We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, parking if you are lucky”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Basic hotel accommodation, comfortable bed. Bed light only on one side and the same again with a bedside table.

The bathroom definitely needs some attention with multiple areas of paint peeling on the ceiling. Areas of mould around the base of the shower.

If you want parking the reception staff told me it was first in best dressed. If parking was full too bad, park on the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Alison H,

Thanks you for your feedback and glad that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel on the Esplanade.
I do like to extend my personal apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the state of the bathroom and car parking situation and you will be pleased to know that we have secured extra access cards to the undercover car park next door which will assist in resolving the inconvenience caused due to the parking.

I will personally speak with the maintenance team and will attend to the concerns raised with promptness and will ensure that we avoid any future occurrences.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another chance to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Darwin CBD
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, room was small and the shower was absolutely tiny. It was a curtain shower and the shower head blasted water straight out of the shower onto the bathroom floor. The aircon leaked all over the floor with a very annoying dripping sound. Only good part was the breakfast in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Chelsea H,

Greatly appreciate your feedback and allow me to extend my sincerest apologies regarding the bathroom and leaking air conditioning, some of the big challenges being in tropical climate is that the air conditioning in the rooms never gets turned off we still have a very proactive preventive maintenance plan in place where air conditioning units in the rooms are checked constantly. Please accept my apologies that we failed to pick up on the leaking air conditioning.

I am also disappointed to hear that you found our room small as the standard rooms are almost 20 M2 and one of the bigger rooms in the Darwin market. We also provide a wider choice of accommodation with our Junior Suites almost 27 m2.

I sincerely thank you for the feedback and hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went above and beyond to give the best service possible and staff where very helpful with all our requests. Atrium not at it's best when we where there but this did not detract from our stay, the breakfasts where very good, with a good selection and dishes were replaced quickly when running down. Rooms clean with plenty of space. Would like to thank assistant manager Deirdre for all the help she gave us during our stay. We liked it that much that we went back later in our stay in Darwin for another night.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a front facing room, good views of the comings and goings in the harbour
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Philip T,

Greatly appreciate your king words regarding the Hotel and the staff especially Deirdre, I will share your comments with the team as I am sure this will serve as a huge encouragement to all of us as we continuously try and alleviate our service standards.

From the team at Novotel we also look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JSee7214
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The staff at this hotel were great, the rooms a bit dated and tired, there has been some token refurbishment recently, but below par. The breakfast is awful! I would suggest to eat at one of the Cafe's around the corner on Mitchell Street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Jeremy N,

Thank you for providing some invaluable feedback and greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff at the Hotel.

We do have a very extensive breakfast offering including healthy options as will organics and I am disappointed to hear that you did not find the offering appealing for that I would like to extend my apologies; we are in the process of adding more variety to the breakfast especially cooked to order eggs selection.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back and hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Room is adequate and clean. Staff very receptive. Lifts are the slowest on earth, realised when key didn't work on forth floor room at the end of corridor, 2 days...! Room service good after 9pm, only if you like potato chips/ wedges. Restaurant has limited choice. Bar shares it's staff with the restaurant...!? The room automated alarm was faulty, at 3am me and my manager were not impressed, both occasions!
Good luck, hope your stay is better than ours...!?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bbbubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Maggie B,

Thanks for your feedback, please let me extend my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the lack of choice in the restaurant menu and the concerns with the automated alarm, I will personally investigate both issues and will rectify with promptness.

We are in the process of changing our menu and have incorporated a good selection of local specialities and would love to get your feedback on your return trip.

We hope that you give us another chance to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 36 in Darwin
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range: £62 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing