We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U2 - Luxury Apartment, Great Views and Good Location”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“U2 - Luxury Apartment, Great Views and Good Location”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment with Novotel and on arrival were lucky to be upgraded to the new building next door, The U2. There is no reception in the U2 so all requests etc need to go through the Novotel next door. Our apartment was on the 11th floor with water views. All bedrooms were large and the kitchen, dining and lounge area were also very spacious. It was well furnished with modern/ new furniture. There were also two bathrooms and a washing machine and dryer. The staff at the Novotel were excellent. They were happy to help with all requests. The location was great, just around the corner from shopping, restaurants and the mall. It's approximately a 15 minute walk to the WW11 Storage Tunnels and the waterfront/wharf area. We enjoyed our 5 night stay and would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    521
    376
    146
    65
See reviews for
241
527
148
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Booked a standard room for two nights and a Superior room for three. Rooms were not clean, the initially offered 'Superior room' had a hole in the carpet and stained curtains. Staff did not seem empowered to help and deputy manager had to be called. He did his best but overall we were not impressed with the hotel. Air con did not work well and the engineers were struggling to fix it daily. Very dated public area. Dirty and small showers. Dirt around carpet edges and on any are with a ledge (plug sockets etc). Most staff seemed uninterested although the deputy manager and one receptionist did their best. Would never stay in a Novotel again. We did see rooms in hotel next door where friend were staying and they were far superior.

Room Tip: We didn't see a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a week's stay in the Novotel Darwin Atrium. The rooms were tidy and the service provided by all staff that were came in contact with was friendly and helpful. We found the location of the hotel central for our needs and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 509teri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

This was the place to be in the 80s I hear. It's getting a little old but all over its really not that bad. We had breakfast there which was expensive but all hotel breakfasts are.

Close to the main drag with shops and plenty of restaurants. I'd stay there again but not if I had to pay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The service was excellent. Deirdre took time to direct me to great eateries and sights and greeted me by name. They also accommodated my requests and made an individual breakfast for me. Downside was noisy air conditioner and fan thati had to have on all night due to humidity and heat. Even set at 18 I struggled to keep cool. Not a great choice in pillow and hard bed. Hot in corridors, but I suppose this is to be expected with the open layout and the fact heat rises and I was on the top floor. Nice enough but not spectacular by any means. Service was the attraction.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide_girl_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

There must be better value in Darwin. I would certainly try somewhere else next time. Room service messed up the most simple of orders. The in-room phone didn't work and I had to call downstairs on my mobile. Despite assurances, the phone was not fixed. The smorgasbord breakfast was average at best. I had stayed there previously, but will not ever again. It is not up to the standard of other Accor hotels in which I have previously stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nevermore319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have stayed at many Novotels, and this was the worst by far - it just did not deliver brand expectations.

CONs
Our air conditioning did not work properly the first night - moisture gathered on the ceiling and was dripping onto the bed by morning
Reported broken hair dryer to hotel for immediate maintenance, was never fixed
No Novotel signature pillow options in stock
Fitness centre not on site

PROs
Friendly staff, although only some were competent
Decent restaurant food and good wine happy hour at the bar
Location by the esplanade

Needless to say the cons far outweighed the pros, and I would not recommend this Novotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Alex S,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincere apology for your experience.

I have discussed your remarks with my maintenance manager for action to follow up. Please be rest assure new procedure is in place to prevent future re-occurrence.

Thank you again and we hope we could welcome you back at Novotel Darwin.

Kind Regards
Jacky Cheung
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing