We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

There's not much option when staying in Darwin, and this place is just fine. It's in a good location, the staff were pleasant and helpful. It's had a bit of tarting up (the bathrooms could do with more) and is perfectly adequate for 2-3 nights. But why would you stay longer than 2 nights in Darwin, anyway?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks for posting Mel1Sydney - I hope your two days were action packed and entertaining!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in may and had a city facing room, which was very comfortable and clean, however on the 4th night, the room next door to us was occupied by very noisy and rowdy people who partied very late into the night, we phoned the reception to complain and the reception person, went to there room to ask them to be quiet, but to no avail. the next morning they were asked to leave the hotel, the manager on hearing the complaint we made up graded us to a harbour view apartment on level 7 with amazing sunset views and also gave us a complimentary breakfast, he certainly went above and beyond and made our stay a fantastic one, i can't recommend them enough!

Room Tip: The outdoor spa unfortunately doesn't work properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Rob_melb

Thanks for taking the time to write and I've passed your compliment to the Manager on Duty that day. Glad you like our Harbour View room - sorry you had to experience the boorish behaviour of your original next door guests. We have a strict "No-Party" policy and will evict guests for breaches but again sorry you had to suffer them in the first place.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here , the rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The night life was in walking distance and the local market a short bus ride . The pool was lovely but lacked a bit of maintenance with some broken tiles. The hotel had a nice easy air about it which made for a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - otherwise you overlook the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello YorkBonBon

Thanks for posting and for your detailed assessment and loving the Five Circle rating!!. I'm delighted to advise we've actually got the swimming pool scheduled for resurfacing at the end of July - ironically we need dry weather to undertake the program so have been waiting since October to schedule it in such is life in the tropics!

We hope the rest of your travels go well.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Positives
- great location smack in the middle of the city and easy walk to harbour
- friendly service (ladies at check in did a good job)
- nice balcony view

Negatives
- expensive wifi, not acceptable for a serviced apartment!
- maintenance could be better - my dryer handle was broken and kitchen panel was falling off

Apartment units were not memorable or luxurious but competent and clean. Overall a good choice for a serviced apartment in Darwin.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Critical_eye1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Critical_eye1111

Thanks for taking the time to write we do enjoy a fantastic location and delighted to hear the team did a good job. With regards to Wi-Fi our infrastructure is owned and supplied by a third party (like many international hotel companies) therefore pricing is not within our control. We do however have two computers in our lobby available 24 hours a day that are free. Thanks also for noting the maintenance issues.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for 4 nights and found it to be very comfortable with excellent service. I had asked for a 'room with a view' which we had. On the 8th floor overlooking Darwin Bay - beautiful.
Whenever we had a request it was responded to efficiently and courteously. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: They did offer a buffet breakfast but we only used it once as we like to get out and try other cafes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_RockingRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Lisa_RockingRod

Great to have you guys up from Melbourne and thanks for the terrific review - come back in the "build-up" when we have fantastic stormy sunsets are great lightening displays!

Thanks again for posting.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

my partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the mantra. everything the room had to offer was excellent, the location to the city centre, local attractions and night life was all in walking distance, if not a short taxi ride away. the continental breakfast was to die for and the bar was a great little place to have a couple of relaxing cool bevvies. the staff were more than helpful with anything that was asked of them. we will definitely be coming back....a big thumbs up from us:)

Room Tip: make sure you book a room facing west with a balcony, because the sunset views are simply breath tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks amanda a - I think we do have one of the best locations in Darwin but I am a little biased. The team were delighted to read and share your feedback today also.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a rippa of a hotel. You can't get more central than this and it has everything you need. The rooms are 1 bedroom apartment style which are serviced daily. They are clean modern and have everything for the consummate business traveller or tourist.
Breakfast has a wide selection and quality is good. There's ample parking and the staff are friendly. Not much more I can stay except I'll be back here again.

Room Tip: I advise trying to get a room on the Esplanade side as there's backpacker style accommodation to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for the "rippa" of a review Buzzwald - appreciated! And we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
738 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £54 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing