We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HAPPY WITH OUR STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“VERY HAPPY WITH OUR STAY”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Really good service from the moment we arrived, the staff were fantastic and very helpful. Great location right on the Esplanade, only a short walk to a heap of great restaurants.

Only had breakfast at the Hotel and it was fine, pretty standard sort of set up. Have no problems recommending and staying again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rastus_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for postings Rastus_B always appreciated and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    680
    264
    80
    39
See reviews for
258
659
103
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed overnight with a group touring party and found the room comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was good. The room was looking a bit "tired" and it appears time for some renovations to be undertaken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Jim F

Thanks for posting and glad to hear the team were friendly and helpful and the Chef will be happy to hear you liked his food! I've also noted your renovation comments - useful for my own future planning with the company for the property.

We hope to be of service to you again sometime.

Kind Regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for a 3 night stay recently in a one bedroom apartment with cityview. Unfortunately we were put on only the 1st floor, which overlooks the rear of an adjacent backpackers' hostel which is very noisy at night, especially on the weekend. Mitchell St is immediately behind the hotel, so access is easy with the hotel having it's own exit to an arcade leading there.

Parking is only a slight issue at this hotel - you can choose to pay $15 a day for the basement hotel secure carpark, or if you're lucky you might score one of the free parks in the hotel driveway, which are few and far between. On the weekends, on street parking is free, but you'll need to buy a parking ticket on weekdays. About $1.70 an hour.

Our room was comfortable with a queensize bed (with TV in the bedroom), sitting room with another TV, kitchenette, and washer/dryer in the bathroom. The bathroom shower was looking very tired, with dirty and chipped tiles/grouting. Cold tap in the shower made an awful sound when turned up and required some adjusting to have a screech-free shower! The fan is very loud, and even when turned off at the switch, stops after a delay. Couch was looking a bit dusty and worn. The balcony was nice for sitting (if you could stand the noise, and were interested in the goings-on at the rear entrance of the backpackers!!). House keeping was OK, although cleaning wasn't as thorough as I would have liked.

Reception were helpful and efficient, without being overly friendly. Arranging a late checkout was OK. We didn't try the restaurant or the lobby bar, but there were several people availing themselves of the service. Pushbikes were available for rent from reception too. There is a beauty shop in the hotel lobby. Didn't try the pool, but looked inviting.

I accidentally left some clothes behind in the closet, and when I rang the hotel, they found my stuff and sent it in the post.

A nice place to stay in Darwin, due to it's central location. For the dry season, prices are not cheap for what you get, but that's tourist season for you. Time for a freshening up though especially for the bathrooms

Room Tip: Try to get a hotel room on an upper level, with a balcony facing the esplanade - probably quieter an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Kittycat888

Thanks for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay experience and your feedback regarding bathrooms - they are on my list! Great to also hear the team located your items and you'll soon have them back. I've also passed your comments to my Executive Housekeeper for review and to share with her team.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed for 7 nights in a one bedroom apartment at Mantra on the Esplanade. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The apartment was a good size with the kitchen having been updated. The sofa was tatty and needed recovering and the bathroom/laundry was overdue for a renovation. The lounge/dining area was dimly lit which made it difficult for night time reading and work. Otherwise the apartment was comfortable and well presented. We were disappointed that the "free" parking was limited to 13 outdoor spaces, 2 of which were for disabled drivers, which were not always available leaving us at the mercy of the ticket inspectors on the Esplanade and side street. The building has an underground car park at a fee of $15 per day. We were also surprised that in this day and age, and given the competition and price of the accommodation, the internet was not free. Although the location is excellent we probably wouldn't choose to stay here again as we didn't feel that we got value for our money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are noisy. We stayed at the front which had a lovely view and some light traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kivmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello kivmas of Adelaide

Thanks for choose us for your recent vacation in the NT and delighted to hear the team look after you and you enjoyed the spaciousness of our One Bedroom Apartments. Thanks also for the feedback regarding the bathrooms - I'm building my case for future renovations so that certainly assists me. We do as you mentioned provide limited free parking but also have adjacent a significant amount of parking that is free after 5pm and all day weekends etc. We also have free internet terminals situated in our lobby for guests to use.

Thanks again for writing.

Kind Regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a one bedroom apartment on the seventh floor for three nights. Although there's no 'wow' factor here, the room was exceptionally clean and the location extremely convenient to everything. The lounge was a little tired and the bed very hard. The harbour view from the room was great and we were able to walk everywhere or easily catch a bus to wherever we wanted to go including Mindil markets and Fannie Bay. Breakfast in Finz Restaurant was good but the same every morning. The compendium contained very little information and reception staff were unable to help with tourist-type enquiries. The housekeeping staff need to be congratulated on their attention to detail. Territory night was an experience that we don't wish to repeat but the room was very quiet on other nights.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on a high floor with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Meryl J

Thanks for posting and the particular mention for the Housekeeping staff - they were delighted to share that and are really the unsung heroes of any hotel particularly in high season. I've also passed on your note re tourist-type enquires to the Front Office team - we've a number of new staff who are yet to be fully orientated on available activities but should be up to speed in a few days.

Thanks again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Apart from being a nice comfortable place,the Mantra on the Esplanade is conveniently located within easy walking distance to everything located in the Darwin city precinct. Not too far to walk to the waterfront, wave pool or to fish feeding either. Pleasant parks with footpaths to walk in. Some noise from the eateries and bars in Mitchell street, but not too bad. The staff were friendly. We had an apartment type of room, complete with washing machine, dryer and kitchen. Handy after being on tour for 10 days. Would suggest taking the bus to and from Mindil Markets, as is a fair walk from the Mantra. Can recommend this as a good and convenient place to stay when in Darwin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skryppy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for posting a great review Skryppy7 it's appreciated and I think you've captured our location and available amenities perfectly.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

pros as mentioned are the location and cleanliness
however..here goes..
We paid the extra for a 'panoramic' ocean view apartment but being on the 3rd floor it was a partial ocean view at best, (and close enough to the ground to be scary on territory night) The bathroom door lock did not work, the lounge looked stained and old, the hallways are smelly
The spa was cold , the pool looked like it needed filling up. Wifi was expensive , slow and patchy. (it was better at the pub, and in Katherine national park).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralurbanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello ruralurbanQ

I was disappointed to read you didn't enjoy your time with us and I've passed your comments on to Housekeeping and Maintenance so thank you for identifying those particular issues. I've also logged your internet experience with the provider particularly the bit about better reception in the "national park" Not good form.

Again I appreciate you writing and hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
General Manager
Mantra on the Esplande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Property: Mantra on the Esplanade
Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Featuring an alfresco dining area, guests can relax and enjoy a variety of dishes and a host of cold beverages to choose from.Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing