We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful harbour views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful harbour views”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed here for a second visit after a trip to Bali. The first visit I was a little disappointed that we didn't remember that we had breakfast included with our booking with booking.com (now I am much more careful about booking through this site) and we weren't told when we booked in. Anyway, I posted a review of our experience which elicited a response from the manager.

As we were planning to travel via Darwin on our return trip, I thought it might be worth asking if they could do anything for us, to make up for our loss the first time around. The manager very kindly offered us a good discount on a room, which we accepted.

When we arrived we very pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a 1 BR Apartment on the top floor, which was very comfortable indeed.

The views from this hotel of the harbour are breathtaking, especially from the higher floors.

Also, the hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of the tourist district of Mitchell St, which was a new experience for tis Darwin girl as it was the first time I visited Darwin and didn't stay with friends or family.

The bar makes a good coffee and the buffet breakfast has plenty of options.

Given the effort that staff and management put in to ensuring we had a comfortable stay, I would certainly consider staying here again, you can't put a price on good customer service.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi geokult

Thanks for the opportunity to have you stay with us again and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our harbour view apartments - they do offer great views across the water and some pretty spectacular sunsets!

All the best for your future travels and pop back and see again sometime.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    657
    255
    77
    37
See reviews for
250
631
102
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Amazing totally unobstructed panoramic harbour view and first class housekeeping.

Apartment 618 was immaculate and appears to have been recently refurbished. Beds were comfortable and there was a choice of 2 pillow profiles. Bathrooms were classic and much more spacious than newer ones. Housekeeping was very efficient and thorough yet unobtrusive. We even came back to our apartment one afternoon to find the dishwasher emptied!

Our favourite part of the apartment was the generous 6 seat dining table positioned to capture the stunning harbour views day or evening. Unlike may other ocean front locations, Darwin Harbour is spectacular any time of the day or night.

The location is the best in Darwin IMO with the harbour walks, shopping and many Darwin attractions very close.

Our only criticism is that there could be an extra tv in one of the 3 bedrooms. It didn't make any difference to us but last time we stayed in a one bedroom apartment with 2 tvs so it seemed odd to just have 1 in a three bedroom apartment that is otherwise so well appointed.

Thank you Mike and Lisa for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying extra for a high floor premium harbour front apartment because that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Pamela v Thanks for writing such a fabulous review and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. The staff and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Mantra Esplanade is a nice hotel in a convenient location. Some aspects of the hotel are a little tired but overall quite acceptable. The Mantra is located on the Esplande and offers ocean view rooms with excellent harbor views.

The Mantra is located in a convenient location a street away for the main street - Mitchell St. The Mantra is within easy walking distance to both Coles and Woolworths supermarkets and many restaurants, bars and take away food shops are at your doorstep. The local cinema is also just around the corner in Mitchell St.

Be warned though....city view rooms can bear the brunt of the noise of the busy and vibrant Mitchell St and also the live music and party atmosphere from the Backpackers accommodation and Shenanigan Pub directly behind the Mantra. So unless you like to party or are a heavy sleeper I would recommend requesting a sea view room at the front of the hotel.

The staff at the Mantra are friendly, professional and are happy to accommodate requests where possible i.e storing of luggage and late checkout.

The food and room service provided by Finz restaurant is reasonable but nothing to write home about....but okay if you a need a night in.

There is a large area of parkland directly opposite the Mantra which is great for walking along the harbor-side or your daily run. The pool is not huge but adequate. The Darwin waterfront precinct with more restaurants, bars, parkland and the wave pool is with walking distance (if you are enthusiastic) or a short cab ride.

Buses can be caught at the side of Woolworths to travel to Casuarina shopping centre if you need a large shopping center fix. I believe a Casuarina shopping center courtesy bus will also pick up at the front of the Mantra but best to check times / availability with reception.

If you need a comfortable hotel room or apartment in the heart of the city then the Mantra is worth a look. The larger Mantra Pandanas is also located in the city and is a nice hotel if Mantra Esplanade is booked out.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room between level 3-8 at front of hotel for best views and to avoid noise at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeeker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi SunSeeker S

Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review and including some great tips!.

The team and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have recently returned from our umpteenth trip to Darwin and our normal 14 days at the Mantra on the Esplanade. This hotel has never failed to reach our high expectations. The management have always been pleasant, helpful and organised and you could not find more respectful and polite staff anywhere. The harbour view apartments are excellent, the pool divine and everywhere is clean.The whole experience is wonderful and we are already making plans for our next stay. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax and indulge and with restaurants and nightlife within 2 minutes walk who can ask for anything else. from Anthony and Marianna

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms are superb. In the evening sit on the balcony sipping on a drink watching the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Marianna G

Thanks for again choosing us for your Darwin stay A and M. Much appreciated and also for the detailed feedback and great review!

The staff and I look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a short 4 night stay at the Mantra a few weekends ago. A nice hotel, not cheap but a bit old and trired around the edges. I couldn't say the room wasn't comfortable but little things like the bathrooms - servicable but a bit old with the shower in the bath. The pool has quite a few tiles missing and looks a little shabby.Close to the main strip with nighlife, restaurants etc, but not too noisy.
We did however have a noise problem on our first night when there was obviously a dispute with a customer on our floor (sounded like it was right outside our door) that seemed to take a long time to settle- lots of shouting , foul language (from the guest being evicted /arrested) . Could have been handled better. Fortunately, was a one of, although there was noise from the industrial bins being empited outside a early one morning too.

Certainly a comfortable and central place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side. Will probably cost more, but less noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balifan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello Balifan2013

Thanks for taking the time to write - always appreciated. With regards to the noise issue you experienced we did have an unfortunate "domestic incident" involving an overseas couple resulting in their expulsion. The Police tried for around an hour to calm the situation but to no avail. (From our perspective we would have preferred them to be removed immediately but I guess the attending officers were dealing with a difficult situation.) Please accept our sincere apologies for that. I'm also pleased to advise our swimming pool is scheduled for resurfacing at the end of July.

Thanks again for writing and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is strategically located right in the heart of the city. It is walking distance to many wonderful spots in Darwin such as the restaurants and clubs along Mitchell St., Waterfront, Cullen Bay and even the famed Night Market. The esplanade is picturesque with an excellent view of the ocean and an excellent walking or jogging trail for those wanting to be fit. It leads to the deck chair open air cinema. It was also the venue of the annual Greek Glenti festival.
My room is a serviced apartment-type accommodation complete with cooking facilities. It has 2 wall mounted TV's, one in the lounge room and one in the main bedroom.
The only downside is that this hotel doesn't have free wi-fi not even in the lobby area.
Check-in and check-out is a breeze.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask a room that faces the ocean to enjoy sunset view otherwise it could be noisy if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beng d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Beng d

Great Darwin travel review and thanks for highlighting our location and providing some great tips. As you mentioned we don't have free Wifi but we do have two free terminals located in the lobby with 24 hour access which are free for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a total of 3 nights over here. Overall it was a great experience. The staff were polite and well-trained, offering to arrange alternatives for us on different occasions.

We requested for a room at the higher level with the sea view and we were thrilled when it was offered to us.

Rooms are clean, view was superb, staff were great. Excellent location as well - 1min walk to Mitchell Street. Had a comfortable and great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Wa15

Delighted to have you pop down and stay from Singapore and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We do have a great location here in Darwin and the staff take great pride in ensuring the best guest experience possible.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing