We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Novotel stay”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good Novotel stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed two nights then, away for two nights and back for two nights. We felt quite comfortable each time, in clean and spacious rooms. Had one meal in the restaurant, good food and service. Special mention about Jess in reception. She is a bright, cheerful and friendly person, and very helpful. Jess is a credit to the Novotel. The central location of the Novotel gives easy acess to Mitchell and Smith Streets, as well as other city precinct places. The pool, although the water was a bit on the cool side, was a pleasant place to spend some time during the heat of the afternoon. Altogether, a handy place to stay, can recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skryppy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Skryppy7,

Thanks for a great feedback and glad you enjoyed the location as well as the other services in the Hotel, I will definitely share your feedback with Jess and the rest of the team and I am personally proud to be working with a very professional staff at the Hotel.

Hope to welcome you back at the Novotel Darwin in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    521
    376
    146
    65
See reviews for
241
527
148
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice hotel with lovely views of the harbour (if you're on the right side), friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a suite, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. It's also in a great location and is very close to the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank doctorjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is good, but not excellent. I had junior suite, well appointed except for the bathroom which is looking decidedly tired. Bed was good, meals are average. Cost is high in the dry season. I have stayed in better for less

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Frank S,

Thanks and appreciate your feedback, glad to hear that you found the junior suite comfortable, also disappointing to hear that you found the food offerings average as we have just introduced our new seasonal menu and are receiving very positive feedback, I will share your comments with the chef as will give us the opportunity to improve on the food offering.

Overall we hope you had a good stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julatten, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Whilst the hotel is older the lobby and bar area present well. A few minor things that lacked attention to detail let this property down a little. On my first night I woke up and thought I heard a vacuum a few rooms down until I worked out it was the air con. Being on the top floor we had nice view out of a strange shaped window. One staff member stood out above all the others but unfortunately did not have a name badge so not sure but guessing he was either the F & B manager or a Duty manger.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Claire B,

Thanks you for your feedback and appreciate your comments regarding the staff especially the Food and Beverage Manager, I will definitely share you feedback with the team.

I also acknowledge your feedback regarding the lobby and we do have plan to refresh the public areas in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location for the surrounding entertainment precinct, but the hotel is in need of a good makeover, especially when you are paying over $300 per night. The room air-conditioner was noisy, the bed mattress was so worn that it felt like we were being drawn into a crevasse in the middle of the bed and our first meal in the restaurant revealed a shard of thin hard plastic in the pork belly which we never even got an apology for, though the overall taste of the food was ok but it wasn't what I would call Novotel quality. The lifts are in need of a good overhaul with buttons having to be pushed several times before they worked and the lift taking forever to travel a single floor and the air-conditioning ducts in the passageways are all showings signs of rust. The staff were polite and helpful however there just wasn't any atmosphere in the place. considering it was a big weekend for motor sport fans. For the price, I expected more.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street as the opposite side gets the noise from the main entertainment pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear frek62,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Atrium Darwin. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your remarks regarding the noisy air-conditioning, air conditioning ducts and the dinner experience has been discussed with the Maintenance Manager and the Food and Beverage Manager and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ajay Vaid
General Manager
Novotel Darwin Atrium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed at other Novotels throughout the world and had no hesitation in booking into this one. Unfortunately it was not up to the standards of the other Novotels we've stayed at.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is very dated, worn and expensive. The buffet breakfast was also disappointing with limited choice and no egg section.

On the plus side it’s in a nice position and we did have a nice view of the ocean from our room and the staff that we dealt with were all very helpful and pleasant.

If we ever get back to Darwin we would probably look for somewhere else to stay which is a shame as we normally rate Novotel very highly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay V, General Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ajpatt,

Thanks for your feedback and disappointing to hear that we have not delivered to your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I do acknowledge your comments regarding the lobby and the public space and do have plans of a refresh in the near future, I would also like to thank you for your kind comments staff and the location and it is our hope that you give us another chance to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ajay Vaid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing