We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay but not so good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leprechaun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay but not so good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's situated along Stuart Highway - near the airport but not within the main city center. I would recommend to stay in Mitchell Street if you are a tourist.. It was pretty inconvenient for us to keep driving out to the city center.. it's about a 15 mins drive to Mitchell Street. We opted for this because the price is reasonable and we had a very early flight out.

Check-in and out was quick and hassle free. Very easy. Staff there is very friendly. Rooms are clean and modern (although it doesn't look like it from the outside).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear camscams

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Leprechaun Resort.
We appreciate your compliments and positive comments.

Our location is quite central being 7km from Darwin International Airport and 7km from the City Centre.
There is a Bus Stop directly outside our Entrance Gates for our Guests who want to avoid driving/ parking in the City Centre. The journey takes around 10 to 15 minutes and the Buses operate 7 days per Week.

Our Staff are just wonderful and thank you for your lovely comments.

We hope to see you next time you are in Darwin!

Warm Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    70
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
34
123
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Leprechaun Resort for one night on our way back from Kakadu National Park. We searched a lot of places in Darwin and they all really expensive, so we tried the Leprechaun and we were really happy with it. Looking from the Outside it doesn't look too inviting, but by the moment we stepped into the reception we were greeted with friendliness and hospitality. The reception was really nice and once you are in the room, you feel really great. We were given room in the back, so we did not hear anything from the main road. In front of the resort there is the bus station for going to Darwin Downtown, so you only spend 3AUD instead of 25AUD by taxi. Since our check in was really late, we were given the one day WiFi package Free of charge, so all in all this is the place to stay when you are in Darwin

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guidoborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guidoborn

Thank you for your lovely Review!
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The Bus Stop outside the Entrance Gates is so convenient with the journey taking around 10 to 15 minutes to the City Centre.

We hope next time you are in Darwin you will pop back and see us. Our new Luxury Cabins are almost ready to launch and the results are really looking wonderful!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Thank you again from all the team at The Leprechaun Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel as it was reasonably close to the Airport and we had an early flight - the room was small, and VERY noisy (being next to a Highway) I wouldn't stay here again. I would rather pay an extra $30 for a much nicer Hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a room out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Lynne H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear you found it less than satisfactory.

Our Rooms at the back of the Resort are best for Lighter sleepers, thank you for adding this in your Room Tip.

We provide affordable Accommodation however most of our Guests rate us highly due to our Service (our Team is amazing) and Cleanliness of our Rooms.

Our Luxury Cabins will be ready in the coming Weeks. The Cabins are located at the very rear of The Resort.
We are very proud of how far we have come since we opened our Doors almost 2 years ago and are very excited about our future here at The Leprechaun Resort.


Kind Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed there last year for a few nights ..... really clean and modern rooms, nice pool and the manager and staff really nice and genuine. Would recommend it to everyone, especially in Darwin where everything is so overpriced. Was the least expensive place we stayed and the nicest!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Robert D

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear your positive comments!

I hope next time you are in Darwin you will pop in and see us again. We are almost ready to unveil our new Luxury Cabins, Conference Room and Tropical Pool.

Our Restaurant is also on the way in the very near future and that will be a massive bonus to The Resort.

Wishing you all the best
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

although old, the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Even though the resort is close to the main road, we heard very little traffic noise. The owners are lovely and very courteous and helpful. it's only a 15min drive to the city which for some maybe a little far. However, it was not too inconvenient for us.
the Resort is under renovations at the moment with better options for accommodation. Can't wait till it's finished as this will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at front are closer to the road, noise level is tolerable. however, the rooms fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear David H

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience.

Our location is pretty convenient: 7km from Darwin International Airport and 7km from The City Centre. We also have a Bus Stop directly outside our Gates for our Guests without their own transport.

We would love to show you the new developments once completed, please pop in anytime if you are in the area!

Warm Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,916 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,802 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

You could only rate it highly for 2 reasons - perceived value and the wonderful nature of the Irish girl at the front desk - she tried her hardest to help you.
The blurb says all rooms have been refurbished but it is still a dated basic motel that suffers badly from noise.
It is on a very busy highway so a room at the front will suffer from normal road noise but to make it worse, it is close to the flight path and there seems to be no curfew in Darwin - planes fly all night seemingly.
The rooms are small and basic - little room to move about.
For $175 for a back room (larger) I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear RonWamberal

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you had a sleepless night.

Our Rooms have all been freshly refurbished since we opened our doors almost 2 years ago now! Our buildings were amongst the very few structures to survive Cyclone Tracey which is quite remarkable.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the service provided by our team.

We are almost finished our massive development which will see us with Luxury Cabins, A Conference Room, A Tropical Pool and Restaurant. I hope you will pop in and have a look around next time you are in Darwin as it will be something quite special once it is all completed.

Best Wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Impressed by the No. 1 ranking on Tripadvisor we booked in here for one night in April. The Leprechaun may be near the airport but the drive takes 10 mins and costs 20 AUD, thus you might as well book into a hotel in town, since the location on Stuart Highway next to a Shell petrol station is less than romantic. Leprechaun is not a "resort", it is a dated motel, nothing more. The washing facilities are OK. The one bright spot was the Irish girl on reception who was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Leprechaun ... D, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Adrian B

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are all very proud here at The Leprechaun Resort of our status on Tripadvisor and our team have worked hard to achieve this result.

I'm sure you have noticed that we are currently undergoing a massive development which will see us with 48 Luxury style Cabins, A Convention Centre, Tropical Pool, Mini Golf Course and Family Restaurant.
I hope if you are in Darwin in the near future you will drop in and see the final result.

Kind Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.6 mi away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
3.0 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#3 of 38 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Property: The Leprechaun Resort
Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing