We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed here for one night on the way to a trip to Kakadu and one night on the way back. On our first stay, we flew overnight from Singapore and arrived at 6am and were very impressed to be given a room as soon as we arrived (particularly since we'd been upgraded to a better suite). This was a life saver as we hadn't slept all night, were shattered and not sure how we'd occupy ourselves for a few hours from 6am in Darwin. In general, I found this to be a really good, safe choice of hotel with nice rooms, good service and a reasonable swimming pool. As previous postings have said, the wi-fi is a rip off, particularly in this day and age, and I also thought breakfast was overpriced and of average quality. I have not rated it excellent because of these factors and also because, for the price, it isn't a particularly stunning or exciting hotel and I wouldn't have wanted to stay for much longer but I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in Darwin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chick1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

“Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon”. Regards, Sacha A'Bell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,645 - 1,651 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

The Mantra on the Esplanade is the most central place in Darwin to stay. The airport shuttle terminal is at the rear of it , the main street is less than 50 m away with Coles, Cafes , Bars and ATM's. The rooms are great , we had a suite which had a small kitchen and balconcy overlooking the Wharf and ocean . It is quite modern for Darwin standards and I would not hestitate to recommend it but look for a good deal on wotif or similar sites.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Sacha A'Bell - General Manager, Mantra On The Esplanade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had three wonderful nights at the Mantra on the 7th floor overlooking the harbour.
Meals were great - not may hotels service eggs benedict for breakfast as normal. Bedding, bathroom facilities, neatness and courtesy of all staff wonderful - definitely recommend to to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Blackburn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. regards, Sacha A'Bell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I got a great price $130 per night for bed and full buffet breakfast. I stayed for four nights and could have stayed another four if I didn't have to get back to work. I travelled up from Brisbane and unfortunately the only flights that Virgin operate are during early hours of the morning... and I mean early. I arrived around 1am and didn't get into the hotel until 2.30am. Unfortunately though I had to pay for a room or I would've been without somewhere to rest until 2pm as they don't have a day room. So of course the same deal on the last day. I would have had to been out of the room by 10am and waited all day before my 2.15 am flight the next day.

Now about the hotel - it's great. One of the better hotels in Darwin and definately the one with the best location. Just out the back door is the Mitchell Street Mall. Great Singapore noodles in the little alleyway! Within walking distance of most sites including parlament house and the oil tunnels. The beauty salon 'Carolines' did me a special deal for a bit of pampering - back, head and neck massage combined with facial, 1.5 hrs $100. Well worth it. Another relaxing thing to do is pop down to the wave pool near the harbour (opposite the oil tunnels). I'm no kid, but I loved it!

Rooms are clean and well presented. The breakfast is worth the $30. Lots of variety and served nice and hot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Sacha A'Bell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed for two separate nights while transitting to other destinations. On arrival we were upgraded to one bedroom suites, on both occasions. The rooms were clean, spacious and modern.
The room service menu had a wide variety and the food was delicious and delivered with s smile.
We even had a late checkout and were not disturbed early by housekeeping staff.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I'd recommend this hotel, it's a great place to stay on Darwin!


Great place to stay in Darwin

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachandLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Sacha A'Bell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Regardless of what other people say, this hotel was great, on arrival we were up graded to a suite with fantastic views, the rooms are very clean and well presented. The hotel is not tired or in need or a refurb at all. The only slight issue we had was the pool was full of leaves. other than that a very good hotel !
( and the very annoying road works outside, but thats not the hotels' fault)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager0001, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent saty. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards, Sacha A'Bell, General Manager - Mantra On The Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed for three nights and unfortunately were really unhappy with this hotel.

The hotel has a tired, shabby air - in our room there was minimal, scuffed, 'ikea' type furniture, the headboard of the bed has a large burn in it, the curtains were stained and town and one bedside lampshade was torn also. Notification of this to reception was ignored. I would not expect this from a hotel that is rated as 4.5 star on it's website. We had booked as a romantic break - the dirty and shabby room did not create a romantic feeling! We may as well have saved the money and booked a decent three star.

The other thing was that we had two separate, but consecutive bookings. Our first booking included breakfast, and we believed our second did also. It transpired that the second did not. However, on checking into the breakfast room for breakfast, the staff allowed us to eat, then at completion of our meal advised that our rate did not include breakfast and that we would be charged $57.00 for this. Why not advise us of this before we ate, therefore allowing us the choice? I was really unhappy with this.

Good points - reception area looks nice, the daily housekeeping service was efficient and thorough, and the location is very handy for town.

However, overall - rooms three star, service two star. This hotel should not be allowed to market itself as a 4.5 star establishment. Stay at Crowne Plaza for the price instead.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyblush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £58 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. Accommodation options include hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms. Telegraph Eating House & Bar is conveniently located within the hotel and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing