We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of spirit with nearly anything backpacker-possible”
Review of Frogshollow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frogshollow
Ranked #44 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed 7 November 2013

"Anything goes with the Froggy Spirit," John, a resident-worker told me the first of three nights. That is, however, with strict, sensible rules: kitchen and pool times, no glass, no noise after 9 pm. Canned beer is OK and lots in view. "Froggy Spirit" is an atmosphere of helpful mates -- perhaps 70 % of the residents are men, half of whom appear employed and living on the cheap. While others have called attention to less than desired cleanliness, it is backpacker-clean-tidy-neat with everything comfortably (or not) worn, casual. Across from a park the property has that wanted tropical look. A plus, if you have wheels, is limited parking; Darwin is not car friendly. One computer is free to use.

Room Tip: Tell Peter -- who assigns -- what you need. He will do his best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We slept in the 6bed dorm..it's probably the cheapest hostel in Darwin, but you still pay 26 dollars for a very dirti, hot and noisy place! The kitchen offers a great number of knives, but only 3 or 4 forks for about a hundred people. Near the swimming pool (dirty as well) there are only two broken chairs, so you cannot stay there to take rest! Not recommended to go

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marcellino85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We waited about 2 hours for someone to open the reception to check in.
This place is a waste of money (and time), horrible rooms, bed sheets not clean, noisy place and bed bugs on the mattress.
Definitely a place to avoid!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Horrible rooms, most dirty place I've ever seen. Alcoholics all over all night long. You don't even feel safe ... This is not a place for travelers but for homeless ... Change your cleaning staff and be nice ! The only positive point was the day receptionist.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregoryrousset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Well let’s start with the booking…
I was my first time to come to Australia and my first place to stay so I tried to book in advance by sending an email. I sent three without any response; the fourth one was the finally answered. Since my plane arrived late at night, I had to send another two emails to find out how the late check in it done.

I booked a single room for the first night and a dorm for three other nights. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I entered the single room for which I paid 70 bucks! It was the shabbiest, filthiest and most disgusting I have ever been forced to sleep in and I am traveling for years on a budget through South East Asia. It was tiny, you could hardly get side wards out of the bed, the mattress was old and laid through, the walls stained. It was like in a weird travelers’ movie a la ‘the beach’.

But the dorms are even worse. Dark, hot (aircon is so old, it has nearly no effect) and full of luggage, so it can’t be swept or mopped. The bunk beds have no ladder so you have to jump up. I wondered why they have given me linen since the bed looked made. Till I found out that there were three layers of bed sheets on it. No one took them off!
The kitchen is gross. And roach infested hole. No one ever washed their dishes up, it’s just all stacked up dirty in the sink, if you need something you have to find it and wash it. But there’s not enough cutlery for all, so when it’s breakfast or dinner time you are lucky if you can get what you need. Cups were never available.

The showers are so disgusting you can’t take your thongs off. There is no space to put your stuff down except the floor, but believe me you don’t wanna put your clothes there. Someone was shaving his/ her intimate parts and left the pubes in the soap basket and they were there the whole four days I spent.
Someone spit brown mucus against the mirror and it was there for the four days of my stay either. Several times there was no toilette paper in the toilette.

The ‘guests’ were mainly sleazy, f**ckd up drop-outs, hiding there from reality. This type of people you are afraid of leaving your belongings in the room with. Someone’s laptop was stolen while was having a dip in the pool.
There were loud, drunken people partying in front of the rooms, every night, all night. They smashed glasses and one night even a watermelon in front of my room. Every night were drunken people, who weren’t even staying in my room, coming in, turning the lights on and of, making noise and every night someone had sex, either in my room or in front of it on the floor. On all four nights someone got evicted.

The staff is testy and unfriendly. They have the policy that all fridges are locked up at nine p.m. since apparently there had been a lot of theft. I was sitting next to the fridge when I saw the guy was about to lock it, so I said I just wanna take my six pack out and he didn’t let me! It was not even locked yet!
Now you might think at least it’s a cheap place, but it’s not! Go to the town center and you find nice, clean and tidy hostels, but don’t ever stay in this rat hole and let them spoil your holidays.
I wonder how a place like this can survive and honestly I wonder how it can be legal in a civilized country to let people live in such conditions.
Clearly the worst place I have ever stayed in!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 256Julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked a room with Ensuite bathroom. The toilet was black, the shower wasn'tworking properly. The sheets were not clean. The communal areas were extremely dirty. I had chosen it because it wasn't expensive but I would never suggest it to anyone.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cris66Jesi_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When we arrived it was 2pm (you can check in from then) so for over an hour for someone to come and check us in.
We originally booked a dorm, once we got into our dorm we knew we couldn't live in there. The rooms were hot and tiny. The beds didn't have ladders. There was no lockers, just a broken cupboard. Some of the beds were missing panels so you can fall through the middle/get stuck/be very uncomfy. So we asked to change rooms to a private and were given a double (the only availability) it was absolutely tiny but compared to the dorm it was bliss, it even had a fridge and sink in it. However the first morning I wake up to find ants in my suitcase and around the fridge/sink (wasn't even any food in them). The showers are the worst things ever, low water pressure and invested with ants (completely invested all over the walls so you are dodging them-not good if you have a phobia of ants).
We were offered a refund (only bonus) when we first got there as it was obvious we weren't happy, however there was no availability anywhere else.
Seriously, pay the extra money and stay in a nice hostel in the centre!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 mi away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 51 in Darwin
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#36 of 51 in Darwin
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
0.4 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#15 of 51 in Darwin
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#38 of 51 in Darwin
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogshollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogshollow

Address: 27 Lindsay St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: £13 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Frogshollow 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogs-hollow is a purpose built Backpackers in Darwin and has held on to that chilled out social style of travel- a laid back BYO everything style of backpackers. We are located opposite one of the prettiest parks in Darwin and have no nightclubs in our street so we are one of the quieter areas, in saying that we are often making our own noise and welcome people to play a guitar and have a sing along while the have a BBQ or swim in our pool. Our office hours are kept to a minimum to keep prices low low low and we have a no hassle you about tours policy where if you want it we will book it (no booking fees, and lic travel agent)but we will not actively interrupt your day to sell you one. Our free all you can eat breakie is basic cereals and toast and tea and coffee is out all day. Our big kitchen has all you need to cook and play and we have alot of fridge space. Frogs-hollow Backpackers is all about the independent free-spirited backpackers and we en-devour to provide an easy and cheap place to call home while you explore work or play in Darwin.You will need to bring your own towels and blankets pop a deposit on the plate bowl and cutlery set. We supply Pillows and sheets for the bed. We do not sell food or alcohol on premises but with a few giant fridges and Woolworths only a stroll away - you are sure to make yourself at home in no time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Frogshollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing