We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As you would expect from a place called the Value Inn, the value isn't that great. The room is small and old and the bathroom is tiny. The shower basin and toilet are all in the same little area so when you shower the entire floor gets all wet. For what it is, its totally overpriced - they advertise one price but when you book its another higher price. Getting back in after hours you are interrogated by an unfriendly security guy who wants to see your access card. The place is old and in my opinion a bit seedy. Do yourself a big favour and phone around before you book. I found a room at the Mantra for only $9 more per night which includes full buffet breakfast, water views, large room, great ensuite, good lobby and simply cannot be compared to the "value" inn.

Room Tip: Dont get a room facing Monsoons club unless you want to be kept awake all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi cherry nut,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our property.

The property was built in 1995 so it has been around for a few years. We have regular programs in place to keep the property clean and tidy and up to an acceptable level for a budget hotel. We have security guards on at night who do ask anyone coming in at night to show their room cards. The reason for having tight security is because we are in the center of the entertainment hub of Darwin and we only allow guests onsite after 10pm.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Business trip and all hotels in Mitchell were booked so chanced a stay a bit cheaper than I wanted.
No complaints for the price. Great location, but very busy - happily my room was quiet enough to sleep well.
Late entrance is via a backpackers and across the carpark - which always seemed to have just one space left for me over three nights. Cheap wifi Internet at $4 for 24 hours. Not available in all rooms but I had no problems logging in.
Not much space with beds for three, and a tiny bathroom. But all was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank makadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Michelle_0101,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn,Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be nice and clean.

If you are in Darwin on a regular find out about our VIP card which will give you a 10% discount off your next visit.

we hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We usually stay at the Banyan View backpackers when in Darwin, but it had been getting really dodgy and unclean so we decided to try somewhere different. Really glad we did. The Value Inn worked out being a tiny bit more expensive but we had our own bathroom and the location was much better and it was CLEAN!!!!
The rooms are only small (although on par with the room size at Banyan) and the bathroom only has a curtain around the shower but for simple budget accommodation in the heart of Mitchell St we were more than happy with it and it will be where we stay again next time.
(We also stayed in the Airport Hotel at the beginning of our trip and while the room was super nice it was also crazy expensive! so Value Inn finds a good compromise).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Julie K,

Thank you for the review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are happy that you found the property to be good value and that you would recommend it for budget travellers.

we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Top End.

Regards
Sheena, sarah and the team at Value Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The value inn is in a fantastic location if you like the nightlife. You can walk just about anywhere in the city from this central location. Has its own secure carpark which was great.
The rooms are small but clean and tidy.
The staff were friendly.
Great value for money. I would recommend for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The pros: good location (although ask for a room away from street to avoid bar noise), Helpful staff at both registration desks, reasonably priced internet, kitchen and laundry facilities at Maleleuca next door, pool and bar next door too.

The cons: rooms are SMALL, had to ask to get new towels, linen, baskets emptied and toilet paper, be aware that not everyone abides by the adage to clean up after themselves in the kitchen, Internet can be slow if there are 15-20 people using it in the lobby.

Met some interesting folks here too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived at the Motel at 1 am and they did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable. They took very good care of us, and our belongings. Given that our flight was at 1 am (arriving and departing) they took care of our luggage while we explored Darwin on our last day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the centre of the city which is very convenient but that is virtually the only good point. Although a reasonable price for Darwin, I would expect a better room for the price.

The room had a double and single bed that took up the whole room. There was no room for your luggage. It was reasonably clean but had a poky combined shower, toilet and wash basin. A piece of the bathroom door was missing and the bar fridge was rusting out. Also this is the only hotel in Australia I have encountered where they charge you extra if you arrive before check in time.

Make sure you ask for a room at the back as the street is very noisy and you may not get to sleep until the bars close at 4 am. I would recommend staying a little further out of the centre of the city where you can get a nicer room at a similar price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
2.2 mi away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#16 of 36 in Darwin
1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £32 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing