to the cafe's for half the price. highly recommend the "ducks nuts" cafe for breakfast instead!
the rooms are cleaned very good, the cleaning staff and very thorough and polite, however, rooms are basic and certainly overpriced for the cheap and dating furniture.
pool is terrible. completely shaded out, no sun area at all. tiles are falling off the pool walls. have to walk underground to get there too!
check in always a hassle. room never ready by check in time.
give it a miss and go hilton or novotel next door.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Austraveller_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello Austraveller_2222
Well it's day three on the job here for me at the Hotel and I see we certainly didn't deliver on all aspects of your recent stay experience with us so my sincere apologies to you for that.
If I can just clarify a couple of points the full breakfast buffet is $28 but you can actually upgrade your stay at checkin to include breakfast for an additional $21 a day. The hotel was actually refurbished around 12 months ago with the designers opting for soft furnishing and fabric coverings vs sleek and modern treatments. I too have noticed there is a couple of patches around the pool where the tiling has taken a dip so that's gone on my list. With regards to pool access so far I've discovered three ways to get there - via the elevator to the carpark as you mentioned but also through the bar and out and across the front of the hotel. We do provide areas of shading around and across the pool but also areas for sun - probably a little time of day dependant.
Thanks also for great comments regarding housekeeping always appreciated!
Kind Regards
Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Free upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment upon check in was a bonus. Spacious modern rooms and very clean. Slept like a log on all 4 nights :D Pool was nice, although in need of an upgrade ( tiles are falling off ). Very close to shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again, I think we have finally found our favourite accommodation in Darwin :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thanks for posting JCJ2008 and delighted to hear you've found a new favourite for Darwin!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
GM Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Good location, an easy walk to CBD. Staff were friendly and commenced communications before our arrival which was lovely. Water views were nice. Stayed just a night, and disappointed we didn't get a chance to try the pool which looked enticing. Comfy beds, good size rooms and bathroom. (Perhaps a small table with chairs could be good to sit and eat at if eating breakfast in room).

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AltonaDoubleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear AltonaDoublA,
Many thanks for your positive feedback which is most appreciated. It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back when you next visit the Top End!
Kind regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We chose the Mantra at either end of our Kakadu trip. First night we arrived late from Cairns and were up early for pickup the next morning. We slept lightly because of this, but also the pillows in the standard room were not great (not sure if there was a choice of pillows?) and the standard bed size is only a double. The size of the room was great - the bedroom was separate from the living/kitchen. Upon out return from Kakadu we were upgraded to the next room up (it was out honeymoon) which was much more comfortable. Bigger rooms, bigger bed, comfortable pillows. One of the best features of the room is a washing machine to wash all that desert dirt off!! This room has a view over the esplanade which was good.
Staff kept our bags in the luggage room while we were in Kakadu. The pool was lovely. We ate in the restaurant and had the seafood tower to share, which was amazing.
Overall, we had a great stay but would go for the upgraded room next time!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel - the rear backs onto Mitchell St which is noisy until late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear mattag,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Mantra on the Esplanade and we appreciate you taking time out to review your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed your room upgrade and our seafood tower in the restaurant! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £58 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing