We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

So unprofessional. Aircon was set on heat room not that clean. Price expensive, not what I expected, never again. You learn from mistakes. I walked in the room, very poor quality nothing what it explains in computer. Pool was of crap quality seriously it's a run down place.

Room Tip: Rooms not what I expected. Not that clean, as I entered the room, it had this mouldy smell. Then I o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jisella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi jisella I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your time with us. The team work really hard to ensure all guests have a great stay but clearly we didn't meet your expectations. All the best for your future stays on your travels.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    678
    264
    80
    39
See reviews for
256
657
103
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Service and so fourth was ok, yet very cold. The place is very cold to go to. Food was over priced and tried a little to hard to be trendy. Biggest gripe is the price for Internet. 28 bucks for 1 GB of data. When will bigger places deliver some service and incentive to come back. Can't help but think there are better value and warmer places in Darwin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 412conrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi 412conrad

Ok so let’s talk internet - in reality it's as annoying for me as it is for you but the bottom line is we don't own the infrastructure it's provided by a third party - which is fairly standard across the major hotel groups and dates back to cabled internet connections in all rooms which cost the third party substantial amounts to install they then subsequently migrated their contracts to wireless supply. They therefore control the pricing which as you highlighted is expensive. As a Travel Tip personally I always choose to operate independent network devices when travelling myself.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Efficient, friendly check in. Clean room, decor suits it's 4-4.5 star rating. Housekeeping friendly and knowledgable. Ordered room service (to watch with a movie), food quality excellent and very tasty - so I ordered dessert as we'll. only slight blip was food and beverage service attitude - couple encounters, with different team members - coffee, got a drink and room service order , it seemed a bit I was like putting them out to order, but the food made up for it. A perfect location for day tripping. Nice pool, no gym but you can use the other sister property mantra has which is a nice jog away. Heaps of natural light makes it feel like you're not in a hotel.
Good job mantra!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello Benjamin S

Thanks for the detailed review and I've also forwarded your "blip" comments to our F&B team to work through. We've recently added a bunch of new staff for the high season and some still need a bit of polishing - your feedback helps.

We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent a 3 day weekend here, enjoyed it thoroughly. This hotel is in a great location with all of Darwin City's tourist attractions within walking distance. Mitchell street eateries just behind, and the waterfront area a 15 minute quick stroll. Darwin has plenty to see and do, and The Mantra makes a great base to see them all from.

Our flight landed at 2am but the front desk staff were more than cheery when dealing with tired customers. We didn't expect the kitchen to be open of course, but we were still offered simple snack items such as sandwiches/wraps or salads and juice drinks.

Room was neat and tidy with the balcony views simply stunning, a very comfy bed and the air conditioner worked a treat. Bathroom looked a little tired, decor seemed a bit dated. Staff were all friendly, breakfast, cafe and dining area all very nice. Pool area spacious and enjoyable.

Definately returning and going to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks SC of Melbourne for taking the time to share your recent stay experience and appreciated the additional comments for the night team which I'll share with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 4 nights staying at the Mantra and had a wonderful experience. The staff are excellent, great pool very clean room.
The hotel is very centrally located and just about everything in the CBD or the esplanade is close to walk to.
A harbour view room is the best as it was fascinating watching all the shipping in the harbour but the best thing were the wonderful sunsets so visible from our room.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Barbara L

Who would have thought Darwin harbour could be so busy - I lived "in" for my first 3 months here and was continually amazed at the level of activity - but you are right the sunsets in this part of the world are truly impressive.

Thanks again for posting!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Mantra for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were helpful organising our wanderings around town & this is a great location to start from.
Restaurant is bright and served a very good light lunch & a good breakfast buffet with good service.
Watching the sun set over Larrakeyah was a good start to two weeks in the Kimberley.

Room Tip: Sunsets are spectacular from a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks happywanderer63 - I think you could safely say we have one of the best locations for viewing Darwin Sunsets from our Harbour View rooms!

Appreciate you writing and the team and I hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely large room overlooking Esplanade parks and Darwin Harbour. Close to all Mitchell Street action with walk through from rear of building. Nice bright restaurant with excellent food at reasonable cost (especially breakfast). Quick room service meals. Good size pool with plenty of shade.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Paul D

Thanks for writing - appreciated! I think you've pretty much captured what we have on offer perfectly. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing