We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in an emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place in an emergency”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed at The Leprechaun for an emergency stop in Darwin, when all other accommodation was full. The staff were friendly and helpful, but that's where it stops really. This place is hardly a resort, although they have tried to give it that feel, it doesn't really work. The motel is on a really busy main road, without double glazing or sound proofing, so it is really noisy. It is clean and tidy and great for a night stay, we were very grateful to get the room, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Dorothy

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.
We have a major transformation happening at the moment! We are building 46 Luxury Cabins, a Conference Centre, A Beauty Salon, A Mini golf course and a Tropical Pool. We also hope to have our Restaurant ready in the coming months.

Our Compact Queen Rooms do face the Stuart Highway but we also have the option of our Queen Rooms at the back of the Resort, which are the way to go for light sleepers!

If you pass through Darwin again in the future we hope you will pop by and see the finished result, we would be delighted to give you a tour!!

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    76
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
136
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are a young English couple holidaying in Australia and stayed in Darwin for four nights. We originally booked to stay in a backpackers due to Darwin being extremely overpriced but after a long and unpleasant flight, then walking into what can only be describe as a SQUAT which certainly shouldn't be paid for to stay in, The Leprechaun Resort and its staff well and truly saved our trip to Darwin.
The rooms are nice, basic, beautifully presented with all of the necessities you need in a hotel, and if something's missing, the staff are sure to put it right without any hesitation.
We were having a BBQ one night and forgot to buy tin foil. One trip to reception and Alley went and got some from her own kitchen for us to use.
I would compare the leprechaun resort to a travel lodge in England with more personal service. It's safe, you know what you're paying for, no hidden surprises or fees. We enjoyed having access to the pool and BBQ area and the girls were always so effortlessly helpful in helping us plan our day trips an activities.
For the sake of a ten minute 3$ bus ride into the city and saving a chunk of money or yourself from staying in a frightful backpackers it really is a no brainer. And the reception area always smells so beautiful!!
Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable and easy! The future really does look bright for the leprechaun resort! We wish you all the best with the expansion of the resort and if we're ever in Darwin again, we know exactly where to come
Many thanks
Harry and Yasmine

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasmine1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Harry and Yasmine

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us here at the Resort.
Our beautifully scented Reception is one of the first things everyone comments on when they walk through the doors, All natural essential oils!!
It was lovely to meet you both and I hope the rest of your trip went well.
Please do come back and see us all if you are ever in Darwin again.
All the very best to you both for the future!

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin and very pleased with all of it, especially the cleanliness!! We have booked another night on our way back through Darwin and staying will be staying here whenever we visit Darwin! Thanks to all the lovely staff, excellent service, once barbie and pool and good rooms!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascalintje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Pascalelintje
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are so proud of our Housekeeping team who do such an amazing job!!
Thank you for such wonderful comments!!

We hope to see you again someday!
Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Whilst the staff are great. The rooms are small, clean , but modern. The cheaper rooms on the Stuart Highway need to be sound proofed to be comfortable. .If ear plugs provided may have been helpful..We didn't use the pool area or BBQ facilities. I was exhausted after 3 nights of interrupted sleep and glad to be moving on.

Room Tip: find somewhere else to stay if you only have the option of the highway rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimInsydney32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear KimInsydney32

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted by the traffic on the highway during your stay.
We do have the option of our Deluxe Queen Rooms which are on the back of our property for our Guests who are light sleepers. We also are currently building Luxury Cabins on the rear of our Resort which will be another great option for our Guests.

I hope next time you are in Darwin you will drop in for a tour of our new development which will be completed in the coming Months.

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Next to the highway, you will sleep well with a good pair of ear plugs. Room is clean and good, a bit small but just for a layover it's ok. We arrive at 1.30am, the hotel email me the gate code and a key box code in advance, we have no problem getting in and think that is a brilliant idea! Met the reception in the morning and we are out in 10sec. Again, rate is a bit high for a room like this at $135!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Miaw G

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us!
The system we have created for our Guests who check in outside Office hours works extremely well!

We have Deluxe Queen Rooms that are located at the back of our Resort for our Guests who wish to be away from the Highway and we are currently building Luxury Cabins, A Tropical Pool, A Conference Centre and much much more. All at the rear of our Resort.
We hope next time you are in Darwin you will pop in for a Tour!

Best Wishes,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 for one night based on the great service reviews and I was not disappointed. I was very happy for about $120 a night. I stayed on the ground level, room 4 (for memory)
I've stayed in a few places in Darwin and feel constantly let down by the lack of service. The irish girl at the desk was LOVEY, very chatty and let me check in early. She had a good laugh with me when she couldn't understand the person on the 2way radio as they all have different accents. She ran over to my room herself to check if it was ready. I think nothing would have been too much trouble for this girl.

I told her that I was staying based on reviews on trip advisor and that my only concern was the road noise as it is on a main road. She said that she had been staying at the hotel herself and found that turning the fan downed out any noise -great tip.
I had trouble turning my brain off and falling to sleep, just as I started to doze I awoke to neighbours pulling up and unloading suitcases (not very quietly), I couldn't get back to sleep so I tried her trick but the fan unfortunately was unbalanced and so squeaked. Instead I turned the air on to fan only so that I didn't get cold and slept like a baby.

The hotel has an electric gate out the front so your car is nice and safe. The only thing that I would suggest to them that would make my stay more comfortable would be to have a chain on the door.
The room has an empty bar fridge, closet and tv. It's small, you walk in and there's the bed, but I wasn't there for anything but sleep. The girl told me there was also a pool that I was welcome to use. They put the little towel and shampoo kit on the bed which is really nice considering its a cheaper hotel, the more expensive places haven't done this for me. They also had a comment card where I wrote all my feedback.

Yes the room was nothing flash, basic but comfortable. It is not the quietest place I've stayed. But of all the places i have stayed in darwin so far this had the best service which I appreciate more than anything. I look forward to returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: If the road noise bothers you, turn your fan on (or air con on fan only) and it drowns out the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashwv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Tashwv88

Thank you so much for your Review!!
We are delighted that you had such a good experience with us.
Our team are wonderful here at The Leprechaun Resort, we pride ourselves on our Customer Service skills.

There are many different accents amongst our team:) we have lots of fun on the radios!!!:)
Thank you for sharing your comments and tips.

We look forward to seeing you in the very near future!

All the very best,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The staff of the Leprechaun Resort was very friendly and supporting with all requests.

Since Darwin is - according to recent news articles - the 12th expensive city on this planet (!!! only god knows why) I did not deduct points due to the price we payed there per night (I think it was 165 AUD!).

So relatively seen to other places in Darwin the Resort was okay - depending on what type of room you get it actually is more a motel facing directly towards Stuart Highway which is loud (because of the cars, not the airport which is a stone throw away as the fly crows). But the rooms very clean (although they really smelled like some kind of cleaning solution all the time) and had all the things you need: fridge, TV, bathroom etc.

Re the location it really depends on what you are looking for. It is certainly not located in the city and there is de facto no public transport going there so you need a car. But you can very easily take the car and go into the city and to the airport from there so for us it was a great "exploring hub".

Room Tip: Try not to get a Motel room but some in the back of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Peter M

Thank you for taking the time to write this Review!
Our Compact Queen Rooms do face the Stuart Highway which is quite busy during the day.
The Deluxe Queen Rooms on the back of our property are the better option for light sleepers.

In the coming Months our Guests will also have the option of our Luxury Cabins which are located at the very back of the Resort. We would be delighted to give you a tour next time you are in Darwin!

Our Resort has a Bus Stop directly outside our Gates, the Number 8 Bus is in service 7 days a Week and takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes to reach the City Centre. The Number 5 Bus also services Monday to Friday and this Bus will take you to Casuarina Shopping Centre.

Thanks again for your comments and tips!
We hope to see you again in the near future.

All the Best,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,913 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
911 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Property: The Leprechaun Resort
Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing