We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable Hotel in great location”
Review of Novotel Darwin CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Darwin CBD
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable Hotel in great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My first impression of the hotel was that it seems a bit tired and needed some sort of make over. However that said, I had a great stay, the beds were comfortable, the room comfortable, the air con worked well. I have no complaints. This was a nice place to stay and in a good location. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avagraceisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    527
    382
    147
    66
See reviews for
243
534
150
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Hotel is tired and dated. Seems to be no up keep on property. My room had a leak in the window and they just put a towel down to soak up the rain. Smell of mould and mildew throughout the whole hotel. Yes the lift is extremely slow! Hot water hard to regulate in shower. Either boiling hot or cold.

On the upside bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was decent and the staff are efficient and helpful. I feel sorry for them though. I am sure many complaints are made on a daily basis.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelDarwinManager, Manager at Novotel Darwin CBD, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the staff at the hotel.

We are however disappointed to learn of your other experiences regarding the product. Please note that the issue you have raised regarding the inconsistency of hot water has been seen to.

We are please to advise that we are scheduled to complete a refurbishment in 2011. This refurbishment will be completed according to the Novotel guidelines.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel was quite acceptable and I enjoyed my stay during the day but the hotel made the mistake of booking a group of young guys into the room next to me who had only come to town to celebrate New Year and they made a lot of noise all night long. The food was excelent and the service was great. Unfortunately they spoilt the experience by overcharging me through my credit card which I only discovered when I got home to PNG. I am now faced with trying to get two seperate charges reversed through my bank which is not easy in PNG.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The rooms are quite outdated and need to be freshened up a bit. The aircon in the lobby and hallways didnt appear to be working which made it very uncomfortable. I would recommend using the stairs because the lifts were extreamly slow. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kippers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.1 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Darwin CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Darwin CBD

Property: Novotel Darwin CBD
Address: 100 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Darwin CBD 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Darwin CBD is conveniently located in the city centre, overlooking Darwin Harbour. This 4 star hotel is a short stroll from the dining and entertainment precinct of Mitchell Street and is equally suited to business trips and holidays. Boasting 140 spacious rooms and conference facilities, the Novotel CBD features a magnificent tropical indoor rainforest, complete with cascading vines and palm trees. Try our famous cocktails in the bar, or enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Darwin CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Darwin Atrium Hotel Darwin
Accor Darwin Atrium
Darwin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing