We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Suite. Beautiful harbour view. Great staff. Great food. Comfy beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My best friend & I shared a lovely two bedroom, two bathroom corner suite on 7th floor when we traveled to Darwin in June '14. I'd spoken to the helpful Brighley on Reception before we got there & she continued to be helpful during our ten days. I'd stayed there before & loved it & it was even better this time. Hotel entrance is spacious & inviting. Our suite was huge, nicely set up & the view was really wonderful, out over the wide, flat expanse of harbour. I enjoyed watching the Australian Patrol boats set off & return hours later. We sat on the balcony almost every evening with a glass of red, watching those glorious, famous sunsets. The beds were very comfortable & housekeeping made them up every day & changed towels when needed. We had lovely striped pool towels too ;) The kitchen was stocked with everything one needed to prepare & serve meals. Hotel hallways are wide & nicely furnished. The restaurant & bar were comfortable, with very helpful staff. We enjoyed our risotto dinner in the restaurant & loved the yummy, chicken burger for lunch which we ate outside under a huge umbrella... afterwards returning to the pool ;-) which is nice - pool tiling is being fixed later this year, we heard. Good things: Our room air con needed attention & the fix-it man was there the same day. Not so good: buses which pull up to drop off/pick up guests, leave their motors running for a long time & when you're by the pool it's noisy & smelly. Best things: great view, good beds, friendly staff, good food.

Room Tip: Corner rooms/suites up the pool end have the best sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks Katipops for the wonderfully detailed review and delighted to read you enjoyed your extended 10 day stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,406 - 1,412 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were looking forward to some R&R after spending a week living out of a camper exploring Kakadu and booked the Mantra due to its good reviews and location. We had a bumpy start when we arrived a bit early and so our room wasn't ready..they stored our bags and said they would ring when room was ready. By 1:45 no phone call so we headed back and waited in the foyer, at 2.15 after watching others allocated their rooms we asked again and were gratefully given our room. They seemed to be quite understaffed with only 2 staff doing check ins and quality control once a room was ready to be checked after cleaning. We got a room with a view of the esplanade which was lovely! From this point on things looked up! Nice clean, comfy room! A huge relief! I do think that the guest information books require an upgrade as limited information is supplied and the books look outdated and tired! We enjoyed happy hour from 5-6 on both evenings and had a great value for money buffet breakfast one morning and a beautiful evening meal at Finz restaurant on our last night. The staff were lovely and very attentive and the food great! Unfortunately our only other gripe was discovering the pool was to be closed for maintenance on our last day...it's a lovely pool area and we were saddened to not be able to use it apart from for an hour on our day of arrival. We did go up to the sister hotel and use their pool but it was cold and very shaded by the buildings so not as nice. We understand the maintenance needed doing, but question it being emptied on the last day of the show long weekend during high season! All in all, would we stay again? Yes, most definitely!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank K8teerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for writing K8teerin - I actually went and checked a couple of our in-room compendiums following your feedback and certainly agree it's time for a bit of a content update so have that underway as I write. Also with regards to the pool we did agonise over the date, school holidays, show weekend, high season etc but in the end we just had to choose one and start the process. So next time you pop by we'll have a lovely new pool!

Thanks again for writing - Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed 1 night after a bus tour,and arrived quite late and was upgraded, which was nice but hard to appreciate as I was leaving early the next day.
I had a view but of course it was night time.
The room was very nice,clean,modern,but no free brekky and no free wifi.
Why dont they offer this?.To me this is a reason to chose one hotel over another.
Also the rooms arent very sound proofed.
Again,why...? Isnt a good nights sleep the main reason you pay a lot for a hotel?
But it is in a good position and away from the noisy main street.

Room Tip: harbour view room nice but not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 557jill557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi 557jill557

Nice to read we'd managed to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and sorry that we couldn't provide you with any additional "free" things. I guess it's always a bit of a balance between guests such as yourselves and our shareholders in terms of what we can and can't achieve.

Hopefully we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for one night following our camper van trip. The hotel was over priced for the standard of quality received. Wifi was not free, there was no free water in the room. The staff were helpful on the desk, but only when asked. No information was provided to us when we checked in. There seemed to be a lot of noise in the morning for some reason.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayday25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello mayday25

Thanks for taking the time to write and I'm sorry you felt we didn't provide you with enough information on check-in. We have a relatively new team in that area so are currently working to up skill their local knowledge. Your feedback is a valuable teaching aid.

Thanks again for writing.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for a 7 day holiday June 2014 with views overlooking the harbour, the room itself was very comfortable and very clean along with the majestic views of the Darwin harbour, I can not comment enough from the time we booked in to the time we booked out, every thing was of not a problem to any staff members thru to the manager, (and the unit was cleaned daily) we had breakfast on the last day very enjoyable, bookings thru the front desk was never a problem and accurate, the only event we had was the wife lost her eternity ring over the balcony and was very saddened by this event, thru the course of the day all staff involved done all that they could do to assist in locating this missing item, we returned from a day trip and things were not looking promising, then approx. 5pm the room phone rang it was front desk stating that her ring had been located, I never seen my wife move so fast and let alone the biggest smile on her face, Thankyou all and many thanks to the gentleman who handed it in after finding it in his work boot 3 levels down. We would not hesitate in rebooking this hotel next time we return to Darwin ( In addition communicating with other travellers on our days out I am very glad we stayed here as 98% of others were not happy with where they stayed).

Room Tip: pay the extra and have a harbour view, at least level 5 or higher,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Peter L

Thanks for posting such a great review the team were delighted to read your comments and obviously we were particularly happy to be able to reunite the special ring with your wife.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this apartment as we wanted a good breakfast before our motorhome trip. With 3 kids the apartment was great, large, 2 bathrooms. Decor is a bit dated but that never concerns me. The reception staff were very helpful, assisting with many small things from maps, directions to booking taxis. Good position with shopping strip just behind the apartment and grassy park/esplanade across the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank www5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the great review www5 and delighted to read the team got you sorted on a range of things. We hope the motorhome trip went well!

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour. The room and view were magnificent. The hotel is in a great location-easy to walk to shops and eateries. We had two complaints. One-check in staff were not friendly or informative. We received no information about wifi, breakfast, dining options, or parking. There was also no information in the binder in the room on dining, activities or room service. Complaint number 2-we were trying to enjoy some wine and cheese on the balcony of the room but the tour buses were coming one after another to drop guests. Once guests were off the buses they remained with engines running for at least another 15 minutes before relocating. VERY noisy and poor air quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Dana S

Thanks for taking the time to write and I was disappointed to read you hadn't been subjected to the reception teams normal full spiel on all our various bits and pieces so apologies for that and I've forwarded your comments to the team for review. With regards to tour buses I can only assume they had left there motors running while they dropped individual guests off but still had further people on board and therefore needed to keep the air-conditioning systems running. It would be very uncomfortable for those remaining on-board without airflow. I will however discuss the issue with the various companies that frequent our location.

Kind Regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £55 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing