We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hotel Darwin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Associated with a Great Southern Rail trip on the Ghan from Darwin to Adelaide. Pleasant surrounds. Nice swimming pool. Friendly reception staff. Reception staff were familiar with Ghan pickup and bag handling. Close to Mitchell Street precinct for meals. Tour pickups operate with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bryan_Marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Bryan_Marianne

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton and thank you for your feedback. We trust that you will stay with us again when you next choose to visit the Top End.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

everything in Darwin accommodation wise is expensive during the dry season but all that considered this still represents good value. when are hotels going to understand free wireless is a basic need these days, after working all day I'd like to sit in my room, or the bar, or the lounge and check my emails do some work just by turning on my device not having to sign up to costly and slow internet connection

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank gohugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear gohugo

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money.

We do hope to see you soon at DoubleTree by Hilton Darwin.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Staying here for work, this is the 3rd night of my 4 night stay.

I read posts on here and think that surely people can't write so many negative things about a stay, but I am about to write one of those...

Positives: Location, pool

Negatives:
Very old and tired.
My room has damp and the paint is bubbling over an entire wall.
Some light switches don't work.
Old TV's that don't receive digital TV so you are limited to only a few free to air channels - yet Darwin's analogue signal gets cut off in 6 days... (couple of Foxtel Channels though)
Room service extremely average - microwave lasagne that you can pick up at the supermarket for $23, ordered tomato got sausages with eggs for breakfast (they offered to change it but I knew it would take longer than it would to eat the rest of my breakfast)
Cleaning of the rooms average (forget to give new towels, don't wipe glass table top where there are crumbs and marks from meals, made bed but left 2 of the 4 pillows on the floor where I put them when I went to sleep)
To ring room service or housekeeping it usually rang out and went to reception if answered at all. It took nearly an hour to get some ice and towels.

I am sure that DoubleTree are meant to be slowly overhauling this hotel but for the price they are charging and the age and state of the rooms, it's a joke really. I have a great view, but the window is so filthy and all of the building outside of the window looks rusted and old and in a good need of a paint at least.

To be fair, most calls for something have been attended to quickly and the staff who come up with whatevere is missing or forgotten are more than apologetic and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyingabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear enjoyingabreak

Thank you for your feedback and I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our new TV's will be finished installation over the coming days, and we are excited that digital TV is finally coming to the top end.

I was pleased to read that you you found our team to be helpful and cheerful.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As with many hotels in humid areas they fade pretty quickly but the rooms were good with a nice bar and pool area, well equipped small gym. There was space for many more sun loungers and the pool towels were small. The service was friendly but slow at times. There is a laundry and space in the minibar fridge, The major letdown was the food, a cold poached egg, straight from the fridge on my Caesar- it only takes minutes to cook fresh or use hard boiled, also a noodle salad with little in the way of vegetables and with noodles that had dried out. As a woman on my own I prefer to eat in the hotel but the food was so disappointing I didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear CarolineL52

Thank you for your feedback and comments, it is very much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the faciities that the hotel offers. Chef has taken your feedback on board since you left your comments with us and has already made changes to the two items that you mentioned.

Thanks again
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our stay at the Double Tree Esplanade was a pleasure. The staff were very attentive and nothing was a bother to them. We had to leave early one morning and breakfast was available to us no problem. Our extra activities were confirmed by the staff so we did not have to worry. The room was very clean and fresh. We have not problem recommending this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear D M

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin. It was pleasing to hear that you found the team to be accommodating.

Wishing you safe travels

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Darwin CBD offers an abundance of accommodation choices, so it’s really a question of one’s travel budget and what one considers value for money. Fitting neatly into that latter category is the Doubletree by Hilton Esplanade, with a central location that puts most of the city’s services and attractions within easy walking range. Situated at the northern end of the Esplanade, the hotel is only a short 5 minute walk to the Mitchell Street restaurant and bar strip [actually all you have to do is walk out the back of the hotel and you’re almost in the thick of it], but far enough along the Esplanade to be away from all the hustle and bustle of a noisy city centre.

On check-in we were given a warm welcome by reception – we particularly wish to commend Nikki in reception for making our first visit to Doubletree such a delightfully positive experience, and all the form-filling such a breeze. She cheerfully answered all our questions, and made sure we had the sort of information about Darwin that would make our first visit to the Top End memorable.

From that point on the seven days we spent at this hotel went too quickly, and there wasn’t a thing we found out of place, poorly organised or not up to standard.

Entering our room we were delighted to find ourselves in a spacious, bright and airy area with all of the amenities travellers’ desire. The bed was attractively made up and as we found out later delightfully comfortable; the TV provided a variety of entertainment choices [the older-style sets were all being up-graded while we were there]; the ensuite was very clean and roomy, and the room was well insulated against outside and adjoining noise and distractions. We were pleased to find a multitude of power outlets to service the numerous electronic gadgets we were carrying [in our case 2 mobile phones, computer, camera, and sleep apnoea device for him at night], we didn’t find any damp on the walls, the carpets were clean, bright and cheerful, and the room always smelled fresh

We liked the layout of our large corner room, the two toilets [she commandeered the main bathroom for an eternity each morning, so the spare turned out to be a godsend], the extensive storage space available, the comfortable furnishings [a tad dated but nothing to write home about], the comfortable lounge chairs with a convenient coffee table and the fact that the bedside lamps actually threw light onto what you were reading in bed. Car parking was underground beside the hotel – easy to get into, on presentation of a token [available from reception] just as easy to get out of.

The restaurant area was immediately adjacent to the spacious and cool foyer, and it’s fair to say we found the buffet breakfast each morning to be absolutely enticing in terms of aroma, and very satisfying in terms of sustenance. The opportunity to enjoy this first meal of the day overlooking the large attractive pool setting is one not to be missed.

The daily servicing of our room was faultless – the staff engaged on our floor were obliging and friendly, and always greeted us [if our paths crossed] with a cheery smile and greeting – thank you ladies.

Okay, by now readers of this review are expecting a roll-out of things we didn’t like, which will be a bit hard because there was nothing we didn’t like, so here goes a little bit of nit-picking. Tea and coffee making facilities were well provided and serviced daily, although we did miss the presence of in-room biscuits – providing a few of these as is done in many motels would be a uniquely Australian hospitality touch, and certainly would make guests feel more at home. If you are size-challenged you might find the shower a bit squeezy [if you drop the soap just leave it there] and there wasn’t much of a view from our room [but since we only spent the evenings in our room we didn’t particularly miss what view there was]. Oh, and get in early if you want to laze around the pool – the lounges are few in number and get snapped up quite quickly.

Our visit to the top End was our “big trip of a lifetime”, so we were prepared to go a little bit outside our square when it came to the cost of accommodation. So the Double Tree by Hilton Esplanade is probably not the destination of choice for budget travellers or backpackers, but if you can make it, then soak it up – it’s superb. As pensioners we might not walk this way again, but if we do make it back to Darwin we’ll make a beeline for the Doubletree by Hilton Esplanade, and the rest be damned, even if they are half-price. If there is a downside to our experience, it’s that the Doubletree by Hilton Esplanade has probably spoilt us for every hotel and motel we are ever likely to stay in again. He gives it 5 stars, so does she.

Traveller tips. Don’t get confused with the hotel next door which is also called Doubletree by Hilton – the voice in your head has to keep telling you “116 Esplanade – not 122”. Try to get a room overlooking the front of the hotel, the Esplanade and Bicentennial Park, which offers varying views of the harbour, pleasant walks and a number of historic and symbolic monuments, including the Cenotaph. And if you can’t get a room like that, settle for 306, it suited us to a T.

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomier, the view is generally better the higher you go [generally I said] as long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Ben087

Thank you so much for your feedback and in particular your comments about our team. All of our team are willing to please and I am happy that you enjoyed your interactions with Nikki, and our housekeeping and food and beverage teams.

I am glad that we could contribute positively to your "trip of a lifetime" and hopefully you will get the opportunity to visit us all again one day - the Top End is not that far away !

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I really wanted to give this hotel three and a half stars because it falls somewhere between very good and average. On the very good side, it is in a wonderful location, has a nice big pool, and we had a lovely big room looking directly to the ocean. The choc chip cookies on arrival were a nice bonus and there is a free daily paper. We booked while it was still the Holiday Inn and had a very good room rate - I notice that they seem to have gone up since we were there. The furnishings in the room were good, if a little dated and there was a nice large bathroom. Old style tv - these really should be replaced for hotels of this price range. We were very concerned that there were large patches of damps on the walls. The housekeeping was a bit hit and miss - on one occasion we had no towels and another time the tea bags were not replenished. I must say that there was an immediate response and things were rectified but perhaps this should not have happened in the first place. Overall though it was fine and for us was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_traveller2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareyOsborne, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Sydney_traveller2

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy to advise that we are halfway through the hotel in changing over to flat screen TV's.

We hope to see you again at DoubleTree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin one day soon.

Kind Regards
Carey Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#6 of 36 in Darwin
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,070 reviews
1 mi away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#14 of 36 in Darwin
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin

Address: 116 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: £73 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to Darwin Entertainment Centre and overlooking the Esplanade, the welcoming DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin is only a 15 minutes drive from Darwin International Airport and offers easy access to Stuart Highway. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, many major businesses and government offices and historic attractions like the War Memorial and Parliament House. This Darwin hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests, offering excellent business and recreation facilities, beautiful ocean views and a dedicated team of friendly staff. All of the comfortable guest rooms at this Darwin Esplanade hotel feature modern amenities, including spacious work areas and high-speed internet access. Host a successful event at this Darwin hotel with six flexible meeting spaces, including a grand ballroom, all with the latest A/V equipment. Cool down with a dip in the impressive outdoor swimming pool – the largest in Darwin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing