We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This motel has a very convenient location right in the centre of Darwin. I was a bit afraid of what to find, based upon other reviews, however it was better than I had expected. The rooms are indeed very small, but they seem to be clean. Biggest problem is the noise at night from nearby night clubs. Try to get a room at the back of the motel, it's more quiet on that side. Airco on the room makes a lot of noise as well, but it was a good 'filter' against loud music, shouting and screaming from outside...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank johan_smeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    98
    105
    81
    60
See reviews for
48
138
79
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel facility matches what a 2 star hotel provides, basic but functional. The bars outside plays rock-n-roll till 1 AM every weeknight.

The annoying thing is that the receptionist on training was asking for ID (driver's license), even I have prepaid the accommodation. He stared at the license for a long time and then decided to make a photocopy of it. Do not know whether he will do dodgy things about it.

No other hotels have such requirements, not even the Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Jian,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin.

It is a company policy to ask for photo identification upon check in which we photocopy and place with the registration form. We are happy to give it back to guests upon departure if they have made a private booking. Some of the online booking agents that we deal with do require that we keep a guests photo identification on file to assist with any disputes that they receive . Other hotels have different policies ie taking a bond from your credit card to cover any incidentals that may occur during a guests stay.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Darwin.

Regards

Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed before and after a hired campervan holiday around Darwin, Kakadu and Litchfield areas which we totally enjoyed. Little sleep the first night as across the carpark was party central. The second visit was better as we had asked for a quieter part of the Inn. Darwin's accommodation in June / July is well known to be overpriced for what you get and the Value Inn is no exception. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location very central virtually in the CBD. The room while small and basic was clean though it did have a faint odor of air freshener lingering after having been recently cleaned. The air-con was too noisy to leave operating overnight. Value for money, compared to say staying on the Gold Coast, wasn't good. We personally felt that all accommodation was overly expensive in Darwin even the caravan parks are expensive, by comparison, with other tourists destinations.

Room Tip: Be mindful the rooms adjacent to the carpark are also adjacent to the accommodation opposite which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Peter W,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin, we appreciate your feedback about the property.
It is pleasing to read that the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.
Our rates are determined by the time of year . We have some great specials in the off peak season that you might like to utilise from October through to May.

We hope to see you the next time that you hire a camper van to visit our wonderful part of the country.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I found the rooms extremely small the shower had mould on the grout and the bed was horrendously hard. It was expensive for what u received. My room was not serviced only when I asked, I would not normally stay in this type of accommodation it was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilauhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Jilauhl,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. I am sorry that there were some issues with your room. If you would like to email me at gm@momdarwin.com.au and advise what room you stayed in I will go and check and rectify with my staff the issues that you have commented on.

We appreciate your feedback.

Regards
Sheena, sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Room vas small, but cleaner than expected, more comfortable then expected and with both decent beds, television, fridge and affordable wi-fi. It IS a backpacker place, there will be noise, someone had a food fight in the hallway and it is not classy or "nice". But for Darwin, location and service I thought it was totally ok for people travelling on a budget!

+ for excellent service at the front desk of Melaleuca on Mitchell (which is shared entrance at nighttime).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Grete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Anne Grete S,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay
while you were in Darwin. The location is very central, close to the airport shuttle, supermarkets and entertainment precinct.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongbar
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had just finished 4400km on road and off road from Cooktown to Darwin. Very glad to get to the Value Inn and spend my first night in 4 weeks in a bed. Stayed a total of 3 nights in Room 10.
Found it to be well situated, clean, comfortable and relatively quiet. (The inability to open the window, necessitating the air-conditioner to be on most of the time was a bit of an issue.
The shower nozzle was loose and spraying water but tightening it fixed the problem.
The only real issue I had was a very noisy exhaust fan in the bathroom. (Obviously only an issue when you turned on the light/fan in the bath room
Overall considered it good value

Room Tip: As far from Mitchell Street as possible and probably above street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank plateaupete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi plateaupete,

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and found it relaxing after completing a 4400 km road trip from Cooktown. I have asked the maintenance team to rectify issues with the shower nozzle and bathroom extra tor fan.

We hope that you enjoyed your drive home as well.

Regards
Sheena, Sarah and the team at Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
252 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As part of a transcontinental motorcycle tour, I stayed six nights at the Value Inn (6.4.14 - 12.4.14) and found my stay a pleasant one. My room, on the first floor (# 50), was very small and reminded me constantly of a boat cabin rather than a motel room. However, it had all the essentials, including tea making facilities. As I hardly spent any time indoors, I can’t really comment on the cleanliness per se. However, sleep quality was only average due to the hotel’s central location and a few inconsiderate other travellers. I often slept with the A/C off (too noisy) although this is not approved by management (think of humidity and mould development). Check-in was straight forward and whenever I had a question or request, the reception staff was friendly and accommodating. Watch out for a Dawn Fraser look-alike…. this lady is always ready for a friendly chat. There is a small pool on the premises which, unfortunately, was closed for most of the time during my stay due to maintenance work. I went to the Nightcliff Pool instead which was wonderful. I paid AUD$502.00 for 6 nights’ accommodation which I found very good value for money – considering the motel’s central location. I lived in Darwin for 18 months (1972-73) and was amazed by the transformation this city has made since Cyclone Tracy (X-mas 1974). But back to my review. In Summary: I have no hesitation in recommending the Value Inn to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Inspect rooms before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
77 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Palms Motel
#25 of 37 in Darwin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Property: Value Inn Darwin
Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing