We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Leprechaun. This time I stayed there with my wife.
Has improved immensely in that the smoking areas are a welcome thing being a non smoker. Do not have the smell of cigarettes wafting into your room. Rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. The thing I also liked was the security gate, once inside you felt safe, secure car parking. We stayed in one of the front units and had no issues with road noise considering the closeness of the road. Had great and varied conversations with other guests around the Pool.
None of the hustle and bustle of staying in the City. One of the cleaning ladies Jenny could not do enough for us and the office staff very obliging in planning the days for my wife while I was working.
As a regular traveller to Darwin will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean and tidy, ironed sheets, bed comfortable. Well priced for Darwin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Ken J,
Thank you for your kind words, it is encouraging to see that you could spot the difference from the old and the new, it has been almost 12 months since we added the leprechaun to our portfolio of businesses, we are as well very happy with the changes with plenty more to come, we have had a great first dry season and are very proud of our amazing team, we will of course pass on your great comments to Jenny.

we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind regards

Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    70
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
34
126
44
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

stayed 3 nights. room was very clean, with small fridge, tv, air con and fan. yes the room is small as some reviews have stated, but we didnt fly 4 hours to sit in it, so for a base to explore the city from it was more than sufficent. staff were very pleasant with a no tolerance approach to any unsociable behaviour. this was appreciated as i have found that some travellers like to party / talk / laugh etc well into the night. there is pool and basic bbq area, automatic access gate ( kept the rental car safe ) public bus at the door. traffic noise was minimal even though we had a front room, not a lot of traffic after hours. but, they do need better curtains.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear would be quieter, but we had no problems. upper floors would be hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Steve I,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we are happy that you decided to stay with us, we have changed the lighting outside the room to stop the issue of the light shinning through the rooms so thank you for that constructive feedback
we look forward to having you stay with us again

Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The photos are deceiving! Even the advertising.
I would not recommend staying here at all. It was dirty, old, very uncomfortable and cramped. Definitely not 'resort style' accommodation. The bathroom was not cleaned while we were there over five days. The air conditioning affected sleep in terms of noise and getting the right temperature. It cost $12 to do a load of washing and dry it. Wifi should have been free to at least give it some attraction.

I booked this for price (little lower than inner city hotels) thinking we could use kitchen amenities , but we couldnt due to cleanliness. It was in one word 'feral'. In the price we ended up paying for breakfast, lunch and dinner out, we could have a much more luxurious room in the city. (it is quite far out of Darwin CBD)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi Mary-Jane C,
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
We are sorry you felt this way in regards to your overall stay with us, as you can see from our other reviews this is not usually the case here at the leprechaun resort.
we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and guest stay, our staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure the guest has an awesome experience.
Our charge of $15 for wireless or $10 for LAN Internet per day is actually on the cheap side for Darwin.
The charge of $5 for a wash and $5 for a dryer is standard across Darwin, our machines are industrial size and hold 15 kilos (twice as much as a domestic machine) the cost of $2 for laundry detergent is also in line with Darwin prices.
we have a very well equipped kitchen, with all the cooking facilities required and more, we have 42 rooms and the majority of guests use the kitchen, i am sorry you found it not quiet up to your standard, the housekeepers clean the kitchen everyday but as you can appreciate up to 42 rooms use this kitchen and it can be quiet busy.
we are located 7 kms from the city which is an 11 minute drive and quiet close to the main restaurant strip.
We are currently in the process of adding 47 cottages (30 of with will have spa baths) on the rear block with the addition of a second pool and a conference room and a 140 seater restaurant (starts construction in February 2014), we will be also adding a beautician salon and hairdressers to the resort in 2014.
We understand that at the moment with construction taking place it is a little hard to envisage the finished product but we are confident in the finished product.
Thank you one again for your feedback
Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip to Darwin. With Darwin being an expensive place for accommodation this hotel initially attracted me due to cost. I would have been better paying extra and staying elsewhere. The standard queen room is very small with no place to put your luggage without having to climb over it. The room facilities are basic with TV, fridge and small ensuite. If you don't want marble bathrooms, in house movies and numerous TV channels and are only looking for a bed for the night this would be OK. The hotel is situated on the main road and so is very noisy. The air con works but is an old style so again is noisy but it does drown out the traffic noise. The room was clean and made up each day satisfactorily. There is no other furniture except for the bed, so if you wanted to watch TV or do some work you had to sit on the bed. For a business traveller who needs to do work at night time a desk and chair is required. You would need to book the upper queen room to get a chair & desk. The hotel is not near any facilities for dining so you would need to drive into Darwin [10 minute drive] to access any restaurants or food. Even the nearest takeaway is a 10 minute drive away. there are no irons or ironing board in the rooms and you have to ask reception to gain access to them. No hairdryer in the bathroom. The reception staff was friendly. Overall a cheap out of town basic hotel that is old but clean but doesn't have suitable facilities for business travellers unless you pay extra for a bigger room. In which case you could have stayed somewhere better for a similar cost. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: pay extra and choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi Helen P,
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
you are exactly right our standard queen room is exactly what it says STANDARD QUEEN ROOM. It comes with an en-suite, LCD TV, fridge, air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, telephone (Internet available for a charge). these rooms have been totally refurbished with no cost spared, they are very popular with the travelling guest who is staying 2-3 days to transit to another destination, if you are travelling on business or wanting a desk, tub chairs and a room that is just under twice the size then the deluxe queens are definitely the go, they are located at the rear of the property, so not so close to the road for the light sleepers.
Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We planned to stay 3 nights but only stayed one.
The room was nice and clean but the bathroom was way too small.
Our room was at the front , right on a busy freeway and was way too noisy we couldn't sleep
We needed to turn air con off as it was noisy lucky we had a fan which isn't real efficient in Darwin
The use of laundry facilities was way over priced. I have never had to pay to use a laundry in a motel before so was surprised by the cost.
The staff were friendly but that's not enough

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi Shazzav60,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, please be sure to return and book one of the rooms on the back of the resort where it is not so close to the road.
Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Not really a 'resort', more a run of the mill motel. Seedy buildings and no plantings to soften the aspect. Close to a noisy highway.
The standard room is very small, though clean, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHobart_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi DavidHobart_Tas...,

Thank you for your constructive feedback,
We are currently under going a massive refurbishment which we are hoping will be completed in the near future.
we are sorry that your stay was not a WOW factor, we are hoping when the resort is completed that it will be a real WOW factor and we hope you will come back to experience that with us.
Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stay there for few days but that cleaner doesn't clean enough staff was not friendly they don't helpful and the air condition was too noisy and curtain small size doesn't cover windows people can look inside very easily too noisy traffic and allots of other discusting thing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 230Rose_S230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, General Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi 230Rose_S230,

We are sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Scott & Alley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
3.0 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Property: The Leprechaun Resort
Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing