We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Darwin Central Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton nsw
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very central”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I spent two night at Darwin Central. Close to shops, bars and places to eat. Staff were very polite. Room was spacious and very clean, bathroom was huge, beds were comfy. We were able to store our bags on checkout for the day which was very handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JodNGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    753
    222
    44
    45
See reviews for
221
639
235
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here, the rooms are spacious, I had a corner room with views over the street opposite a Mall and small park. There was a cafe on the corner where I ate most days, as the meals were excellent, with a very wide choice. I enjoyed the proximity to the shops etc...When I go back to Darwin I would definitely stay at The Central again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights at Darwin Central and have no complaints. Wanted something central where we could just walk everywhere and it was perfect... close to the eateries, bars, wharf, etc. We were a little worried that we wouldn't get to sleep as we were so close to the nightlife and bars however, we never heard a thing, it was very quiet. Friendly staff, large rooms, very comfortable bed, great shower and very clean. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Have only stayed once so can't compare rooms but will stay again and try something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Recently spent 5 nights at Darwin Central Hotel and really can't complain. My room was large and clean, I found the staff helpful, and the noise from Mitchell Street wasn't too disturbing. Breakfast was good and although the wi-fi is not free at $2 per 24 hours I don't have an issue with it. The only downside is that the walls seem to be quite thin so if you have an inconsiderate neighbour whose solution to the club noise is to turn up their tv at 2.30am then you may be disturbed but that isn't really the hotel's fault. I would definitely stay here again when in Darwin.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at Darwin Central Hotel for two nights at the end of an amazing tour up through the centre of Australia all the way from Melbourne to Darwin.Couldn't fault a thing about it the Hotel itself was as wonderful as we thought it would be and the staff were equally as good,efficient very professional and nothing was to much trouble for them.Located right in the heart of Darwin but in easy walking distance to everywhere.Bedroom was spacious bed was huge and very comfy bathroom was exceedingly clean which is what you want.Nice pool area, excellent breakfast and fantastic weather of course.Would most certainly stay there again in future.Mr and Mrs B from Basingstoke uk

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsB674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Positive - location was great. Close to heaps of restaurants, bars, waterfront, shopping and tourist attractions all within walking distance. Our room was large and clean. Very comfortable.
Negative- check in and check out is very slow. Have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisworldishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and found our stay to be very comfortable with good size rooms. It was a little noisy on the Friday and Saturday night being across from a night club but to be expected when staying in the centre of the city. Walking distance to all the shops.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 37 in Darwin
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 37 in Darwin
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Central Hotel

Property: Darwin Central Hotel
Address: 21 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Darwin Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary executive boutique Darwin Central Hotel enjoys an unrivaled location in the heart of Darwin city. It is the ideal place for both the leisure and business traveler, within easy walking distance to all major banks, cinemas, theaters, nightclubs, restaurants and shopping. Amidst all the bustle, the Darwin Central Hotel is a city sanctuary that reveals a surprisingly sophisticated space where guest can relax in comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing