We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, loud, overpriced, smelly”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I've stayed at Value Inn for 3 days. At $140p.n. the price is ok for Darwin, but what would pay for a nice hotel in any other capital city doesn't give you much here. My room was tiny, smelly (mildew I guess), still was kept clean though, the service and anything else was no frills. Needed to sleep with earplugs as I had to keep the window open due to the smell and outside it's very noisy due to bars next door until far after midnight. Location is convenient though.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happicamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

with a few cockroaches. That just about sums up my stay at the Value Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

When we arrived after 10PM the gate was locked. If not for some young kids directing us we would not have found the joint. A loud beer garden was on both sides of us which continued until 3:45AM. The room reminded me of a poorly equiped hospital room, clean but impersonal. This place is no value unless you just need a place to store your luggage.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great, cheap, clean accommodation. Perfect location, only thing is move the bins away from pool. highly reccomend and will defiantly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

138 for a basic room with a double bed, single bed, air-con, small bar fridge, tea/coffee making facilities & own ensuite on first floor just outside stairs/lift.
Somewhere like Sydney you'd get a 5 star mystery hotel for the same price, but Darwin is rather expensive.
Hotel is next door to a backpackers, & you have use of their pool and bar as well as a smaller pool on site. Although reception is not 24 hr, the backpackers reception is & they are basically the same place with a carpark and room standards dividing them.
Location is great, on main dining/bar street. Staff friendly, but I did have to ask at reception about the pools rather than told details upon check in.
Would def stay here again if on a budget. Have def stayed in worse for more $$.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCarts_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Stayed here two nights after 25 hours on the Gan, Rooms are tidy and reception staff friendly. Rooms are on the small size but compared to the rest of Darwin, so is the price.
Very handy to the bars and restuarants that Darwin has to offer.
Rooms facing the backpacker can be a bit noisy at the pool bar get rocking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from backpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacticalmunitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here for one night only because of business. The price for a single room is ludicrous compared to the room features. Although clean, everything is in its simplest form you can imagine. WiFi-Internet (charge) does not work in all rooms which is quite annoying if you bought a 10AUD$ coupon already. The hotel is next to a big youth hostel, so you may hear and experience some noises during the night. The hotel is barely soundproof. Surely not suited for business.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
1.3 mi away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
2.2 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#33 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £32 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing