We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it get any better”
Review of Pavonia Place - CLOSED

Pavonia Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pavonia Place is a cosy Restaurant located in the heart of Darwin's seaside suburb of Nightcliff. Specialising in modern Australian cuisine with a focus on fresh food and local produce, Pavonia Place prides itself on catering to Gluten free and vego requirements and in utilising the freshest possible ingredients and Australian only seafood. Pavonia Place welcome children of all ages and cater to groups both large and small.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can it get any better”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Wow, another sensational evening at Pavonia Place. The Chicken & Porcini Filo were fantastic, the Dips amazing and the Chili Choc Torte was absolutely to die for. A cocktail on arrival, an amazing decanter end red wine wit our dinner and a beautiful sticky white wine with desert just made it a whole dining experience for us - thank you again Renee and your team, particularly Andrew & Shekira who looked after us all evening. Again, absolutely fantastic and faultless in everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    77
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As a Nightcliff local and having watched the Pavonia Place team build and build on their restaurant over the past couple of years, I can certainly attest to their well deserved accolades.
Being chemically & food intolerant - it is difficult for me to find restaurants that I can have confidence dining in. Not so with Pavonia Place - Renee, Isaac and the team use only the freshest ingredients and have been very helpful and accommodating. It is one of the few restaurants where I can choose things straight off the menu.
It is often said in Darwin that you either get 'good food | poor service' or 'poor food | good service'. This is definitely not the case with Pavonia Place! Great food | great service all the way.
My only disappointment is that it is too popular! You must book well in advance - and with good reason.
Do book early, have a light lunch - make sure you have room to savour entrée, main and one of those delicious desserts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Hotspot In Nightcliff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We were amazed at how busy
It was here on a Tuesday night ! Lucky we booked as people were literally getting turned away. Andrew helped us with wines as there were many unfamiliar to is - and we were wowed by his selections. The scallop entree was sensational, the dips were ok but not amazing. Husbands steak was a huge hit, and I had the prawn entree as a main as I was getting pretty full. I'm a bit surprised this restaurant rates above Pee Wees - it's not comparable for fine dining but still a nice restaurant in it's own right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food in Darwin...and it's in Nightcliff?!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently had the pleasure of dining at Pavonia Place with family and friends while holidaying in Darwin and just have to say thanks to the owner Renee and her awesome staff for a fantastic meal and a great night out in general.
The food was simply amazing and the service could not be better!

Tucked away on a side street in Nightcliff the level of dining experience at this restaurant cannot be over stated....the food, the service, the wine list, all brilliant.
And writing on the table cloths to keep track of your tab or to entertain the kids (crayons and pencils provided) is a novelty everyone seemed to get a kick out of.

If you have a large group and enjoy a few wines with dinner then it can get a little pricey, but having said that you are definitely getting what you pay for and this restaurant has made my list of must see/do/eat events in Darwin.

Well done to the whole team and thanks again for a great night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food in an unexpected location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Pavonia place is a surprise package. Located in suburban nightcliff, it is very pleasantly decorated and the courtyard is great, with blackboards all around if you care to share your creativity. It serves up excellent and reasonably priced meals with good vegetarian options and very delicious cocktails. We ate there twice during our two week stay in darwin, and were very happy with everything.

Helpful?
2 Thank Batistello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavonia Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing