We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desserts”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Desserts”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the desserts were particularly tasty. Location is good with views over the harbour and the hotel is an easy walking distance to the Mitchell Street shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    515
    374
    144
    64
See reviews for
240
518
146
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The only thing going for this hotel is the location. And I'd be willing to trade that off for a better hotel.

I stayed here for four nights for a wedding, as did many of my extended family.

The problems:
- Décor is very, very tired (maybe this is why most of the people staying here are 80+).
- Swipe cards very rarely worked. In fact, almost every time we returned to our fifth floor apartment we had to go back down to reception to reactivate our swipe card. Very, very annoying.
- Hit and miss staff, some friendly, some utterly rude.
- Dropped off some pants for dry-cleaning. Was not told until picking them up that the dry-cleaning service they use was closed.
- Multiple messages from other family members not staying at hotel were left with reception. Not a single one was passed on to us.
- Drink prices are excessive at the bar
- Buffet breakfast was terrible, and staff were not restocking as food ran out
- Sofa bed provided for extra adults/children in the room was SO uncomfortable, barely slept the whole time.
- Internet is not included

Overall, look elsewhere. You'd be better off staying at one of the popular backpackers than here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atildesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are dissappointed to learn that your experience did not meet your expecations.

The service issues that you have encountered are certainly not the normal feedback that is provided by the guests of the hotel and we apologise for what you have encountered.

We are pleased to advise that complimentary internet is available on the Apple Mac computers located in the lobby of the hotel. Complimentary Wi-fi is also provided in the public areas of the hotel for a period of 30 minutes.

The hotel is rated 4.5 stars under the AAA Tourism rating scheme that operates in Australia.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel is scheduled to commence refurbishment in 2011. All hotel guest rooms will be refurbished to the new Novotel global standards. The bathrooms in the hotel will also be updated at this time.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great rooms, much bigger than I expected. Rates were very reasonable. Nicely located, waking distance to MItchell Street. Meals were good. Free car parking is nice. Only frustrating part was slow lifts! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The rooms at the Novatel Atrium Darwin were very disappointing they are in need of a major refit. There were lights not working, walls badly marked, curtains and carpets stained. We were there for 5 nights and the bathroom floor did not seem to be cleaned once. On arrival back from a days excursion we found the door to our room had not been closed when the cleaner had finished her very brief clean. Luckily nothing was missing from our room. Reception was notified immediately.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are concerned about the security incident which occurred with your room and have taken the matter very seriously. Please be assured that relevant measures have been taken in order to prevent any future occurrences.

Your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room are also concerning to the hotel, as this is not the normal feedback that is provided. We apologise for what has occurred in your room.

We are pleased to advise that the hotel is scheduled to commence refurbishment in 2011. All hotel guest rooms will be refurbished to the new Novotel global standards. The bathrooms in the hotel will also be updated at this time.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Excellent service from the night duty staff - my toddler and i arrived very late at night due to flight issues, and were leaving early the next morning. Mandy at the desk processed our paperwork very efficiently, and Rick the night porter entertained my toddler to help me to get organized. I was assisted with my bags up to my room, and was again given assistance a few hours later when checking out. Everything was done with a smile and was not an issue for the staff - they are an asset to the organization. Lovely spacious rooms with window seats with a great view!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2011

In all our stay was ok. The rooms themselves where pretty good but the bathrooms
not. Both bathrooms we have needed a good scrubbing there was mould which I know I your climate can be hard to control but still doable. A good rule of thumb is clean the corners and the middle will take care of itself. The restaurant wasn't as good as I expect in a Novotel. Would I stay again probably, the location was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Although we booked a room overlooking the ocean, room 526 3 months before arriving, we were put into 503 wthout a view! on complaining we were booked into 526 for the seond and third nights. Next morning when we told them we were ready to move, we were told that in our absence our luggage would be taken to 506. On returning to the reception that afternoon we were told that 506 was no longer available as it had been booked out again the previous midnight!!
Now we were offered 217 again with a limited view of trre tops of trees. We refused this and finally they came up with room 426 which we finally accepted.
In the restaurant there was equal confusion.
This treatment from a first class hotel is in our opinion not acceptable. I n fact we are very dissapoited with the teatment we received from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are disapointed to learn of your experience in the hotel. The level of service that you have provided is not the standard level of service that is provided in the hotel.

I would be pleased to be able to discuss your stay with you further should you wish. Please contact me on 08 8941 0755 at your earliest convenience should this be suitable.


Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing