We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The owner is from Midlands some staff are from Ireland, So I was made to feel very welcome With a nice room with all you need for a very reasonable priced stay at the end of there summer.
I stayed in budget accom in the heart of Darwin but for a bit of peace and quiet worth paying the extra.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roj721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Roj721

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic Review.
It was very interesting to hear your stories about your travels and tours and It was a pleasure to have you stay here in Resort.

We are so pleased you found the Resort homely as that is exactly the type of atmosphere we strive to create for our Wonderful Guests.

I hope the rest of your trip went well and I wish you all the very best for the future!!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

I had just moved to Darwin after travelling 33 hours from Canada. My first stop was the Leprechaun Resort. After all that time on a plane I just wanted to crash and hotel check-ins are usually quite time consuming. Not the case here. They confirmed my booking and before I knew it I was in the shower and flopping on a bed. I stayed in a basic room which was very cosy and came equipped with a flat-screen TV, fridge, and AC (which is VERY necessary in Darwin). The staff are incredibly friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They are very knowledgable about the area and had a wide range of travel tips in regards to getting around Darwin and the good things to see. As I left I couldn't help but feel a little blue that I was leaving. It was easily the best hotel experience I have ever had in my travels.

Room Tip: If travelling alone the basic room is more than adequate! I was on a ground floor facing the Stuart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocteurQui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi DocteurQui,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, we enjoyed your energy and passion for life, we were so glad you found somewhere to live and a job so quickly after relocating to what we believe to be the best city in the world.
33 hours is a mammoth flight i can only imagine how much you was looking forward to a shower and a comfy bed.
now you have gone it seems like part of the furniture is missing, we hope you will pop in and see us from time to time and we wish you all the best in your new life in this magical city.
Kind regards,
Scott and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We booked a weeks accommodation with The Leprechaun Resort because of its convenient location but what we discovered when we arrived was so much more! The Management and staff went out of their way to help make our trip more enjoyable including helping us to organise tours and advising us on the best restaurants, places to shop and things to see and do. The resort which has been recently renovated is decorated beautifully and there is a real feel of home away from home with their communal BBQ and pool area. My partner and I have both agreed that we will make our trip to Darwin a regular event and we will be staying in The Leprechaun Resort every time. Special thanks to Allie and Scott the managers for their amazing hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi Desiree,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review, having met you i can see how much of a busy schedule you guys have and appreciate the fact you fitted in the time to do so.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip and stay with us and enjoyed our facilities.
We look forward to seeing you very soon and i hope you have tried cooking snapper the way i did on the BBQ after i shared a family recipe.
Good health and see you soon
Scott and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We arrived on Christmas night and found that aside from Petrol Stations, everything was shut. The hosts (Ally) was having a a Christmas dinner with her family and staff and offered us a wonderful spread of food. Having travelled on a plane for ~4hrs and finding such amazing hospitality and kindness was something quite amazing!

The rooms are small but have exactly what you need: Super comfortable bed, air conditioning and fan, coffee / tea facilities, fridge, toilet and shower and a slim lcd tv.

We stayed here on our last night again and spoke to Ally's husband (Steve) who after asking what our plans were for the night, gave us a wealth of information as to which restaurants are good to go to, where they were etc. Ally was equally helpful when asking her about sights and things to do in Darwin. They and their family are the type of people you wish were looking after all the hotels you stay at.

We couldn't more highly recommend staying here. When we're next in Darwin again, we know where we'll be staying!

FYI: It's around 7km out from Darwin CBD, so a car is ideal if you stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor. It will be cooler than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hi Doc_Melbourne,
Thank you for your fantastic review!
It was a pleasure to have you be part of our Christmas day, it was great to share it with so many people from so many different destinations.
We are just starting to build 46 deluxe cabins on the rear block which will be kitted out to accommodate everyone's needs from deluxe rooms with four poster beds and spa baths to family style accommodation through to a bridal room.
I look forward to seeing you in the near future and hope you have a fantastic 2013!
Kind regards,
Alley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Definitely the best value for money and service not be found anywhere else in Darwin. We stayed here on two different occasions during our trip and both rooms were absolutely immaculate. The double rooms that we used had good aircon, fan, fridges and were well configured in terms of the location of the power points and bathroom. For the price room it felt absolutely luxurious.

The staff were helpful with all our touristy questions and provided great recommendations for where to shop/eat. The manager Ally definitely went above and beyond for us on Christmas Day when we were in the unfortunate position of being unable to purchase any food.

We were welcomed liked old friends and we would definitely recommend this property to everyone travelling to Darwin. This property definitely made our short trip to the Northern Territory worthwhile and I look forward to returning here in the near future.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are probably a little less warm when you first go in, but once the aircon kic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hi LinYJ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit, it is always good to receive such fantastic feedback.
Christmas is a special time of the year and we were very happy to have you share it with our family and team.
We hope on your return visit you will take advantage of our deluxe queen rooms with the added bonus of robes, slippers and the deluxe pamper package.
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Kind regards,
Alley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

If you are looking for a place that you want to call your second home this resort is the place to go. the People are very friendly and genuine. The rooms are very clean and well presented. This place is a total package. If you are staying as a family I recommend the cabin room. But if you are going to spend a night with your love one get the deluxe room, and enjoy the comfortable robes.

Room Tip: "Cabin rooms are more spacious"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiree b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Hi Desiree,

Thank you for your kind words, cant believe that you have stayed here 3 times now !!!
Twice with the children and mother in law and then for your wedding anniversary.

We have been open now only a short time now and we are very proud of what our fantastic team have achieved, we will share your kind words with the team and look forward to seeing you soon.
Thanks again

Scott & Alley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Found you guys by mistake. Boy am I glad I did. Rooms 5 star and immaculate. A credit to the ladies who make the rooms up. Never had a guests Barbie before on Sunday night. What a wonderful idea. Steaks were great, met some wonderful people and exchanged travel tips.
Off street parking certainly won me over also. So happy with me 2 days stay re-booked again on the 21st for 4 days. Sorry I will miss the Barbie this time. At last someone is think about us the client and not the almighty dollar. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Best value for money in Darwin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words, the guests BBQ on a Sunday evening is a great way to meet people and as you mentioned exchange tips on all the little hidden places to visit whilst in the top end.
our guest BBQ was well received and something we will be running every Sunday evening starting at 6.30pm (weather permitting)
we do have ample off street parking and in the next 2 weeks we will have a new security sliding gate at the entry with a key pad to maximise the security of our guests and there property (not that we have had any incidents) but to make it more private.
Thanks again.
Scott & Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,979 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
946 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
3.0 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
905 reviews
3.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing