We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leprechaun Resort
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the leprechaun for a week whilst I'm Darwin. We were so impressed by the lovely staff that we're so welcoming. Our room was so clean. The rooms aren't very modern but the way I see it, you don't go on holidays to spend the whole time in your room. They are building very nice accommodation at the back which will be so convenient and less noisy. The hotel is reasonably close to the airport, city & casuarina shopping centre. Very impressed with everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Madeline N

Thank you for your wonderful Review.
The team here at The Leprechaun Resort are all thrilled to hear such positive feedback.

You are right our location is central to Casuarina, Palmerston, The City Centre and Darwin Airport!
We hope you pop back and see us next time you are in Darwin and be sure to keep an eye out for the launch of our new Luxury Cabins.

All the very best!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's situated along Stuart Highway - near the airport but not within the main city center. I would recommend to stay in Mitchell Street if you are a tourist.. It was pretty inconvenient for us to keep driving out to the city center.. it's about a 15 mins drive to Mitchell Street. We opted for this because the price is reasonable and we had a very early flight out.

Check-in and out was quick and hassle free. Very easy. Staff there is very friendly. Rooms are clean and modern (although it doesn't look like it from the outside).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear camscams

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Leprechaun Resort.
We appreciate your compliments and positive comments.

Our location is quite central being 7km from Darwin International Airport and 7km from the City Centre.
There is a Bus Stop directly outside our Entrance Gates for our Guests who want to avoid driving/ parking in the City Centre. The journey takes around 10 to 15 minutes and the Buses operate 7 days per Week.

Our Staff are just wonderful and thank you for your lovely comments.

We hope to see you next time you are in Darwin!

Warm Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Leprechaun Resort for one night on our way back from Kakadu National Park. We searched a lot of places in Darwin and they all really expensive, so we tried the Leprechaun and we were really happy with it. Looking from the Outside it doesn't look too inviting, but by the moment we stepped into the reception we were greeted with friendliness and hospitality. The reception was really nice and once you are in the room, you feel really great. We were given room in the back, so we did not hear anything from the main road. In front of the resort there is the bus station for going to Darwin Downtown, so you only spend 3AUD instead of 25AUD by taxi. Since our check in was really late, we were given the one day WiFi package Free of charge, so all in all this is the place to stay when you are in Darwin

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guidoborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guidoborn

Thank you for your lovely Review!
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The Bus Stop outside the Entrance Gates is so convenient with the journey taking around 10 to 15 minutes to the City Centre.

We hope next time you are in Darwin you will pop back and see us. Our new Luxury Cabins are almost ready to launch and the results are really looking wonderful!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Thank you again from all the team at The Leprechaun Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel as it was reasonably close to the Airport and we had an early flight - the room was small, and VERY noisy (being next to a Highway) I wouldn't stay here again. I would rather pay an extra $30 for a much nicer Hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a room out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Lynne H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear you found it less than satisfactory.

Our Rooms at the back of the Resort are best for Lighter sleepers, thank you for adding this in your Room Tip.

We provide affordable Accommodation however most of our Guests rate us highly due to our Service (our Team is amazing) and Cleanliness of our Rooms.

Our Luxury Cabins will be ready in the coming Weeks. The Cabins are located at the very rear of The Resort.
We are very proud of how far we have come since we opened our Doors almost 2 years ago and are very excited about our future here at The Leprechaun Resort.


Kind Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed there last year for a few nights ..... really clean and modern rooms, nice pool and the manager and staff really nice and genuine. Would recommend it to everyone, especially in Darwin where everything is so overpriced. Was the least expensive place we stayed and the nicest!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Robert D

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear your positive comments!

I hope next time you are in Darwin you will pop in and see us again. We are almost ready to unveil our new Luxury Cabins, Conference Room and Tropical Pool.

Our Restaurant is also on the way in the very near future and that will be a massive bonus to The Resort.

Wishing you all the best
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

although old, the rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Even though the resort is close to the main road, we heard very little traffic noise. The owners are lovely and very courteous and helpful. it's only a 15min drive to the city which for some maybe a little far. However, it was not too inconvenient for us.
the Resort is under renovations at the moment with better options for accommodation. Can't wait till it's finished as this will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at front are closer to the road, noise level is tolerable. however, the rooms fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear David H

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience.

Our location is pretty convenient: 7km from Darwin International Airport and 7km from The City Centre. We also have a Bus Stop directly outside our Gates for our Guests without their own transport.

We would love to show you the new developments once completed, please pop in anytime if you are in the area!

Warm Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

You could only rate it highly for 2 reasons - perceived value and the wonderful nature of the Irish girl at the front desk - she tried her hardest to help you.
The blurb says all rooms have been refurbished but it is still a dated basic motel that suffers badly from noise.
It is on a very busy highway so a room at the front will suffer from normal road noise but to make it worse, it is close to the flight path and there seems to be no curfew in Darwin - planes fly all night seemingly.
The rooms are small and basic - little room to move about.
For $175 for a back room (larger) I expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leprechaun-resort, Front Office Manager at The Leprechaun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear RonWamberal

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you had a sleepless night.

Our Rooms have all been freshly refurbished since we opened our doors almost 2 years ago now! Our buildings were amongst the very few structures to survive Cyclone Tracey which is quite remarkable.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the service provided by our team.

We are almost finished our massive development which will see us with Luxury Cabins, A Conference Room, A Tropical Pool and Restaurant. I hope you will pop in and have a look around next time you are in Darwin as it will be something quite special once it is all completed.

Best Wishes
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.4 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
952 reviews
3.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,008 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 36 in Darwin
592 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
3.0 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leprechaun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leprechaun Resort

Address: 378 Stuart Highway, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leprechaun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leprechaun Resort is centrally located in Darwin on the Stuart Highway. Our newly refurbished resort has modern amenities including two swimming pools, conference room and 'Shillelagh's' our onsite Restaurant and Cafe open 7 days a week. Our extensive property boasts a mixture of hotel style rooms, brand new freestanding cottages, romantic spa cottages and two bedroom apartments. Amongst our landscaped gardens is our waterfall pool and BBQ area, ideal for all the family. Free parking all within the security gates, with all cottages allocated with parking directly in front of their room. Ample secure parking for boats, trailers and motorhomes. Onsite laundry and guest kitchen available for use for all guests. Our professional conference facilities are available to hire all year round. Come and enjoy the new look and new feel, here at The Leprechaun Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Leprechaun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing